We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventure of a life time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lodge at Hippa Island (Westcoast Resorts)
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was my third trip to Hippa and it was wonderful. This is also the third West Coast Lodge that I have visitied and by far my favorite. Fishing is just a short ride out and the variety of fishing is what keeps brining me back. Fishing was excellent, food was awesome and the guide (Nubbs) was the best. My son and I can't wait until next year!

Wayne R.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 57 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

Most amazing trip i have ever taken. the fishing was unreal, the lodge was first class and the staff are what really make this a memorable experience. I would highly recommend Hippa to anyone. The food was way way better than I imagined it would be, and I already thought it would be pretty good. It truly is a trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dominic E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

WOW! One of my most memorable trips ever! First time fishing on open water and first class guide (thanks Brock!) All the guests caught tons of variety of fishes and we all had a blast! The whole entire staff made the trip 1st class! what a great fun, friendly, helpful bunch of group! Food was superb! And lots of wildlife to see everyday. Would go back again in a heartbeat! Thanks Hippa gang for a great time!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I can't say enough about hippa lodge. The chopper ride was awsome lots of scenery. The staff, service, and food is second to none and the guides and fishing are awesome. I have fished all over Canada and this is the best fishing I have ever seen.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Facility is awesome; the fishing was superb; food was the highest caliber (the rack of lamb was better than anything I ever had in New Zealand) and the staff were truly special. Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands) is like no other place on the planet. Nature and Home all rolled up into one.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OkanaganTraveller29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My highlights:
- Private charter plane to the Haida Gwaii
- 30 min helicopter ride to Hippa
- Daily sighings of humpbacks and orca's
- 5 star dining and hospitality
- unbelievable fishing!!
I maxed out on my Chinook, Halibut, Ling cod and rock fish.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Hippa Island Lodge was 1st class in all aspect. From accomodation and food to fishing, it was better than any other lodges I been to. During my stay, wind was constantly blowing 25-35 knots, but it was non stop salmon hookups. Being a hotel owner myself, the lodge was nothing short of spectacular.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lodge at Hippa Island (Westcoast Resorts)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Hippa Island (Westcoast Resorts)

Address: Hippa Island, British Columbia V7B 1C1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands)
Price Range: $2,546 - $3,120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Hippa Island (Westcoast Resorts) 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hippa Island is a truly premium fishing lodge located at the edge of the world along Haida Gwaii's west coast. The secluded inlet teems with migrating salmon and bottomfish, along with many other species. Known as the "Galapagos of the North", Haida Gwaii is a unique biocultural zone that is home to numerous plant and animal species found only in this wild and free corner of the world. The only upscale lodge in this desirable location, Hippa offers the highest level of service for the discerning angler, including fish portioning and your very own fishing guide who ensures you catch, see and experience everything Haida Gwaii has to offer, from the fish themselves to the island's distinctive history and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Lodge at Hippa Island (Westcoast Resorts) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing