We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Andersen Inn and Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in The Pas
1 review
“Relaxing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Had a great time at the super 8! Staff was super friendly, everything was very clean! Breakfast was good and so was the pool! Awesome place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edelm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    28
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
11
2
2
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

This hotel which claims via the sign on the road, to be the Newest in Town, sure isn't very new. We had a 2 queen bed room, which I found extra small and cramped, not much room to be had at all. This hotel has very thin walls, you can hear everything going on in the room next to you. The TV's turn up as loud as they can go, and as a result it sounds like the TV in the room next to you is in your room. We got a horrible sleep, due to rude people in the room next to us who were talking, yelling and laughing loudly, I finally couldn't take it anymore called the front desk on at around 1am, to which we did get a quick response by the desk clerk coming to their room telling them to quiet down. Although 20 minutes later we had to call again as they were back at it, this time he broke up the "party" Finally got a bit of rest, but overall I woke up tired and un-rested, which was a shame as I was in town for an Interview that morning.

You get the feeling by reading the other reviews, and from what I experienced, the management doesn't care about anything. Although they do seem to really care about the property tax they have to pay, and how upset they are that The Pas has an accommodation tax on the room of 5%, as there are signs everywhere telling you that you are paying more because of this, and you should contact town counsel about this! Funny thing is that is pretty standard now a days in most places. If the management instead put as much effort into caring about guests, providing good customer service, and cleaning the rooms a bit better, this place could be nice again. For example we found a few toys kicking around the room from the last guest.. or so we assume, who knows how long they had been there. The Breakfast was also not that great for Super 8 standards.

Next time in The Pas, I will pay half the price and just stay at The Lav, they are just as clean, and have much bigger rooms. I wouldn't stay at this Super 8 again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheWolf79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herbinplaya, General Manager at Andersen Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
I always find it amazing that someone would prefer to take the time to write an online review rather than speak to me, the manager. If a guest doesn't make me aware of the issue how can I deal with it?

We are the newest facility in the community and we are the busiest. Our property is approximately 11 years old. We purchased it 3 years ago. To say that we don't care is totally false. Since we took over we have replaced all the beds, the linens, upgraded pools, computer systems plus other equipment. We have invested tremendously in the property and the fact that we are so busy is testament to the job we are doing.

Regarding the accomodation tax imposed by the town council. What the writer does not understand is that one of our major competitors is located on first nations land. This company already has an advantage over us in that they don't have to charge things like PST & GST to their aboriginal guests like we do. We also pay a tremendous amount in property taxes to the town. The addition of the accomodation tax is an additional 5% our guests have to pay that those staying at our competitor do not have to pay. The town council has placed us at a further disadvantage when they should in fact be trying to help us improve our business so we can keep paying the high property taxes. Perhaps rather than writing this negative review this guests time would have been better spent speaking with me and I would have been happy to explain the situation and offer compensation for his stay.

I hope this guest enjoys his future stays at the Lav. They are nice people who own it. The property was built in the late 60's I believe. There will be a difference in facilities but you are welcome to try it out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

The employees were very rude and everything was dirty, including the pool & hot tub. Checked out early and went to another hotel!! Will never stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pklym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herbinplaya, General Manager at Andersen Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
It is unfortunate this guest chose to resolve a separate issue thru this forum. We have cancelation policies in place to ensure that guests receive the rooms they have booked. Ours is not a perfect system but we are continually striving to improve our service to you our guest.
The comments about dirty & rude are uncalled for and totally inaccurate. We are the newest facility in the community and we are continually upgrading and improving our facility.
Recently we invested significantly in improving the wireless high speed internet service as this is a very important feature our business guests require.
We have just finished replacing the 105 beds we have in the hotel and are proud to say all our rooms feature new Simmons Beds with Protect a Bed encasements on all beds to ensure no unwanted visitors during your sleep.
We have upgraded controls and systems in the pool and hot tub areas to provide bathers with a clean stable experience.
We are in the process of replacing and upgrading all our linens, bed coverings, curtains, blankets and pillows. We are continually re-investing into the property.
Our house keepers work tirelessly to keep the hotel clean and a facility we can be proud of.
Ours is a family owned and operated facility. We are affiliated with Super 8 but we are the owners. We want to own a facility we can be proud of and can rent to you with confidence.
We welcome feedback from all our guests and will attempt to deal with in a responsible manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

This hotel is dirty, noisy and lacks basic amenities. There isnt a business center or fitness facility. The internet is ALWAYS failing and its ridiculously slow when it is running. The breakfast has poor selection and bad coffee. Also, the housekeepers have a bad habit of walking into your room even with the Do Not Disturb sign on. LOCK THE DEADBOLT! The staff isnt friendly and the housekeepers are rude.

Someone please open up a half decent hotel in this crappy town! PLEASE!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadianTraveller111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

Staff was friendly and helpful after a long drive. Room was adequate and breakfast was the best I had. Not general hotel fare.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiescha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2009

Before I was started working for Hudson Bay Railway, I needed to take a rules course. And I did that at the Super 8 in The Pas. It was conveniently located on Provincial route 10, a short walking distance to the Greyhound station, 4 restaraunts, but far from any grocery stores. The conference room was nice for the small group that we had. The hotel had a pool, waterslide, and hot tub for guests to use. Each room came with 2 full size beds, a tv with basic cable, a fully equipped washroom, coffee maker, and microwave. The staff were quite friendly and helpful most of the time, and there was a contenental breakfast every morning 6-10 every morning.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_Other_0ther_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2008

My family and i stayed here again on our way south, the hotel is super clean, the pool and waterslide are excellent for the kids. and best of all the hotel is on the outside of town away from all "the action"

it's not fancy (you're in the pas!) but clean safe and affordable

  • Liked — Clean and safe
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank derloc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Andersen Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andersen Inn and Suites

Property: Andersen Inn and Suites
Address: 1717 Gordon Avenue, The Pas, Manitoba R9A 1M1, Canada (Formerly Super 8 The Pas)
Location: Canada > Manitoba > The Pas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in The Pas
Hotel Class:2 star — Andersen Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family owned and operated facility here to make your stay as pleasant as possible. When you stay with us you stay with the owners! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andersen Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - The Pas Hotel The Pas
Super 8 The Pas
Super Eight The Pas
The Pas Super Eight
The Pas Super 8
Andersen Inn And Suites The Pas, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing