We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roadmaster Returns for more!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lodge at Englefield Bay (Westcoast Resorts)
Reviewed May 3, 2013

HI its Roadmaster! Noting Like going Back Home to Englefield Bay! Cam ONE EYE My

Guide rocks! The Staff are Rock stars! fishing is EPIC all the time!! J Jones Rocks the House!

Greg slapshots Ceasars are the Best top shelf!!!!! Jacked to go Back Home! No one does it

Better then Englefield Bay see you at the airport or on the water soon! my best! dont forget your
massage!

Room Tip: room 21 0r 23 its quiet and best of all you can be apart of the action and relax outside on the dec...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seattle123445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for The Lodge at Englefield Bay (Westcoast Resorts)
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 45 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

I recently stayed at this lodge and I hope I can make it back someday. The floating lodge is all by itself in Englefield Bay with no human development in sight. You travel out in the morning for 4 hours of fishing, then take lunch, then fish an additional 4 hours in the afternoon. You have the option of having lunch delivered to your boat so you can stay out. If you are adventurous, you can take the boat back out again after your afternoon session (without the guide). My fishing partner was not that adventurous.

The weather and fishing was phenomenal. Each day but one was sunny and pleasant with calm seas (although the guides says the great weather was very unusual). I limited out on Springs and Halibut and was one short of my limit on Yellow Eye and Coho. One guy at the lodge caught a 62 lb Spring and several caught Halibut over 150 lbs. I rotated guides throughout the trip which was nice to get different tips from each of them. I was a rookie fishing for Springs and they can be challenging to bring in, but on the last fishing excursion I was bringing so many Springs to the boat I was having to release them.

The lodge is a little minimalistic, but I did not mind. The food is top quality with an option between a couple of dishes every night and a buffet at lunch. It was the best food I had during my week and a half trip to Canada.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C0mp0ster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

What an experience! My wife decided to surprise me for my 40th and book us this trip.

You are catered too the whole time. A short trip from Vancouver via 737 then Helijet. Once you arrive at the lodge you are treated like a king. The staff were really wanted to make your whole trip something to remember. The food was amazing, from Halibut to rack of Lamb and a steak that just melted in your mouth it was tough to choose which to eat. Even this late in the year the fishing was great my wife and I both caught an 89lb Halibut and maxed out on the Salmon, we caught 5 decent sized (7-12lbs) Coho on the last day in an hour and 1/2! tehy fillet and freeze your catch right away when you get back to the dock, talk about full service!! We brought home 241lbs of fish meat!!!

If you're looking for a trip you'll remember this is it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I have been to Engelfield Bay twice, going again in two weeks. The Greatest Fishing Trip you could ever go on. Five Star Resort and Fishing Trip, Staff will take care of all your needs.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

June 2011 fishing was the best Ive seen. I limited out on Chinooks by the morning of the second day, the rest of the week was all catch and release. I probably released 30 springs in two days, but was having so much fun I lost count. I have been coming to WCR for several years now, never dissapointed. Its a great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Letsrodeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Thanks to Shawna Mckay I had a five day trip to Englefield Bay. The fishing was tremendous and the guide was absolutely awesome. The meals and hospitalily of the crew and staff could not have been better. A truely great experience.

Thank you Shawna

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: assurance que vous allez tres bien dormir!
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pumpkin1173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WCResorts, Public Relations Manager at The Lodge at Englefield Bay (Westcoast Resorts), responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands)
40.2 mi away
The Lodge at Hippa Island (Westcoast Resorts)
The Lodge at Hippa Island (Westc...
#5 of 26 in Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands)
57 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Raven Motel
Sea Raven Motel
#3 of 4 in Queen Charlotte City
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bear Claw Lodge
Bear Claw Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kispiox
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Cacilia s Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Blackfish Lodge
Blackfish Lodge
#28 of 275 in Vancouver Island
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Englefield Bay (Westcoast Resorts)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Englefield Bay (Westcoast Resorts)

Address: Englefield Bay, British Columbia V7B 1C1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away at the foot of a breathtaking mountain scape where the water is as still as glass, Englefield Bay is known for its abundance of migrating salmon. Don't let its quiet and intimate atmosphere lull you to sleep, Englefield's plentiful chinook, coho, halibut and lingcod species will keep you fully engaged. Located in a culturally significant location to the Haida people, Englefield allows you to create lasting memories (and fish tales) with colleagues or friends during your daily dawn-to-dusk adventures, either fully guided all day or instructed half day, and over gourmet meals and wine in the evenings in its newly renovated lounge and rooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing