We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Married in paradise...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Poets Cove Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pender Island
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Poets Cove Resort exceeded our expectations in every way possible. When we were looking for a location for our wedding, we were immediately impressed by how the resort was willing to go the extra mile to meet our needs and help us create the wedding of our dreams (and within our budget). The event and catering staff were so easy to work with, and they genuinely cared about making our weekend truly memorable. It allowed us to relax knowing that we were in good hands.

From the moment we walked into the lobby, every single staff member we encountered was friendly, professional and always willing to provide top-notch service. We've been to a lot of nice hotels and resorts, but we have never encountered this level of hospitality before.

The resort itself was stunning, right on the waterfront of Bedwell Harbour. The rooms, villas and cottages were very luxurious, and all of our friends and family were extremely happy with their accommodation. Some of them reported having the most restful sleeps they had ever had.

The food at the resort was excellent (for breakfast, we recommend the crab cake bennies!), and the amenities were many - from a relaxing massage at the spa, to lounging poolside (the resort has separate adult and family pools), to activity rentals, they had something for all of our guests to enjoy.

Poets Cove will always hold a special place in our hearts, and we look forward to going back next August (and for many Augusts to come) to celebrate our anniversary in this truly magical place. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 465 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2010

My wife and I recently spent a two-day getaway at Poet's Cove. Since it was September and mid-week, it was quiet. A great setting, good facilities, outstanding food (although a bit pricey), and top-flight staff. There are, however, a few items that potential visitors should be aware of. First, if you're looking for a setting that provides the opportunity for long walks on the beach, this isn't the place, nor is Pender Island generally. Most of the small beaches are accessible only by boat. Long Beach at Tofino is a much better choice for beach walks. Second, a minor annoyance was that the hotel charges for the use of canoes, bikes, etc. Tacky for a supposed five star resort. And, third, my wife would give the spa massage at 6/10. Nothing special and no "spa" music, which made the place noisy.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fastasflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afjealida, Public Relations Manager at Poets Cove Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2010

Hello from Poets Cove,
Thank you for your kind comments about our resort and also for telling us of your concerns.
Pender Island certainly doesn't have the vast expanse of beach that Tofino does, and if you're a beach comber, then it could be a bit challenging here.
However, we do have about 30 beach accesses, with Medicine Beach, Mortimer Spit and Brooke Point as examples. We also have many hiking trails through some of our lovely parks.
As for canoe and kayak rentals, it's our standard policy to charge a rental fee. All rental rates can be viewed on our website under the activities button.
Thanks again for visiting with us and enjoying our beautiful island.
Sincerely,
I.Timmer, Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

When we set out to choose our wedding location, we wanted an outdoor venue near the ocean where our guests could relax and enjoy a weekend they wouldn’t forget. We were absolutely thrilled with how it turned out. We got married at Poet’s in mid-July this year, and the team at this intimate resort made it a very wonderful and memorable weekend. We dealt very closely with Bea (the event planner) leading up to the weekend, and she was an absolute pleasure to work with - detailed, friendly, professional, and quick to look into all our requests. With 92 guests (about 70 of them staying at the resort), the venue was perfect, offering 3 separate locations to hold various parts of our event – the Terrace for the Ceremony and Cocktail Party, the Seaglass Ball room with views of the ocean for the Reception dinner, as well as the Executive Cottage lawn for a welcome BBQ Friday night, a champagne reception Saturday afternoon, and a brunch on Sunday morning. The staff at Poet’s were all truly excellent – from the bell boys, to the servers, to all the people helping with the set up - and our guests continue to rave about the fantastic weekend to this day.

Mike & Jenn

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0823JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

Poets Cove is a perfect place to visit, and the ideal place to get married! We had our wedding there on Aug 1, 2010 and we could not have been happier. The location is absolutely magical, and the resort amazing. The rooms are very well appointed, and the option to stay in the cottages/ villas (which couples can split and still have their own room- making the rates really good) or lodge rooms means that for a wedding there are great accommodation and price options for everyone. The lodge rooms were lovely, and the villas and cottages excellent as you have a fully equipped kitchen and BBQ- so it is great for extended stays and a real home feeling. The staff were outstanding. The resort staff have a real ‘can do’ attitude- any request is catered to, and the service is impeccable.

The location is stunning- and lots of activities to do. We rented a boat from Poets Cove for an afternoon for a great whale watching trip (reasonable prices as you can split the costs amongst the group), and there is a great pool area for relaxing- and many more activities available. Poets Cove is great for a romantic couples weekend, or an extended stay with a family.

This was the perfect place for our wedding. The wedding planner Bea was so lovely to deal with, and she made the entire experience absolutely personal and stress free. The island has great service providers too for everything you will need for a wedding- hair, make-up, cake, DJ, photographer, etc- all were outstanding. The outside location at Poets Cove for the ceremony under the lovely large tree in front of the water was stunning, and the Seaglass ballroom for the dinner and dancing was perfect. We had just over 100 people at our wedding and the room size was perfect for our group. The executive cottage is also ideal as you can have a self catered BBQ there, with lovely and large grounds for a group.

The food is top notch at Poets Cove. Our wedding dinner was delicious and the brunch, that we also had in the Seaglass Ballroom, was also really good. The service was again impeccable.

I cannot say enough positive things about our experience at Poets Cove and how perfect our wedding was at this location. We had guests from all over the world attend and being able to have everyone stay at Poets Cove, in one location, made it very intimate and perfect for our families and friends to get to know each other. Many people stayed on for an entire week, and loved their experience at Poets Cove.

I really cannot say enough good things- we want to go back to Poets Cove many times in the years to come, as it is a lovely gem on the west coast of Canada. A five star, amazing hotel - do plan a visit!!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiCan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We recently had our wedding at Poets Cove. We were 50 guests. We had visited twice prior, and every time we had a very relaxing, enjoyable time. The food was consistently top quality, as was the service. For the wedding, everyone had a terrific experience -- our guests were delighted by the wonderful food (price to quality was extraordinary) and the extremely friendly service. Bea, our wedding coordinator, did everything to make our experience a memorable one. We couldn't have asked for a better venue, service, food or experience. Hi would highly recommend this for anyone who is looking for a good weekend retreat or a wedding. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDlarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We were married at the beautiful Poet's Cove resort July 1, 2010, and did we ever make a great choice of venue. We had our guests stay at the resort for 2 nights and 3days, all of my guests loved the rooms, the beautiful setting and the super friendly and accomadating staff. Many of my guests have returned for additional visits to the resort. My guests ranged in age from 3-80s and each guest was able to take part in an activity around the resort, some lounged by the pool, others went to the spa, some enjoyed the resutrants on site, and a few even went kyaking. The co-ordinators were very helpful and answered all of our questions and made it a stress free lovely experience. We ordered the buffett for our reception, the food was beautiful and amazing! My family and I would recommend this resort for any type of get-a-way and especially a wedding. Poets Cove thank you for making our day magical, see you in October, Sarah and Matthew

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewlyWed-Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

My husband and I have stayed at Poets Cove 3 times. The first two times were in October and February when the weather was less than great but the experiences were still beyond expectations. The third trip was for our wedding! We had a different event each of the three nights we were there, and a total of about 55 guests, with kids. The wedding planning process was easy because of the awesome events team, and the execution of each event was flawless. Not only did we absolutely love the accommodations, the setting, and the INCREDIBLE food, above all we loved the service. On each trip literally every single staff person we came in contact with was personable, polite, and very focused on making sure we were happy and taken care of. I don't think we'll ever forget the people. I also want to emphasize how truly amazing the food is. Our goal for the wedding was to give our guests a memorable culinary experience, and that is exactly what was delivered. And all for a very reasonable price. My husband and I, as well as all of our wedding guests, are huge fans of Poets Cove. We plan on going back for many years to come.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raelarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pender Island
22.9 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,297 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
17.5 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#10 of 11 in Friday Harbor
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#21 of 49 in Victoria
3,853 reviews
6.9 mi away
Mayne Island Resort
Mayne Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Mayne Island
333 reviews
16.0 mi away
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Central Saanich
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poets Cove Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poets Cove Resort & Spa

Address: 9801 Spalding Rd, British Columbia V0N 2M3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Pender Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pender Island
Price Range: $321 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Poets Cove Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poets Cove Resort & Spa is the Gulf Islands' premier luxury resort. Tucked away in Bedwell Harbour on Pender Island, there is a luxurious combination of 22 Lodge Rooms, 9 Villas and 15 Cottages. We offer a full-service 110-slip deep-moorage marina and a Canadian point of entry customs office for CanPass users. Our stunning Aurora Restaurant and casual Syrens Lounge serves the best local fresh ingredients and our activities range from exciting kayaking adventures to rejuvenating spa treatments in our award winning 'Susurrus' Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Poets Cove Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poets Cove Resort And Spa
Poets Cove Hotel Pender Island
Poets Cove Pender Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing