We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is excellent.”
Review of Bennett Bay Bistro

Bennett Bay Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food is excellent.”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

It was very busy but my food was delicious and hot when I got it. And very polite staff. Nice location and not far from where I was staying.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank quiltingartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    62
    22
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Appes and salad bar on the deck”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

A lovely warm August Evening found 37 of our Tennis friends on the deck of the Bennett Bay Bistro on Mayne Island. We enjoyed a welcome drink as we entered out onto the deck overlooking beautiful Bennett Bay.
The appes were of a generous size and delicious, the salad bar was a fresh offering of baby spinach or lettuce with all the trimmings..
Thankyou to chefs Colleen and Dave for making our finale of the season a memorable one.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Anniversary Celebration”
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

The bistro was our pick to dine on Mayne Island for our friends 30th Wedding Anniversary. It was a hot August night and although most patrons were on the deck we decided to sit indoors with an ocean view as the wasps on Mayne this time of year can be pesky as you try to enjoy your food. For a small corkage fee you can bring your own wine so the group enjoyed a great bottle of Terralsole. Service was outstanding and we were not disappointed in our meals.
Two in the group had Fish and Chips( both still raving about the meal days later) one had the Seared Sockeye Salmon the other the Sweet Coconut Curry with prawns and the last two the Cajun Prawn Penne( spicy and flavourful). All meals were memorable. You can't beat the stunning views of Bennett Bay and the kitchen consistently produces well prepared tasty meals. Kudos to the team at the Bistro.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank derjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“I wish I could say I liked it...”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

First of all, the outside deck is spacious and really nice. The view out over the water to the islands is beautiful. I have some empathy for our server--- she did her best but was very rushed because they were short staffed. This of course is not the customers' fault, but her stress was palpable. The calamari appetizer was completely devoid of flavour. We were quite surprised at how flavourless it was. Side salads were fine, but the main courses we're not. I had Mediterranean linguini and have to say it was unappetizing. (I'm trying to be polite). The linguini was overlooked, the meal was wet (improperly drained linguini?), there were way too many roasted garlic (some are nice, but not a plate full), and the sun dried tomatoes were just tossed in and not actually part of the dish. I didn't enjoy it at all. When the server asked how the meal was, I told her. Nothing happened after that and we were ultimately presented with a bill for everything we ordered. The manger did not enquire, little empathy was shown and there was no offer to "make it right". I don't understand this attitude as it makes a bad meal even worse. It's like no one cared if we didn't enjoy it or whether we'd come back---- which we won't.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennett_Bay_Bistro, Owner at Bennett Bay Bistro, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Wow. I'm not sure what to say. As co owner and co chef, I'm very sorry you had such an unpleasing experience. Unfortunately this was not brought to our attention and I can assure you that had it been, we most definitely would have done our best to make sure you left happy, either with a new meal, or at the very least, comped the one you had. We will be looking into this further to be sure that our staff is aware of the importance of bringing this to our attention. Regarding the Mediterranean Linguine dish you had, it is one of our most popular items and gets rave reviews all the time so I'm miffed as to what happened. I'm very sorry you didn't enjoy your dinner and hope that if you're back on Mayne, that you do give us another go. Let us know if you do and we will be sure to comp your next meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Must-eat place on Mayne Island”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Very good food, decent value. Lovely atmosphere dining out on the patio, overlooking Bennet Bay. Chowder was excellent, as was the curried chicken dish. For $10 corkage fee you can buy a bottle at the liquor store (in-house) which is less than the typical 100% markup on liquor charged by most restaurants.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bennett Bay Bistro also viewed

Mayne Island, British Columbia
Mayne Island, British Columbia
 
Mayne Island, British Columbia
Pender Island, British Columbia
 
Galiano Island, British Columbia

Been to Bennett Bay Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing