We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gnome too many”

Gnome's Hollow Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pender Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gnome's Hollow Bed and Breakfast
vancouver
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A gnome too many”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We booked this b&b on the strength of its tripadvisor reviews.Who can resist a mystical,magical retreat that promises peace and serenity - and gnomes to boot? What we experienced was a gloomy, oppressive and cold atmosphere that had us craving sunshine and light. Obviously, gnomes are not for everyone or maybe they are an acquired taste.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eminvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ol_Gnome, Owner at Gnome's Hollow Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
We advertise our B & B as being in a “Forest Setting”. Sorry, not a lot of sunshine & light in a December forest on the West Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    4
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Had a great experience at Gnome's Hollow. Was everything we expected and more. Beautiful scenery, a very woodsy feel.. we were nestled right amongst the forest with rock, waterfalls and birds just outside our window. Along with a hot tub, not every forest has that. Ha. Our hosts were gracious with their hospitality but like any good host they only had a presence when needed. The breakfasts were hearty, healthy and delicious. And we were met on our arrival not only by many gnomes populating the grounds but also a family of deer (that walked alongside our slow moving car) and by the end of our first evening there my girl and I were already saying 'Gnome Suite Gnome'. This was in early November, we're already planning a visit in spring.. See you soon Dave and Tania!

Room Tip: The Garden Room has the best view of the property, running parallel to the beautiful water fall. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suntana280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife Lynne and I, along with our lovely flat coat retriever "Tasha", spent 3 glorious nights at this magical abode. A gem in the case of our warm hosts Tania and Dave....and of course "Jaegar"....the friendly keeper of the castle. The other gem being the island that is Pender. We've never had such a relaxing stay than at Gnome's Hollow.....our room ( Garden)...has the most wonderful view of the garden....and the calming sounds of the waterfall...act as a natural lullaby....if you have trouble sleeping.....this is the place for you. Dave is a great story teller.....and has a wealth of knowledge about the Island.....if you want to know the secret hideaways, beaches....and places to eat.....he's your man. Tania....is a wonderful host.....her healthy breakfasts are to die for......no fat laden fare here. I can't thank them enough for making us feel like family....and for accepting Tasha as a part of their family during our stay....we were truly humbled by their genuine warmth and hospitality.
Suffice to say......we will definitely be returning to this "Gem within a Gem".

Room Tip: All rooms are well appointed.....the location and hosts are the winners here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ol_Gnome, Owner at Gnome's Hollow Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thanks Bernie for the kind words. I'm sorry to say that you won't see Jaegar on your return stay with us, as he went to that great "Sand Beach" in the sky last December. But we have two new girls that would just love to show Tasha their new totally fenced in yard, and play ring-around-the-log down by the lower garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Gnomes Hollow for 3 nights in July, 2013. Gnomes Hollow is a beautiful property tucked in at the end of a quiet lane on Pender Island. We had the garden room, which looks out on the wonderful water feature, which we could hear from our room. We fell asleep to the peaceful sounds of the water feature every night. A hot tub at the base of the water feature was a great bonus. Delicious food, and the hosts are wonderful. Dave is the schmoozer and Tania the cook (although Dave will chip in on the cooking too). They have traveled all over the world and were fascinating to chat with. A great stay at Gnomes Hollow!

Room Tip: All of the rooms were very nice. If you like the sound of running water (we do), the garden room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had such a nice relaxing stay at Gnomes Hollow. The hosts were kind, friendly, and welcoming! They made us feel relaxed and at home. We enjoyed our stay in the Garden Room, which of course, had a beautiful view of the garden and waterfall. We made good use of the hot tub, which was so relaxing after our long bike ride to Gnomes Hollow! We also had fun playing games in the lounge. Finally, our stay was rounded out by a delicious, well-balanced breakfast in the morning and a visit from Jaeger the dog. We can't wait to go back again!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I went to Gnome's Hollow with my boyfriend to celebrate his birthday for the weekend. The pictures online made it look extremely relaxing and romantic, so we were eager to experience it for ourselves. We were pleased to see that the B&B was exactly like the pictures-in fact, even better! We used the hot tub constantly, which overlooked the beautiful rustic garden and waterfall, moss-covered rocks, high trees all around us...we had the Garden Room for two nights, which overlooks this really mystical property. I left the window open when we napped and slept-my boyfriend is a sensitive sleeper, but he always immediately fell right asleep, with the beautiful waterfall cascading outside and the birds chirping... that's how relaxed and peaceful he was! Gnome's Hollow was perfect for our weekend getaway, and I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: The Garden Room is perfect for those looking for a view and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellyblank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ol_Gnome, Owner at Gnome's Hollow Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thanks Kelly,

It is always a pleasure to look after great guests like you & Ryan. The gnomes will be watching out for your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We have just returned from a most restful and wonderful stay at Gnomes Hollow Dave & Taina were most welcoming it was little details like bringing you tea or coffee to your room in the morning to relaxing in the hot tub late into the evening. It was an Oasis away from the stress
of the real world laying in the hot tub gazing up through the trees at the stars. We highly recommend this place if you want to relax away from it all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonwilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pender Island
11.9 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Hastings House Country House Hot...
#1 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
2.8 mi away
Poets Cove Resort & Spa
Poets Cove Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Pender Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
3.6 mi away
Salmonberry Inn
Salmonberry Inn
#4 of 9 in Pender Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Mayne Island Resort
Mayne Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Mayne Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
8.3 mi away
Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
#1 of 11 in Galiano Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gnome's Hollow Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gnome's Hollow Bed and Breakfast

Property: Gnome's Hollow Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4844 Cutlass Crt, British Columbia V0N 2M2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Pender Island
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Pender Island
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar Log home nestled in a secluded, tranquil, unique magical woodlands forest setting. Theme rooms with Private Bathrooms and entrance. Bapcha's Room, antique furniture and old photos. A sea faring rouge will like the Captain's Room. Garden Room, nature lovers will enjoy our waterfall and ponds. Romantic outdoor Hot Tub at bottom of the 15' waterfall. Guest lounge with fireplace, large screen cable TV, table, small fridge, kettle for tea or coffee, games and library. Hot beverage delivered to your room a half hour before the three course Gourmet breakfast is served in our dinning room (vegetarians welcome). Pets and children on approval. No Smoking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing