We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mayne Island Resort Nov 2 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mayne Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mayne Island
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mayne Island Resort Nov 2 2013”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

What a special place. We enjoyed a "girls" weekend getaway and can't say enough about this lovely resort. We stayed in one of the 4 plexes (brand new in August) one bedroom with fully equipped kitchen, soaker tub in bath with separate shower, king bed plus queen sofa bed in living room, broil king Bar-B-Q on the deck. Beautiful décor throughout. Stunning views of Bennett Bay. Wonderful hiking trail to the point from our beach. On a storm filled November weekend we enjoyed storm watching from the warmth of our living room in front of the gas fireplace. Drove around the Island and stopped for a walk in the stunning Japanese Memorial Gardens - well done volunteers!!!! The Resort Staff were #1, and nothing was too much to ask. The "current" pool in the spa area was too much fun - just like you are swimming against the current and much harder than swimming in a regular pool. The pool and change rooms were spotless and well equipped - open until 11PM. The on-site restaurant had the best beef burger and a beer for $12. We will definitely consider going here again!

Room Tip: There are no "bad views" in any of the suites at this resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    76
    33
    15
    6
See reviews for
58
192
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My partner and I really enjoyed our 2 nights in Mayne Island. We may not have gone but for the good "Groupon" offer, but now that we know how nice it is there, we plan to go back.
The rooms are small, but there are many other amenities to compensate. Good coffee and granola down stairs and a pool, steam room and hot tub to relax in. Loved the location and the views, and all the interesting bays and beaches nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Wonderfully restored old building. Great location next to National Park and great beach walks. Fabulous staff who couldnt do enough for you. Best restaurant on the island and reasonable prices. View from the room is to die for. Rooms are a bit small, but clean and beds are comfortable. Even had a free continental breakfast. Liquor store in the hotel was reasonably priced and a good selection of beers and wine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW WESTMINSTER
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had a groupon coupon for a two night stay in this hotel. We found the staff to be very friendly and welcoming. The room was very very nice with a balcony overlooking the beautiful bay! The room was very clean and very comfortable.
The indoor swimming pool and spa were exceptional! Also a steam room and an exercise room.
The location was great... the hotel being on the private bay. Plenty of stunning walks.

We have travelled extensively but we found this gem to be a delightful surprise!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed in the pet friendly cottage for two nights mid October, The pet friendly cottage has a fenced yard and patio which was nice, and also comes with a dog towel and blanket. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed two of the three days we spent there (Tuesday and Wednesday) but we just bought some groceries at the local Tru Value foods and cooked in the cottages kitchen. The kitchen does not come with an oven, but there is a stove top and microwave. We both had an awesome Swedish massage in the spa and spent allot of time in the pool, hot tub and steam room. They do not make over your room and replace your towels if you stay more then one night, but you can get extra towels for the pool in the lobby. They have maps of the island in the hotel room, some neat places to check out: the Japanese Gardens, Diner Bay Park and Campbell Point. The room also has a PS3 and washer and dryer. Hoping to come back with our dogs soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Live_Love_Laugh05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at Mayne Island Resort for the last 4 days of a three week trip around British Columbia, and were disappointed by the 'resort' in comparison to other resorts, hotels and lodges we had stayed at during our trip. The location is amazing, with lovely views, however the 'resort' appears to be suffering from a confused identity with a website titled 'resort and spa' but all the signage and literature at the venue titled 'resort and beach homes'.
We stayed in a cottage, which was effectively self-catering but without an oven and provided with the most meagre 'welcome basket' we have ever seen, not even any milk or cream sachets for an arrival cup of tea! The cottages appear to be 'owned' and rented out to guests by the hotel on a 'self-catering' basis when not in use by the owners, which means no room cleaning or towel change, and not what we were expecting from a 'resort'. The self-catering basis for the cottages is not explained on the website, nor was it explained in confirmation e-mails or on check-in.
The on-site bistro was also closed mid-week, again not explained on the website, nor in confirmation e-mails or on check-in, which without an oven in the cottage, left cooking options limited to the use of a hob and/or microwave.
The service was so 'discreet' it was non-existent, one request for an ironing board took over 3 hours, with an explanation by the staff member that they had been very busy . . we were rather perplexed, as we appeared to be one of only 3 cottages occupied??
Overall a 3* star self-catering cottage which is starting to look 'worn' and would definitely benefit from some new towels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosie008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were in need of a relaxing break, somewhere local but serene enough to break from city life, when we decided to visit Mayne Island Resort. We were greeted by Murray, who checked us into our hotle room. He was very helpful, genuine and knew a lot about the island.

Our room was very clean and comfortable, even though we didn't spend too much time there, except to nap in the afternoons, catch some TV, and sleep at night.

We spent our time at the resort's indoor pool which offered a gym, steam room, hot tub, and swimming pool with an auto current, for a great workout and walked on the beach until sun set.

The food at the restaurant was fresh, delicious, and affordable, and were able to sit on the patio, overlooking the beautiful ocean view with blankets wrapped around us sipping wine. It was lovely.

We would not hesitate to go back, anytime of the year and miss it already.
If you 're looking for a relaxing and quiet local getaway, THIS IS THE PLACE!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayne Island
11.3 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Hastings House Country House Hot...
#1 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
15.1 mi away
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
15.0 mi away
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Poets Cove Resort & Spa
Poets Cove Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Pender Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
3.8 mi away
Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
#1 of 11 in Galiano Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
20.9 mi away
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Central Saanich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayne Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayne Island Resort

Property: Mayne Island Resort
Address: 494 Arbutus Dr | British Columbia, British Columbia V0N 2J1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Mayne Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mayne Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mayne Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation Type Inn and cottages; number of accommodations 20. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Mayne Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayne Island Hotel Mayne Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing