We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Primo location”
other travelers have booked this property
Harbour View Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Harbour View Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Harbour View Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Quadra Island, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
509Patc
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Primo location”
Reviewed September 20, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The accommodation is small and basic but has character and you can't beat the location practically on the beach. It was very quiet, except for some noisy seals banging on the water to stun their fish dinners. Every night was yet another spectacular sunset. The harbour is beautiful for paddling a kayak or canoe. I would definitely go back.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alec W
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ What a location!”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is basic but clean and equipped with everything you need. We spent a very relaxing week just watching the wildlife from the deck, which overlooks Gowlland Harbour. It was everything described and more! We watched bald eagles soar, harbour seals fishing, a small group of otters playing and fishing, blue heron and kingfishers and even a pod of Orca Killer Whales, which came into the bay one day! To be fair the owners said this was only the second time in 20 years they had seen Orca there. The approach to the cottage it has to be said is steep so you need to be fit to carry luggage etc up and down but it's well worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dagan s
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cabin on the sea, very well equipped, what could be better?”
Reviewed April 30, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This gem of a cabin is so close to the shore that the water laps under the deck at high tide.
Nothing like relaxing in the sun, watching otters play on the dock below.
The cabin is on Quadra's south end, so close to amenities but completely secluded
in its location. Couldn't imagine a better place for a regenerating holiday.
Owners are unobtrusive but friendly and helpful when needed. Definitely recommend
this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerri-Ann...
Vancouver Island, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint, Quiet, Absolutely Wonderful but steep hike in and out.”
Reviewed September 11, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We went to Quadra Island to get married and actually decided on the property where the cabin is to say our 'I do's' it was so lovely. The cabin is awesome so quaint and we loved all the animal activity in the bay. The only problem was I have bad Asthma and it is a very steep climb down and killer on the way up, on the plus side we lost a few pounds and got some exercise lol. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!!! P.s.we only seen the owner on the way in the driveway one day and we were there for a week, very private!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privateness
Liked least: The climb
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyla D
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Location”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Very private cabin in a beautiful location with a rustic decor. Cabin was clean and comfortable with a fabulous wrap around deck and view of the harbor. I am giving an average rating as we like to cook most of our own meals and the kitchen appliances need to be updated, as they provide only basic needs. If you like to go out for your meals or love to cook mainly on a their gas BBQ, you will find what you need here. The owners were friendly and accommodating. The steep walk down to the cabin is difficult when transporting your luggage and supplies so be prepared for some exercise. Overall, we enjoyed our vacation with our hosts.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feed back and glad that you enjoyed your time here.
We're sorry that you found the kitchen disappointing. Altho the kitchen is small it is fully equip with an elec., frying pan, grill, stove, slow cooker, toaster, kettle, waffle iron, coffee maker and microwave.
Despite the issue with the kitchen, we're pleased to hear that you'd recommend the cabin to friends.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Reviewed May 3, 2012 for a stay in July 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing