We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mayne Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mayne Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My wife and I had a great time at this resort.The location on Bennett Bay was beautiful.We got a room at the Inn since the cottages were full.Very clean and cozy.French doors going out to the balcony with a fantastic view.Comfortable bed.My wife booked a spa treatment and really enjoyed it!Took a dip in the pool and hot tub.The restaurant meals were great,very tasty.The staff was helpfull in getting us some rental kayaks on the beach.We toured around this beautiful island,that has an abundance of small deer.A very relaxing stay,didn't want to leave.Great place to get away from the rat race!Will be back.

Room Tip: make reservations
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank garymcc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 336 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2012

I recently purchased a Groupon for this resort. The room we stayed in was small but cosy, somewhat basic but clean. The antique hardwood floors were beautifully finished with a clear coat showing the character of the old wood. The location is to die for with a balcony view over looking a spectacular seascape. We booked spa treatments, enjoyed the steam room and exercise equipment. The restaurant had great food and the glass carousel ocean view room was lovely. We also hiked and beach combed for hours, it was a beautiful couple of day’s getaway.
I would definitely recommend this resort but will probably try a cottage next time I visit. The cottages cost quite a bit more than the Inn rooms as they are much larger and positioned right along the shoreline. I would suggest that if you are economizing rent a room, if you want the best experience rent a cottage. Either way this beautiful resort or well worth checking out.
The ferry only took a little over an hour from Tsawwassen. We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RivaRidge182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

My sister, her husband and my wife and I have just returned from a two night stay at the Mayne Island Resort, after the visit and reading other reviews I realize we should have stayed in a cottage and not rooms.

Firstly , there was no literature in the rooms to indicate any hotel services, restaurant details, etc, it did not seem as if they were very well prepared for guests. Strangely, the restaurant did not open for breakfast. The internet reception was very weak, cutting in and out continuously.

The walls of the rooms seemed paper thin and we could hear conversations from next door. The microwave in the foyer, (someone prepared their breakfast before 7:00 am), sounded like it was in the room, as did all other sounds in the corridor.

In the room next to my sister, the guest had a dog who's claws on the "100 year old flooring", sounded like it was tap dancing all night.

On our second night a very loud group of guests arrived back around 11:30 pm and continued to shout and party for over an hour. I really hoped the alarm clock that beeped loudly, waking me at 3:45 am, belonged to their room.

Needless to say I would not return to, or recommend, the hotel rooms here.

Room Tip: Stay in a cottage, stay out of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We had heard some negative things about the resort but our company had already booked several cottages for a corporate retreat. When we arrived at night we were tired, cranky, and unsure. They checked our group into our rooms and cabins. The rooms are very quaint, but tidy and equipped with a nice sized balcony. The cabins were impressive, full kitchen and a wonderful soaker tub. The early morning views were spectacular. Our early morning walk with the dogs was a snap with the beach right next door and the resort even has a hot/cold pet washing station outside of the pool area. The pool was a therapy pool with jets and shorter in length than we expected but the steam and hot tub were good. There is also a small gymnasium with cardio equipment and a universal type gym but no free weights. The restaurant was very good also, lots of local foods and an interesting menu.

We had a lot of fun, the owners were really helpful with any of our concerns and the island is truly a jewel.

Room Tip: Cabins are semi detached and much more private. The rooms are 100 yrs old and very clean but smalle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreas m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The rooms were small and not very clean. The wood floor had so much dirt on it that I had to wipe it down before I could walk in bear feet and got 1/4 cup of sand and dirt in the process.
Advertised that there was wireless internet and reception was so bad I had to sit beside the modem in the main hall to use my computer.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ilovegod1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We recently returned from a one night stay at this property. We had booked for two nights but only stayed one. I was disappointed but a lot of that was my own fault. We booked with a Groupon coupon and obviously I did not read or fully understand what we would be getting. The property is quite lovely with a public park and beach right next door.Before booking I checked out their website and thought it looked fantastic. Well the cottages are fantastic but if you get booked into the old hotel not so much! The rooms are very small. They say the hotel is 100 years old and I am sure it is but it has not been refurbished to an antique style. There is a nice staircase leading up to the rooms that looks vintage and the flooring is the original hardwood but other than that it doesn't offer much in the way of charm or character. The newer area where the dining room is located is lovely and nice views and the food there is very good as well as the service. The staff are all nice. It was quite a let down thinking we would be in one of the lovely new cottages only to be put in a very small bleak room. We decided our garden at our own home would be more soothing so we left. Murray the manager called us and tried to make amends for which we were grateful but we will not be returning to this hotel. I should have been more careful or asked more questions as to where we would actually be located. Had I known I would not have bought the Groupon coupon. It sounded like such a wonderful deal, too good to be true and it was! Remember though the restuarant is super!

Room Tip: If you can't get a cottage or you can't afford the cottage prices, give this place a miss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newtonizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in Cottage #109 at the Mayne Island Resort and had a wonderful getaway ... despite the weather! The cottages are beautifully decorated and equipped ... granite countertops, well-equipped kitchen, wood floors, beautiful bathroom with separate shower and bathtub and heated floor, air-conditioning, gas fireplace, BBQ. With the comfortable sofa bed, it was great for 2 couples and would work well for a family too. We had a beautiful view of the water and enjoyed 2 dinners out on our patio. Doug from Bennett Bay Kayaking meet us on the beach to take us on a kayaking tour (definitely worthwhile) and we biked from the resort around much of the island. In early summer (May/June) many of the art/craft stores and the Wild Fennel restaurant (which had been recommended) are not open on Monday and Tuesday, so I would recommend going later in the week.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whistlertraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayne Island
11.3 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
11.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ganges
447 reviews
6.9 mi away
Poets Cove Resort & Spa
Poets Cove Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Pender Island
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
#1 of 11 in Galiano Island
375 reviews
3.3 mi away
Driftwood Village
Driftwood Village
#2 of 4 in Galiano Island
53 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Cottages on Salt Spring Island
The Cottages on Salt Spring Isla...
#3 of 22 in Salt Spring Island
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayne Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayne Island Resort

Address: 494 Arbutus Dr | British Columbia, British Columbia V0N 2J1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Mayne Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mayne Island
Price Range: $138 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mayne Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation Type Inn and cottages; number of accommodations 20. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Mayne Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayne Island Hotel Mayne Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing