We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mayne Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mayne Island
Certificate of Excellence
Courtenay, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Relaxing”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at the Mayne Island Resort (with and without our kids) several times over the years and find it just keeps getting better. It started off as a charming little heritage Inn and has transformed into a fantastic resort with self contained suits perfect for our cooking and relaxation needs. Exploring the beach in Bennett Bay (directly below the resort), shopping Mayne islands unique stores and artisans, kayaking, hiking, biking, swimming at the beaches are just a few fun things to do there. Not to mention the amenities at the resort; family friendly restaurant, on site liquor store, and just friendly service make the Mayne Island Resort a great place to stay! We come home feeling relaxed and rejuvenated every time,,,:)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveBCfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    78
    35
    15
    7
See reviews for
62
201
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We had a fabulous week at Mayne Island resort. My husband and I had a one bedroom cottage steps from the ocean. We chose not to bring a car and were delighted to find they are happy to pick you up. Then we discovered that the island is very eco friendly and encourage car sharing, which is like accepted hitch hiking. We were given rides everywhere with no need for a car.
The cottage is clean and roomy. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The liquor store is handy. The pool and hot tub weren't quite ready but they should be nice. It is only steps to the dock where we saw sea otters and purple martins. On the beach there is swimming and also kayak rentals. The heritage park is also just steps away. We went for a lovely 2 hour kayak where we saw seals and sea lions and a bald eagle. There are tennis courts 2kms. away. The farmer's market was great where we got fresh fruit and veg as well as organic coffee, jams, etc. The fisherman also comes to the dock and sells to the public on Sat. around noon. We did some lovely hiking on the island too.

Room Tip: try to get a cottage over the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GayAnneAhmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havefun1313
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

My two kids and husband chose Mayne Island Resort to do our annual summer vacation cycling trip. It was a good 45 minute cycle from the ferry with lots of decent hills and well worth the climb. We stayed in a cabin overlooking the ocean, great beach for the kids, good dock to dive into and especially loved the rental kayak place right next door. The cabins were nicely modern/clean, not very large, but big enough for a family of 4 as long as you have good weather to go outside. The bedroom had a great view of the ocean with veranda doors you could open. Our favourite was our deck, in full sun all day with the ocean view. The resort also has a nice restaurant, but the kitchen in the cabin was great to cook in as we did about 80% of the time. Being on bikes, we were also happy with the liqour store on site... good prices on wine as well. Murray one of the owners, took great care to ensure our stay was memorable, we really appreciate that customer service and will be sure to book back next Summer. The only negative was this resort does not have an outdoor pool, which as any family knows is a must have for kids in the summer. And we were unaware that the cabin was self contained when we booked, so bring your laundry soap to wash towels et al this would have been handy to know when booking for the first time. Maybe the resort will consider stocking such necessities in their store. My Mom and Dad stayed in the hotel for one night... and I wouldn't really recommend a stay there, it was very small and not very cozy. We look forward to returning and seeing future enhancements to this gem of a resort!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Havefun1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We just spent three nights at Mayne Island Resort and had a wonderful time. It started by being shown around by Dave, one of the owners. Since 2004, Dave and his partner, Murray, have developed this property with gorgeous views beyond Bennett Bay to smaller Gulf Islands. They are hands-on guys and are still very busy with their labour-of-love. The one-bedroom cottage we stayed in (107) was simply ((kitchen/dining/living room) and beautifully designed and very well-appointed (including washer/dryer/TV/DVD - none of which we used). The photos on the website, though accurate and attractive, cannot convey the jaw-dropping beauty of this natural setting combined with the ease and comfort of the cottage (modern kitchen, luxurious bathroom, very comfortable, king-size bed).

We used the kitchen for breakfasts and two other meals and it was a pleasure to use (gas burners). We had dinner at the resort's restaurant and enjoyed fine-dining (salmon and beef tenderloin with seasonal root veggies - delicious) as well as our conversations with their lively, new chef, Bertie.

Our first morning we went to the Saturday outdoor farmers' market, bought homemade bread and peach jam and visited the museum across the street. After lunch, we rented kayaks at nearby Bennett Bay and had the pleasure of exploring the many bays, small islands and vistas. The next day we went to the yearly Lions Club Salmon BBQ while taking in the beautifully sublime Japanese Garden, created by Mayne Island volunteers. Because Mayne is so small, we were able to get many spectacular views hiking Mount Parke Park, Vulture Ridge and exploring Georgina Point that same afternoon and evening.

Just a ferry-ride away, we were glad finally to have taken the time to explore Mayne Island and its friendly communty and felt so fortunate to have found Mayne Island Resort.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed in a cabin on the second level of the grounds. We had a huge patio overlooking the bay and a wonderful breeze off the ocean while sitting on the patio or when we opened the french doors in the living room. The space was bright with lots of windows and good air flow. The unit was air conditioned, but we chose not to use it. The kitchen was fully equipped with utensils, pots/pans, etc. There was also a gas barbeque on the patio; not in the best shape, but it worked for our purposes. The units are clean and would be easy to live in for a week.
There are plenty of amenities on the island and getting groceries is not an issue. Check out the Farmers Market on Saturday afternoon during the summer months.
There is a cold beer and wine store at the resort (open 12pm-10pm).

The beach is easily accessible and the bay is a nice place for a swim.

My only complaint is the marine lights that you cannot turn off outside of your bedroom window. Also, the sunshade in the kitchen door was see thru and if you were outside of the unit at night you could see thru to the kitchen and thru to the bedroom. We hung a towel up for a bit more privacy as I didn't want to sleep with the bedroom door closed.

We were sad to leave and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freshie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

The cabins are lovely and very well appointed and on the website you will find photos of the interior of the cabins. However, we stayed in a room in the Inn. On the 'needs improvement end of things' the room itself is quite small, the furniture is very tired, the bathroom is very small, the blackout curtains aren't long enough to cover the doors outside and there is no closet or fridge. Even the comfortor had seen much better days. The positives are the spectacular views from the private balcony and lovely french doors leading to the balcony.
The Inn building itself is still under construction (unfinished paint, odd bits and ends in the hallways etc.). The room was clean when we arrived, but it was not cleaned again during our stay. This isn't such a big deal, but it would be nice to have access to clean towels during a summer trip to a beach resort. We have stayed at other places on Mayne Island and given the lack of space, service and amenities, the prices for the rooms in the Inn are way to high.
We tried to eat in the restuarant on its opening night, but no one served us and everyone working looked confused or overwhelmed, so we went to another spot on the Island. The menu did look interesting and the location is spectacular, so hopefully the kinks will be worked out soon and the service will improve.

Room Tip: The individual cabins look lovely; avoid the rooms in the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BasedinVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phil_rose53, Owner at Mayne Island Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Thank you for your review.

We are very proud of our rooms and in fact we do have photos of them clearly displayed on our website. There is a very large icon on our rates reservations page marked “View Rooms” which is linked to a full page of room photos.

We are saddened that the Pet Friendly room you stayed in did not meet your expectations.

Your comments have been noted and duly investigated by both the owners and the Management Team.

The rooms are situated on the second floor of the century old hotel which is at the center of our new resort and the new cottages were built around the perimeter of the property, in some cases a mere twenty feet from the shoreline.

The Hotel has interesting features such as original flooring preserved under a protective clear coat. The architect of the time called for smaller rooms which are intimate, cosy and kept very clean. The real strength of our rooms is in our location and features such as double glass doors leading out to private decks providing some of the best panoramic ocean views in the entire Gulf Islands.

We would like to apologise for the kinks you experienced in our restaurant on opening night. I can assure you the kinks have been worked out and our new chef is absolutely incredible.

Please be assured that we take very seriously the service provided to all of our guests.
Sadly, your situation could have easily been dealt with had we been made aware of the problem during your stay. Our customer satisfaction policy typically would have upgraded you to a new Pet friendly cottage.

As it was, only being made aware of your dissatisfaction at checkout time, all we could do was to give you a discount.

If you would consider coming back in the future, we would love to have the opportunity to win you back. As you were unhappy with the price you might be interested to know that we are now running a special for the rest of the summer offering 30% off of room bookings of two nights or more.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

Sincerely
Murray Rosengren, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Getting to Mayne Island, BC was part of the fun. We flew into Seattle, and then shuttled to the ferry dock about an hour north of the city, in the town of Anacortes for the night. From Anacortes, we rode 2 ferries directly to Mayne Island. If you haven’t traveled by ferry, you’re in for a special experience. The ferry transports cars, smaller truck and campers into and around Canada. Food is available on the ferry as well as duty free items. What a great way to see the islands and the water life, as the ferry expertly navigates the course.
Arriving on Mayne Island we connected with one of the Mayne Island Resort owners, who took us directly to a beach-side cottage, after giving us ample time to shop in a local grocery store. The personal service and island friendliness was amazing! Our cottage was more than what we expected. It was super clean and organized, and the king-sized bed was so comfortable with just the perfect fluffy comforter. The closet had room for our luggage and the night tables and drawers had plenty of room for our clothes.
The spa bathroom, complete with big thick robes provided a double sized shower with an amazingly tall showerhead. A perfect bathroom even for big/tall people! Drawers and baskets made it easy to organize our toiletries for a weeks stay.
From our table on the patio we had a view overlooking the bay and the famous pier. This is where we spent our evening time playing games while watching eagles fly overhead. The resort recently opened a liquor store with a very good selection of wines from around the BC area, US, France, South America and Australia and was priced competitively. It was a pleasure to add a bottle of wine to our freshly barbequed dinners on the patio… with a view of the bay. WOW!
We spent the days on Mayne Island hiking the forest trails to the beach and view peaks, exploring nooks and crannies around the island and hitching rides to the stores using their “car stop” system. Travelers don’t really need a car to visit Mayne Island since their car stop system encourages drivers to pick up those who need rides. There are even signs for designated stops, similar to a bus stop.
The highlight of our adventures was an afternoon kayaking with a rental from Bennett Bay Kayaking, which is located in the bay near the resort. The personal service accommodated our desired time and gave expert guidance since we had never used a sea kayak before. From the kayak, we were able to view and photograph bald eagles, sea lions, harbor seals, golden eagle and more. For a beginner, 2 hours was plenty to really see the highlights, and then make it back in time to BBQ a fresh organic chicken from a local health food store.
Mayne Island Resort offered everything we wanted in a vacation from the clean cottage with friendly people to fresh organic produce and meats from local farms. This is not a resort for those expecting to be entertained or waited on. It is for a traveler who enjoys the peace, relaxation and reconnection not found in most vacations. We highly recommend the Mayne Island Resort for a perfectly rejuvenating experience!

Room Tip: All cottages have a fantastic view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DawnHank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayne Island
11.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ganges
438 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
15.0 mi away
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Poets Cove Resort & Spa
Poets Cove Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Pender Island
444 reviews
3.8 mi away
Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
#1 of 11 in Galiano Island
367 reviews
20.9 mi away
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Central Saanich
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayne Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayne Island Resort

Property: Mayne Island Resort
Address: 494 Arbutus Dr | British Columbia, British Columbia V0N 2J1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Mayne Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mayne Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mayne Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation Type Inn and cottages; number of accommodations 20. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Mayne Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayne Island Hotel Mayne Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing