We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful retreat”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Quadra Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taku Resort and Marina
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Quadra Island
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful retreat”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I spent two weeks in cabin 5 over Christmas and it was nothing short of magical.
The cabin was warm, well stocked and had all the comforts you would want while maintaining the feel of getting away from it all.
We had a big bonfire down on the rocks during low tide that was amazing and followed it up with a soak in the fantastic hot tub above.
I have also stayed in the same cabin alone for a week long writing retreat. Again the experience was amazing.
Quadra has enough amenities and activities to keep anyone comfortable and busy or if you choose so, simply enjoy some lazy days lounging around.
I highly recommend a paddle or take advantage of a hot yoga class.

Room Tip: The Cabins are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
takuresort, Owner at Taku Resort and Marina, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Hello Richard,

Your winter sunrise photo is stunning! Taku and Quadra certainly have a lot to offer that time of year and the peacefulness is very magical with the crisp air and snow capped mountains in the distance. Thank you for your winter time review. We're so glad you had another great experience.

Cheers,
Elizabeth Wong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    14
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
38
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have stayed here several times before and it was great as always. I love the privacy of the treehouse, the well-equipped kitchen, the tv that swivels toward kitchen or the bed and the view over Rebecca spit. I also appreciate the casualness of the place, that the room is left open for us with the key on the table or on leaving I can just ask them to send me the bill. The location is also convenient with the grocery store or the Heriot Bay Inn within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebStorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
takuresort, Owner at Taku Resort and Marina, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your review Deb!

We're so pleased that you make us one of your special destinations. The Tree house is certainly a unique suite and is very popular. I agree, it's wonderful how Lynden and staff have such a professional service level yet keep things at a very west coast tempo, easy and welcoming for guests.

See you again soon,
Elizabeth Wong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beloit, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed in a Terrace Studio for 2 nights while touring Quadra Island. Our room was very clean and spacious with a deck which was great to spend time looking over the water and watching the stars. The owner was very friendly and helpful getting us checked in. The kitchen facilities are also very complete for cooking our own meals. We would definitely stay here again on another visit to Quadra Island.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
takuresort, Owner at Taku Resort and Marina, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hello Elaine

It was my mom Fei who checked you in. She loves meeting the guests and getting to know them all. In our 30th year running the resort, we are so proud of being able to provide this hidden gem to guests. We are also taking this year to start a cookery and marine tours. Our new website highlights all of these new programs.

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review it contributed to us winning the Tripadvisor 2013 Travelers' Choice Award as Top 25 Bargain Hotels in Canada. An award like this is extremely helpful to our small family business.

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Wong
www.takuresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed in a Terrace Studio for three nights, ideal size for two. Resort has lots of choice with Cabins and larger suites, Beach House contains two large suites that would be the newest of the accommodations.

All have kitchenette equipped with all necessary utensils so all you need to bring is your food and condiments if you're cooking in house. Coffee maker and coffee is provided, they also provide filters if you bring your own coffee. Gas BBQ's are at all except Terrace Suites. We found our room very clean and well looked after. The fresh cut flowers were a beautiful touch.

This property is absolutely gorgeous with great views of Drew Harbour and Rebecca Spit, lots to do and is a great place to bring children. Ownership has fully achieved their dream of creating a place that is perfect for family and friends get togethers.

As others have mentioned, a grocery/liquor store is within easy walk and carries all one would need, includes deli with pre-cooked selections. Heriot Bay Inn is equally close and has pub and full dining room adjacent to the Cortes Is Ferry dock.

Property has a marina with great docking facilities and electrical hook up and also have canoes and kayaks you can rent if you are experienced. Otherwise there is an outfitter at the resort entrance who can take you on guided tours (they have bike rental to).

Can't say enough good things about management & staff, very accommodating, friendly and professional.

If you require the Hotel experience then I would suggest Taku may be too rustic for you otherwise but if you don't mind cooking yourself and/or walking or driving to eat out then this is the best place on Quadra as far as we are concerned.

One suggestion - a gas BBQ situated on the grass area at the back of the Terrace Suites for common use by those suites would be a nice addition. Stone house is a bit distant and requires charcoal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sparky026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
takuresort, Owner at Taku Resort and Marina, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Your great review earned us the Tripadvisor 2013 Award for Top 25 Bargain Hotels in Canada. It is also very rewarding to all the staff to read your review that acknowledges our efforts at providing a resort for family and friend get togethers.

We will certainly look into adding a gas BBQ at the Terrace Suite level, a great suggestion!

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Wong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Our family and relatives came here - we had a great time. Very relaxing, lots of things to do either at the resort or on Quadra itself, for a whole spectrum of ages. The resort is well maintained, and the staff are very helpful - highly recommended.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank dbst09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
takuresort, Owner at Taku Resort and Marina, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We're so pleased your family had such a wonderful time and that our staff was able to be so helpful.

Thank you for coming to Taku and thank you for taking the time to write this review. Because of your review we were awarded the Tripadvisor 2013 award for Top 25 Bargain Hotels in Canada.

We hope to welcome you again.

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Wong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We had a very relaxing two-night stay in one of the A-frame cabins by the ocean. In the evening we enjoyed a wonderful barbecue on the front deck, while enjoying spectacular views of the ocean, islands and mountains. Our cabin was very comfortable and spacious. We also took advantage of the tennis courts and our daughter loved the little playground. Taku is a really an amazing spot on Quadra Island!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
takuresort, Owner at Taku Resort and Marina, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hi Barbara
We're so happy that you were able to come to Taku and especially that your family enjoyed it so much. The Toot Toot Taku playground is a great hit with the children.

Your review contributed to us being awarded the Tripadvisor 2013 Top 25 Bargain Hotels in Canada award. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, much appreciated.

Cheers,
Elizabeth Wong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We spent two nights here camping and really enjoyed our stay. Each pitching spot is well appointed with a picnic table, power point and ample room for parking. Each spot is also spaced so you have a sense of privacy from your neighbours (not that anyone else was staying there when we were!). The toilets and showers are conveniently located close by.

On site facilities are good with a TV/games room, laundry, tennis court and a hot tub which we used a lot!

What really makes this place is the beautiful setting on the shoreline. It's so peaceful and tranquil that you could spend hours on the marina taking in the view. It really is the place to get away from it all.

Nearby there is a pub in Heriot's Bay which also serves meals. If you want to cater for yourself then there's a well stocked supermarket within a few minute's walk. I highly recommend doing a kayaking trip which can be booked at Quadra Island Kayaks close by. Trips start from the marina and are an excellent way of seeing widlife and exploring the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan_W_12569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
takuresort, Owner at Taku Resort and Marina, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hello Allan

We're so glad you were able to find us all the way from London. It is special to experience our resort at that time of year, especially with all the bright green colours of spring.

I certainly agree that the Quadra Island Kayak trips are the perfect way to explore the coast.

Thank you for taking the time to write this helpful review. It contributed to us being awarded Tripadvisor's 2013 Top 25 Bargain Hotel Travelers' award. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Cheers,
Elizabeth Wong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quadra Island
14.0 mi away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#8 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
4.3 mi away
Whiskey Point Resort
Whiskey Point Resort
#2 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
7.3 mi away
Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge
Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge
#2 of 9 in Quadra Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
April Point Resort & Spa
April Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heriot Bay Inn
Heriot Bay Inn
#5 of 9 in Quadra Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
8.8 mi away
Brown's Bay Resort
Brown's Bay Resort
#2 of 14 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taku Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taku Resort and Marina

Property: Taku Resort and Marina
Address: 616 Taku Rd., British Columbia V0P 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Quadra Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Quadra Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent seaside resort with a perfect blend of laidback ambience and luxurious comfort. Enjoy views from all suites and cabins. Our accommodations will meet your needs and budget and all have a full kitchen and balcony. Alternately, there are forested campsites or the excellent marina for you to stay. On-site, you can enjoy cookery courses, the hot tub, tennis, kayaking, basketball and bocce and more. Quadra Island also offers activities such as golf, hiking, art studios and much more. Our professional and attentive staff look forward to hosting you. The complete Discovery Island vacation experience awaits you at Taku Resort. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing