We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveler rating
59
3
0
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
3
0
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fresh apple juice farthing corner full english cooked breakfast trimmings ensuite wedding
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 66 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2015

Living now in Florida, going back in time even as little as 50 years, is not easily done and even then it likely has a "Disney" signature on the property and it's made of plastic. at Farthing Corner B&B, the main house dates from the 1400s. According to our gracious and generous host Liz, floors were added in the 16th Century, so I was delighted to find it. Planning our trip to the western England my wife said she wanted to spend a night in a bed and breakfast with a thatched roof and I had to find it. Well, here it is nestled in the picturesque village of West Tytherley near Salisbury. The rooms were large, as were the beds and we had a very comfortable sleep after a very stressful day that included a stalling rental car and blown tire. OK, those were may faults, but on arrival Liz made us feel very comfortable and even made a dinner reservation for us at the local pub. Oh, our samplings of the food and beers were excellent! I took an early morning walk around the quiet village completely absorbing its charm and returned for breakfast. Liz provided a delicious "full English" covering the top of a large, hand-made table. All ingredients were local and fresh and tasted ever so good. Of course, the best part of any stay is who you meet on your journey. Liz is a treasure and it felt like we were making a friend for life. We will certainly return for a longer stay and I'm sure we will feel like we'd never left.

Room Tip: Accessed by narrow country roads, often one lane. A guest house accommodates visitors needing easy accessibility
  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2014

If you are looking for beautifully neat flowerbeds, matching china, hospital cleanliness and trouser presses then this is not for you. However, if you want excellent value in a unique environment and with a hostess (Liz) who very quickly becomes your best friend then this is definitely worth visiting.
I have to admit that when I first arrived I thought "This doesn't look quite as immaculate as on the website" but after a pot of tea and a piece of her chocolate and courgette cake I forgave that.
Liz is a special person and she very quickly (without you even realising it's happening) makes you feel as though you're part of the house. The breakfast is amazing. It includes her home pressed apple juice and apple jelly; home made sausages and eggs from the chickens which also become part of your family. The lack of mobile phone reception which makes you tetchy when you first arrive soon becomes totally unimportant.
I hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We arrived to be greeted by our one of a kind, great host Liz, who directed us to the Garden Room, which was a romantic, cosy log cabin with a veranda which overlooked the beautifully manicured garden. Tastefully furnished, very comfortable bed and powerful hot shower. Breakfast served in a lovely airy large room on a farmhouse table, with full English and all the trimmings, local produce including Liz's own pressed apple juice from the trees in the garden and eggs from her friendly hens. Highly recommended, would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alyson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

This atmospheric thatched cottage has a wonderful ambiance and is very homely. A log fire, comfortable sofas and a warm welcome from Liz the proprietor on arrival. A very comfortable night's sleep followed by a local English breakfast (eggs from Liz's hens) - what more could one ask for? Well, perhaps lots of great places to visit? Just ask Liz and she'll tell you how to get there as well!
Thank you Liz for a wonderful stay we'll never forget.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank megshephard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Being our last few days in the UK prior to flying back home to Australia we were looking for something special Farthing Corner certainly ticked all the boxes. What a wonderful place and being close to Salisbury and Winchester was a bonus. We stayed in the room with the ensuite which was large and very comfortable. Liz, the host, was very welcoming and friendly. If we ever revisit would love to stay there again only for a little longer next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews