We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round great experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The West Coast Fishing Club - The Clubhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The guides are first class and very good at finding fish while keeping you comfortable on the water. You determine how you want to fish, rough or smooth. The food is as good as any restaurant in Vancouver and the view is better by far, the staff make sure any need is looked after and don't be afraid to ask them about anything you require.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet and everyone is tired from great fishing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 273 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

This is a first class operation right from their chef to their guides. The equipment that the guides have to use is top notch.the guides that we had were knowledgeable and knew how to fish! The food that we received was world class We never went without anything as far as food goes. The staff was very helpful and made us very comfortable

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fozzybear6611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This is the most amazing experience. Tucked away in a true remote paradise this lodge does everything to perfection. You will not find better service at a five star Manhattan luxury hotel, never mind a remote fishing lodge. The food, staff, guides, and equipment are all absolutely first class. This is a trip of a life time not to be missed!

Room Tip: Get an ocean facing room. All are incredible but the views from the balcony facing the Ocean are spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris9872014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I have nothing, but good things to say about the WCFC. The service, food, guides, and setting were exceptional. The setting is remote - no cell service and spotty wifi depending on where you are in the lodge - but a great way to unplug and relax.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I have been fortunate enough to have experienced The Clubhouse three times. There were lots of new faces this year both in the clubhouse and guiding, I think Terry and Screamer the head guide were the only ones I recognized, so you never know what to expect... especially the first trip of the year. The lovely Kim has replaced Stephanie (rumours of baby for steph?!?!) , very big shoes to fill, and Kim is doing an awesome job. A very tough spot to fill.
Lots of new guides, all of whom were very nice and professional. I did have a couple issues with some kicker outboards, but early season issues that Kingpin fixed quickly. We rotated guides twice a day as we were on a 12 person business trip so we had a chance to experience many guides during our eight fishing sessions. All were competent and we caught some very nice fish, especially for this early in the season. Each guide brings something different to the table, experience, personality, humor, etc so it was a fun way to mix it up. I had Brendan, "LionKing", twice and was a true professional with the perfect demeanor to be a guide. He took us to his secret large halibut spot and as we needed two boats for safety, Owen, "Country boy" came out with us. One of my co-workers landed a huge 61 lb Halibut that was just under mandatory release size so he could keep it.. "Unicorn fish" as they call them, on Country boys boat.... so much for LionKings secret spot now!! I had Country boy the other day and he was also amazing. As I found out he was only 18 I was wondering what we would be able to talk about, as i am a couple years older then that, but he was not only an excellent guide but mature way beyond his years. Kai and Stephen were also exceptional guides and easy to spend several hours in a boat with. Our group had their own derby and was won by a very nice 40lb er, which we released, and another guest in the resort won the derby by releasing a huge 53 lb er!!!!! Very nice prizes from the resort are awarded and excellent "Fish Karma" for releasing large fish.... just saying...
Weather was great and have the raccoon sunglasses sunburn to prove it. The lodge has a new Masseuse and she was amazing. A new head chef this year also prepared some great meals and visited with us occasionally as well which is nice for some of the foodies in our group.
We released lots of high teen fish and also caught several 22 lb ers and lots of 12 - 14 lb halibuts. Alex and Amanda were key people who were great and seemed to always be working with big smiles. All the staff were always happy with great service. and somehow could remember all of our names immediately.
We saw lots of bald eagles and even some while sipping cocktails in hot tub on the deck of the resort. Simply amazing.. again. I hope to try and go back end of summer if possible. FYI i fished Outpost last year, also a Westcoast fishing club property, and now see a huge advantage to being right on Langara as you can head in quickly, change spots fast, and most importantly always find a quiet spot away from the nasty seas if they pop up. The only negative to the Clubhouse........ again i gained a couple lbs from eating and drinking great food and bevies....Truly five star all around..... once again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I have been fished with few other Queen Charlotte lodges in the past, we stayed at the West Coast Fishing Club - Clubhouse for the first time; and what a wonderful experience it was - from the moment we checked in at the airport counter to the day of return, we were pampered and cared for by a group of consummate professionals. Exceptional services were available at all hours from lodge management and servers to the dock attendants, their CAN-DO attitudes were prevalent and always punctuated by great smiles. Meals were exquisitely prepared and delicately served. Overnight facilities are 5 stars no less. Boats and equipment are top notch and my fishing guide was fun to work with, needless to say; our limit of fishes were reached with ease.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Staying at the Clubhouse is a truly amazing experience.
It goes without saying that the setting is breathtaking. The Clubhouse itself is classy and yet comfortable. The food, breakfast lunch and dinner, is amazing. The fishing is as good as anywhere else you can go. The equipment and boats are terrific.
But what truly sets this place apart is the staff and the amazing level of service they provide. From the airport in Vancouver to your departure by helicopter, the service is truly outstanding. Never pretentious, never overbearing and like Terry, the manager, told us on the first day, the answer is never no. It is clear that the staff takes great pride in this very special destination and the hard work they put in everyday was remarkable to experience.
If there was six stars to give on this review, I would give this place seven.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SPJ1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The West Coast Fishing Club - The Clubhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West Coast Fishing Club - The Clubhouse

Address: Langara Island, British Columbia, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands)
Price Range: $1,268 - $1,610 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clubhouse is our flagship lodge and is one of our three North Pacific resorts. Located in majestic Haida Gwaii (Islands of the People), formerly known as the Queen Charlotte Islands, it is situated on Langara Island’s highest point, surrounded by ancient rainforest and the best ocean fishing experience in the world. The Clubhouse defines fishing luxury, offering a warm resort setting for unsurpassed guest service, exceptional dining, and of course world-class fishing. This British Columbian resort is no less than first class, making The Clubhouse experience truly a trip of a lifetime. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing