We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a real treat”

Gowlland Harbour Resort Dining Room
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Fusion
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I wanted to surprise my wife with an exceptional birthday dinner and it turned out to be a full success! It was not just the meal we enjoyed, but also the relaxed atmosphere, the Gowlland Harbour view, the professional attention of staff, the friendly chat with the manager/chef, the peaceful time we spent, not being rushed through the menu. The venue is quality renovated, all food freshly prepared, including the own butter and breads. We were offered to used their boat launch for our next kayak trip, so we'll definitely be back and hopefully remember to make a dinner reservation ahead of time!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hiddenharbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GowllandHarbour, Owner at Gowlland Harbour Resort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

We are honoured that you chose to celebrate your wife's special birthday at our restaurant and that it was an exceptional success! Our goal is to create a relaxed, elegant atmosphere where you feel warmly welcomed and cared for by our staff and chef, all while enjoying fabulous, quality food and a spectacular view. Please do come back and visit us by kayak next time -- our private dock near the restaurant makes it a perfect destination for boaters and paddlers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 99 of 101 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

My wife and I with friends made this restaurant / resort a destination on Quadra Island just minutes from Campbell River, BC. The facility itself looks brand new and was tastefully built originally as a private corporate fishing resort. Open to the public these past two years, this is an up and coming destination that is already a rival to it's better known competition in the area. We had the opportunity to meet Chef Marianne who with great pride offers a menu that is small but varied. Our server, Libby, was attentive and very personable and definitely an asset to this resort. The meal was of sufficient quantity to satisfy all appetites and served with awesome presentation. As a group we chose four different dishes and found that the use of spices and complimentary foods enhanced the dish overall. As for cost, the quality and quantity of the meal is reflected in the pricing...this is fine dining not fast food! Very well done.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank willowguesthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Gowlland Harbour Resort Dining Room is a dining room (i.e not a restaurant), complete with table cloths. It was recommended to us, or we would never have stumbled across it since it is not on any of the main roads. It was well worth the search. The service was friendly, professional and attentive, without being overbearing. The food was excellently prepared and presented, and delicious. It was not that busy so, other than a patron who had a bit too much wine, the ambience was quite good. There were no children. Most of the tables are window tables and the view is spectacular. Dinner for two, including a bottle of wine, taxes and gratuity worked out to about $150.00, which we thought was quite standard for that class of restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dldcw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We were celebrating a special occasion and decided to try the Gowlland Harbour Dining Room. When we arrived, a special table had been set up and the fireplace was on. The view from our table was spectacular. The service was exceptional and most appropriate. The food was everything we could ask for. It was cooked well and the taste was right on. We were very pleased.

Thank Dennis07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GowllandHarbour, Manager at Gowlland Harbour Resort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you so much! It is an absolute pleasure to create a special experience for our guests! We look forward to having you back again soon.

Warmly,
Mariana, Lynne & DeAnn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We had dinner here one summer night. It was so nice to sit on the patio and to be served by a friendly staff. The meal was exquisitely prepared. The view of Gowland Harbour was amazingly beautiful! Thank you for creating a magical place for us to dine! It is a must do on Quadra Island.

Thank Caroline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GowllandHarbour, General Manager at Gowlland Harbour Resort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for the glowing review! We think it's pretty magical, too, so it's great to hear other people think so as well! Summer nights outside on the deck are pretty amazing, it's such a great spot to sit and watch the stars come out while enjoying a wonderful meal. Hope you join us again soon!

Warmly,
DeAnn, Mariana & Lynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gowlland Harbour Resort Dining Room also viewed

Quadra Island, British Columbia
Quathiaski Cove, Quadra Island
 
Quadra Island, British Columbia
Quathiaski Cove, Quadra Island
 
Quathiaski Cove, Quadra Island
Quathiaski Cove, Quadra Island
 

Been to Gowlland Harbour Resort Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing