We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rent a cottage - don't stay in the inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mayne Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mayne Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We stayed for two nights at the inn during the summer of 2010. At that time the building itself was going extensive renovations and there were several cottages that were half finished within view of our window that looked like the work on them has longed since stopped. The dining room, kitchen, spa and other downstairs rooms weren't finished and there was construction equipment and piles of debris everywhere. This wasn't what I expected, based on their website and an article about the place in a local magazine that I read online that made it seemed like the place was fully up-and-running. We were hoping to dine there both nights since the resort is 3-4 miles opposite the other side of the island where the and stores were located and we didn't have a car. However, all they were able to serve were microwavable appetizers so we hitched-hike a coupe times for meals and to buy food .

The room in the inn was a disapointment. It was small with basic cheap furnishings and a dismal bathroom. It was also dirty - the shower stall looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a while and there was white plaster dust from the on-going construction that had been tracked in and not cleaned up before our arrival. The only thing it had going for it was the view of the ocean. The six or so cottages that were completed and rented out or time-shared appeared nice from the outside and the pictures they had on the website (at the time there were no pictures of the inn's bedrooms on their website, so I assumed they would be as fancy as the cottage furnishings - but no such luck).

Sleep was interrupted the two nights by some loud air compression noise that would erupt periodically downstairs all night long. Upon investiageing, it was coming from a machine of some sorts that was left on in the spa-room under construction. If I was staying for more than two nights I would had probably mentioned this to the owners and inquire about getting a cottage instead or a room elsewhere on the island. The room rates were really too expensive for what we got and had to put with. We could have gotten a nicer room (although probably not a nicer view ) at the several other B&B's on the island for a lower price.

The main reason we stayed there was because when I reserved the room two months earlier I was told they were buying the nearby kayak rental business (which was at the time the only one on the island).. However when we arrived we were told (along with the news of no-restaurant and no on-site store) that did not buy the kayak business and all their kayaks were taken off the island. They did manage to get two kayaks for us the day we arrived, but they were cheap ones that were difficult to use. We were able to use them for no charge, which was a nice gesture, but I wished that I was informed of the situation earlier, so we could stayed on another island instead. Without a guide and struggling to get the kayaks to work correctly, we didn't stay out for very long.

From all the pictures here, it looks like they got the kayak situation sorted now -- so I would definitely recommend venturing out from the resort. Based on reading two kayaking books about the area it is one of the best spots in the Gulf Islands to tour by kayak.

It appears from reading some of the recent reviews that most of the renovations are now done, but not completely so. If possible, rent a cottage instead of staying in a Inn room. All the cottages are situated so they have nice views of the ocean.

Room Tip: Rent a cottage instead of staying in the inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aspage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phil_rose53, Owner at Mayne Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2012

I am happy to be able to inform you that our Inn renovations are now completed and a stay at the resort now includes free use of our new spa facilities; including indoor pool, whirlpool, steam room, exercise equipment and great discounts on spa treatments.

I know we let you down in some areas and again I do apologise for the problems that you experienced here. We did our best to minimize impact on guests during our recent renovations but keeping the resort running smoothly while trying to control dust, noise and construction debris was a much greater challenge than anticipated.

Our rates have also been lowered, people want low prices these days and we are trying to give the best value possible in the Gulf Islands.

Photos of our rooms can be found on the navigation bar of our new website under Accommodations/ Rooms.

If you ever get back this way we’d love to have the chance to win you over and perhaps even get a five star review from you.


Murray Rosengren owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 337 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2011

My husband and I were looking for an easy getaway...something close to home, but still far enough away to enjoy the quietness away from the city, and something easy to toll the kids along to...when a friend recommended Mayne Island Resort. All I can say is WOW!!! The place has the entire package...the check in was a breeze, the cottage was SUPER CLEAN and move in ready, literally. No need to set up anything at all, just unpack your food and you've got an instant picnic on the ocean.

And everyday we spent there was more enjoyable than the first...the kids had their own patio to set up all their toys and play on while we were able to sit and relax. We also had easy access to the beach and spent countless hours enjoying the warm water. In the evening before the kids went to bed, we would wait for the deer to walk by on their daily walk, while we watched movies and cozied up.

The bonus is that there is a private bedroom where the kids can sleep, so we would not disturb them while we enjoyed the evening breeze over vino or while we cuddled and watched movies..

There is also countless ammenities at your fingertips; a liquor store and restaurant right on the resort, and a decent grocery store only a few minutes drive away...There is also private laundry facilities right in the cabin, so if you ruin your favorite shirt, you are still good to go.

We had an amazing trip and were all very sad to leave....we are already planning another trip back and cannot wait to RELAX...

We definitely recommend this place and hope you enjoy it, as much as we did.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

I recently visited Mayne Island Resort for the second time this year with my fiancee and cannot wait to go back! We stayed for a weekend in one of the cottages and had a very relaxing and enjoyable time. The owner picked us up at the ferry and even drove us in a golf cart to the front door of our place. A very pleasant and friendly man. The cottage we stayed in was furnished beautifully and had everything we needed - including our own BBQ! I especially loved the spa-like bathrooms. Our first night we made our own dinner at the cottage and bought a nice bottle of wine from the liquor store (located on the property). We sat on our private patio that overlooked the ocean and stayed out until the sun set. I still can't believe how quiet and peaceful it is there! We love how they had everything we needed and that it was of the highest quality. When we went, the spa and pool were not open yet but it looked like it was going to be quite nice as well. i guess we'll just have to go back....
I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing retreat at a truly stunning location!

Room Tip: I'm pretty certain that all the cottages have stunning views, as they all look out onto the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 107kevin_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at the Mayne Island Resort (with and without our kids) several times over the years and find it just keeps getting better. It started off as a charming little heritage Inn and has transformed into a fantastic resort with self contained suits perfect for our cooking and relaxation needs. Exploring the beach in Bennett Bay (directly below the resort), shopping Mayne islands unique stores and artisans, kayaking, hiking, biking, swimming at the beaches are just a few fun things to do there. Not to mention the amenities at the resort; family friendly restaurant, on site liquor store, and just friendly service make the Mayne Island Resort a great place to stay! We come home feeling relaxed and rejuvenated every time,,,:)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveBCfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We had a fabulous week at Mayne Island resort. My husband and I had a one bedroom cottage steps from the ocean. We chose not to bring a car and were delighted to find they are happy to pick you up. Then we discovered that the island is very eco friendly and encourage car sharing, which is like accepted hitch hiking. We were given rides everywhere with no need for a car.
The cottage is clean and roomy. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The liquor store is handy. The pool and hot tub weren't quite ready but they should be nice. It is only steps to the dock where we saw sea otters and purple martins. On the beach there is swimming and also kayak rentals. The heritage park is also just steps away. We went for a lovely 2 hour kayak where we saw seals and sea lions and a bald eagle. There are tennis courts 2kms. away. The farmer's market was great where we got fresh fruit and veg as well as organic coffee, jams, etc. The fisherman also comes to the dock and sells to the public on Sat. around noon. We did some lovely hiking on the island too.

Room Tip: try to get a cottage over the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GayAnneAhmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

My two kids and husband chose Mayne Island Resort to do our annual summer vacation cycling trip. It was a good 45 minute cycle from the ferry with lots of decent hills and well worth the climb. We stayed in a cabin overlooking the ocean, great beach for the kids, good dock to dive into and especially loved the rental kayak place right next door. The cabins were nicely modern/clean, not very large, but big enough for a family of 4 as long as you have good weather to go outside. The bedroom had a great view of the ocean with veranda doors you could open. Our favourite was our deck, in full sun all day with the ocean view. The resort also has a nice restaurant, but the kitchen in the cabin was great to cook in as we did about 80% of the time. Being on bikes, we were also happy with the liqour store on site... good prices on wine as well. Murray one of the owners, took great care to ensure our stay was memorable, we really appreciate that customer service and will be sure to book back next Summer. The only negative was this resort does not have an outdoor pool, which as any family knows is a must have for kids in the summer. And we were unaware that the cabin was self contained when we booked, so bring your laundry soap to wash towels et al this would have been handy to know when booking for the first time. Maybe the resort will consider stocking such necessities in their store. My Mom and Dad stayed in the hotel for one night... and I wouldn't really recommend a stay there, it was very small and not very cozy. We look forward to returning and seeing future enhancements to this gem of a resort!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Havefun1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We just spent three nights at Mayne Island Resort and had a wonderful time. It started by being shown around by Dave, one of the owners. Since 2004, Dave and his partner, Murray, have developed this property with gorgeous views beyond Bennett Bay to smaller Gulf Islands. They are hands-on guys and are still very busy with their labour-of-love. The one-bedroom cottage we stayed in (107) was simply ((kitchen/dining/living room) and beautifully designed and very well-appointed (including washer/dryer/TV/DVD - none of which we used). The photos on the website, though accurate and attractive, cannot convey the jaw-dropping beauty of this natural setting combined with the ease and comfort of the cottage (modern kitchen, luxurious bathroom, very comfortable, king-size bed).

We used the kitchen for breakfasts and two other meals and it was a pleasure to use (gas burners). We had dinner at the resort's restaurant and enjoyed fine-dining (salmon and beef tenderloin with seasonal root veggies - delicious) as well as our conversations with their lively, new chef, Bertie.

Our first morning we went to the Saturday outdoor farmers' market, bought homemade bread and peach jam and visited the museum across the street. After lunch, we rented kayaks at nearby Bennett Bay and had the pleasure of exploring the many bays, small islands and vistas. The next day we went to the yearly Lions Club Salmon BBQ while taking in the beautifully sublime Japanese Garden, created by Mayne Island volunteers. Because Mayne is so small, we were able to get many spectacular views hiking Mount Parke Park, Vulture Ridge and exploring Georgina Point that same afternoon and evening.

Just a ferry-ride away, we were glad finally to have taken the time to explore Mayne Island and its friendly communty and felt so fortunate to have found Mayne Island Resort.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayne Island
11.3 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
11.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ganges
448 reviews
6.9 mi away
Poets Cove Resort & Spa
Poets Cove Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Pender Island
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
#1 of 11 in Galiano Island
375 reviews
3.3 mi away
Driftwood Village
Driftwood Village
#2 of 4 in Galiano Island
53 reviews
20.9 mi away
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Central Saanich
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayne Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayne Island Resort

Address: 494 Arbutus Dr | British Columbia, British Columbia V0N 2J1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Mayne Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mayne Island
Price Range: $138 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mayne Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation Type Inn and cottages; number of accommodations 20. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mayne Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayne Island Hotel Mayne Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing