We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort to recharge.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mayne Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mayne Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The one bedroom cabin was beautifully appointed, the property was situated on a perfect waterfront property, the staff was friendly and helpful. Couldn't have been happier with the whole experience. Mayne Island is perfect for hiking/walking. There are lots of beach walks and viewpoint hikes. The resort has a lovely bistro for lunch and dinner. We ate one dinner at the bistro and had a wonderful tasty dinner. Again service was great. There is also a liquor store on site. The cabin has a kitchen which was great for cooking in house. (No oven) There is a pool and a hot tub which were great too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tapper25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 333 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

My friend and I had a travelzoo voucher for two nights and went midweek in January, with a car.
The villa was lovely, and just right for our cribbage get-away, with a long wooden table in the kitchen to play on, and open to the sunken living room that looked out on a large deck and the water. We brought our own food, so didn,t try the bistro...but it looked welcoming and relaxed, with a sign offering a burgers and beer special for $12. The other reviews have pretty much covered what I could add here. The owners were welcoming and helpful. Our massages a highlight.
My friend was lucky to have the king bed in the large and serene bedroom, while I was less lucky with the pull-out in the living room. It would be amazing to stay here in warmer weather, but we were cozy in our light-filled villa and would highly recommend it, and happy with the deal. Yes, the bathroom needed hooks.

Room Tip: Corner villa on ground floor was easily accessed by car, and private. On lower level were the cotta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank 9Fussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed in a villa recently for 2 nights. I had sent a few questions earlier to find out about the resort and facilities etc. Most of them were answered promptly including my request for a shuttle ride from the ferry terminal.

When we arrived, we discovered that the shuttle had left without us and that we would need to wait for the driver to return (fortunately, it is a small island, the ride is short, and we didn't have to wait long). Sharon at the front desk confirmed that yes, we had made earlier requests and apologized about the oversight. Murray, one of the resort owners, picked us up and dropped off us at the villa door too. We were informed that we would need to pay $10 for the ride from the ferry.

The suite itself was beautiful. Lovely view, great patio and an overall cozy, comfortable layout for a relaxing getaway. When we got settled in, we found that the smell of propane was a little strong and that the floor heater in the bathroom (thermostat) wasn't working. We left a message at the front desk and the staff dealt with our concerns promptly. Within a couple of hours, the heater was back on (thank goodness because the tiled floors are freezing cold!) Later that evening and the next morning, Murray called to let us know that he had looked into the propane issue and had fixed the heater. We really appreciated the follow-up. Nancy-Lee also asked us if things had been looked into. Overall, we felt taken care of quite nicely.

We visited the spa twice - using the hot tub and steam sauna too. I like the facilities, but found that the hot tub wasn't quite hot enough. It would be nice if there were towels available for guest use as well in the spa. We didn't see any, so we had to walk our own over. Thankfully, we have our own suite washer and dryer and really enjoyed using that to dry out towels.

We did notice that the suite was missing a few things. Namely, hooks in the bathroom so we could put our clothes somewhere or hang a towel outside the shower. There were also no clothes hooks in the bedroom so we ended up placing our clothes on the bay window seat. We had used the hangars in the closet for hanging our clean clothes. And we like baking, but there is no oven. So, we used the BBQ to grill our dinner. It was great to have access to a BBQ on our own patio! It is also amazingly convenient with the Blue Heron Liquor Store onsite. The staff there is friendly and they had some good choices of wine. We enjoyed patronizing their store twice.

We didn't sleep well the first night - an odd ticking sound and then a "bang" would take place throughout the evening and so every hour or so we would be awakened by this loud noise. When we brought it to Murray's attention the next day, he said he thought it might be the heater and suggested we turn it off. We did and there was no more noticeable noise that evening. But we had to leave the door open and crank up the heat in the living room.

Because we didn't have a car(ferry prices for the car were too high), we had to be creative about how we visited the island. We mostly walked about and got rides from other islanders. Murray gave us a ride to the ferry, with a detour to Miner's Bay and Japanese Garden. That ride was also $10.

If you don't drive, we recommend packing light, having good walking shoes, and be open to making friends along the way. Be prepared about the crazy line-up for buses to and fro the ferry from Vancouver though! We enjoyed our stay and would come back if possible.

Room Tip: I think the rooms mostly have a good view, but decide if you want your own kitchen or washing facili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CempedakCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

First of all, Mayne Island is a lovely, small island with excellent hikes. You can walk from one end to the other in a couple of hours. Everybody is very friendly. They wave at the passing cars even if they don't know you.

We stayed in a room at the Mayne Island Beach Resort for two nights during the off-season. The room was charming and cozy with wood crown moldings and a feeling of comfortable country living. It had a balcony and fantastic views. It felt very clean. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and they had a wide screen TV with Shaw Cable offering quite a number of local, national and movie channels.

They have a common room with a large fireplace and a telescope hooked up to a computer to better watch the sea lions in the ocean. It also has a kitchen area connected with continental breakfast fixings although there is a coffee pot and assorted coffees and teas in the bedrooms.

The swimming pool is tiny but it was very relaxing to repeatedly swim across underwater with just a breath. The jacuzzi was very hot and we totally enjoyed the steambath. Although scheduling the massage off season required a bit of effort Karen gave us both an excellent massage. Again, the pool and spa felt very clean and well cared for.

The food at the Cafe Bistro was exquisite. We had dinner there both nights and were very happy with the appetizers the entrees and the desserts.

The service was very much "island flavour" not obsequious or efficient, but friendly in a country sort of way.

If you are looking for a relaxing and nurturing get away, this is it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We used a Living Social coupon for a two night stay in early February. Unluckily,our visit coincided with the coldest weather for many years. Our room was on the upper floor of the 100 year old building, it was quite small, but perfectly adequate, warm, and well furnished. All of the rooms have a panoramic view over Bennet Bay ... you can't beat that at any price. The resort offers rooms in the original building, newer cabin-style units, and some new condo-style units. There is a liquor store on-site, and a restaurant and bar. The restaurant was closed on Tuesdays and Wednesdays during the winter, which limits the food resources considerably.

All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. There is a spa attached to the resort, this offers all the usual spa treatments, plus a small gym, a hot tub, steam bath, and a small pool with a swim-jet system (very cool). The Inn offers a very simple complimentary breakfast and coffee.

Mayne Island is small with limited tourist attractions, especially in the off-season months. A short walk along the beach brings you to the small National Park, filled with stately arbutus trees and old growth fir and cedar. The recently built Japanese garden is well worth a visit. There are only two restaurants on the island, plus a bakery, and a small cafe, all of which were closed at some point. But, for a quiet, relaxing few days, this is a good place to be.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Inn itself are on the small side, if you need more room choose a cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This was a Groupon stay and I wondered if it would make a difference as to our service, but I must say that the hosts went out of their way to be exceptionally friendly and helpful, all of our needs were more than met and our entire time there was delightful. We had a lovely view from our room, the restaurant had delicious meals, great service, relaxing walks along the water and along the trails. A wonderful spot for couples or family. I would greatly recommend it. Thank you for such a wonderful stay. I'll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natalya f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed in the older part of the resort but couldn't have been more pleased. The room was cozy, warm and clean. The view from our room was breathtaking. All aspects of the resort were great, the staff is so friendly and accommodating, at every turn we were offered little pieces of advice and information on things to check out and places to enjoy.

The restaurant on site Bennett Bay Bistro was outstanding. The two people who run the restaurant Colleen and Dave were fantastic, easy to talk to, friendly and make the most amazing dishes. The prices are what you would expect from a very small Island community but worth every single penny. I even looked past Dave's love of the 49ers being a Seattle girl!

In all aspects our stay here was enjoyable and we will most definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knorberg83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayne Island
11.3 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
11.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ganges
447 reviews
6.9 mi away
Poets Cove Resort & Spa
Poets Cove Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Pender Island
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
#1 of 11 in Galiano Island
374 reviews
20.9 mi away
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Central Saanich
734 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Cottages on Salt Spring Island
The Cottages on Salt Spring Isla...
#3 of 22 in Salt Spring Island
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayne Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayne Island Resort

Address: 494 Arbutus Dr | British Columbia, British Columbia V0N 2J1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Mayne Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mayne Island
Price Range: $141 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mayne Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation Type Inn and cottages; number of accommodations 20. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mayne Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayne Island Hotel Mayne Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing