We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lodge at Hippa Island (Westcoast Resorts)
Novato, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beyond”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My wife and I are regulars to the Charlottes for fishing. First time at Hippa and guided. Off the charts on fantastic. Non stop Chinook action. Service at lodge was beyond expectations. Pierre had dinner with us, and made sure we were both made to feel special constantly. He knew we were regulars elsewhere, and he made sure this was going to be our new place. All other staff was totally attentive to our satisfaction. Fish cleaner "Damage" took me on an eagle viewing trip which just put the whole trip off the top. We have already booked 1 week for this year- guided again and cant wait. Thanks. Richard Masef

Room Tip: Talk to your service coordinator prior to the trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
7
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

What a place ! A magnificent site. The fishing was exceptional, the accommodation very nice, the food was very good, and the service absolutely perfect.
We were treated like kings. You can tell this place is run by a true professional
I am sure we will be back next year.
Merci Pierre pour un sejour memorable
Dominique Chapheau

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Riding, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My husband has been on several trips like this with another company. He finally convinced me to go. My idea of a couples trip usually includes a beach with drinks served in coconuts with little umbrellas. What had he gotten me into?

From the moment we arrived, the staff did everything they could to make us all comfortable. The helicopter flight was a 1st for me and very exciting! Our bags were delivered to our rooms quickly and we got dressed for fishing. Chuma was our guide and did a great job of showing us the ropes and making me feel like it was ok that I didn't have a clue about salmon fishing. The fact that our trip was 1/2 guided was great. The gear was a little different than my husband had use previously and Chuma knew right where to go to catch lots of fish, which afterall, was the point of the trip! Then when we were on our own it gave us an opportunity to prove to each other that we had learned how to drop the gear and catch the fish.

The ride out to the fishing area was about 30 minutes - not bad. The scenery was amazing - I have never seen so many Bald Eagles in one place in my life! We loved the lunch service. They actually delivered a hot lunch to us on the water each day. That was so cool. It was like a drive thru 5 star resturant - hot sandwich, hot soup, drinks, snacks - whatever you wanted. Yum!

The facilities at the Lodge were 1st class (and did I mention we had to helicopter to get there?). The meals were plentiful and so delicious! The service from everyone on board was over the top. The staff is truly there to serve. The hot tub felt great after being out on the water all day and helped loosen some of the sore muscles. And while the trip is expensive, when you factor in everything you get - charter flight, helicopter ride, 1st Class Lodge, AND ALL THAT FISH...it's definitely worth it!!

Definitely a trip worth taking!!

Room Tip: Given the option, I think I'd select a room upstairs on the back side of the lodge - away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Hippa is the best!!!! I have been fishing the on the West side of Haida Gwaii for 11 years and the fishing continues to astound me. The Hippa Island lodge is located in the ideal location. No other location offers the quantity of Salmon and the consistency. West Coast Resorts has fine tuned the trip and continues to prove an exceptional experience. Our trip had 36 quests, we estimate that we caught and released over 50,000 lbs of Salmon in 2.5 days!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SalmonMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

After years of procrastination, I finally made my way up to the Queen Charlotte's to experience everything I've heard and was I happy I did. Relying on feedback of friends, I trolled multiple sites for last minute deals and ended up with Hippa Lodge because of the stunning visual their website provided. I was not disappointed.
From the booking experience with Lisa and co, to reception with Pierre and his team, to the final send off, everything was top shelf. We had a newbie guide (Doug) who did a great job in getting us around and we were lucky to have his local insight on the area. Plenty of belly laughs and never mind the fishing!! Pierre was also kind enough to take us out one morning and what an experience we enjoyed with his obvious passion for fishing.
Outstanding trip and I'm already checking the calendar for when we should be headed back next year.
Highly recommended for an overall experience. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fallguy450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Creek, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is my 9th trip to Haida Gwaii, 2nd trip to WCR Hippa Island Lodge. It was one of best fishing trip ever for me. With the great weather, my party limited on every species of fish, King Salmon, Lingcod, Yelloweye, and Halibut and we also saw the beauty of the scenery which we did not see on previous trip. We brought home over 300 lbs of fish between my brother and I. Rooms, food, fishing equipment, and guide, everything is top notch at Hippa Island Lodge. It has been less than a week since I came back from the trip, but I am already looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This was our first trip to Hippa Island and it exeeded anything we have experienced in our 20 years of fishing on the North Coast. Pierre and his crew were watchful to every need and interacted with everyone every evening. Accomodatiuons were excellent but the ear plugs came in handy at night. After all it is a remote location and power comes from a generator.
Fishing was absoulutely OFF THE HOOK. Again the best trip for fish in 20 years also! We have stayed at QCL, Oak Bay Marribel, Charolette Queen and King Salmon, Ole's Hakai Pass, Rivers Inlet Resort to mention a few and this was hands down the best overall! Our instructor C B (Jason) pointed us in the right direction. The weather was outstanding and sea conditions were great. The open ocean fishing may not be for all but for us it's where it's at. We limited on most evrything and had 3 tyees in our 8 Chinook. Can't re-book soon enough!! Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport
Bridgeport
Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Hippa Island (Westcoast Resorts)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Hippa Island (Westcoast Resorts)

Property: The Lodge at Hippa Island (Westcoast Resorts)
Address: Hippa Island, British Columbia V7B1C1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lodge at Hippa Island (Westcoast Resorts) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hippa Island is a truly premium fishing lodge located at the edge of the world along Haida Gwaii's west coast. The secluded inlet teems with migrating salmon and bottomfish, along with many other species. Known as the "Galapagos of the North", Haida Gwaii is a unique biocultural zone that is home to numerous plant and animal species found only in this wild and free corner of the world. The only upscale lodge in this desirable location, Hippa offers the highest level of service for the discerning angler, including fish portioning and your very own fishing guide who ensures you catch, see and experience everything Haida Gwaii has to offer, from the fish themselves to the island's distinctive history and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Lodge at Hippa Island (Westcoast Resorts) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing