We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, Peaceful & Relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poets Cove Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Poets Cove Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pender Island
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Peaceful & Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed in a two-bedroom cottage with my Dad for a few nights. The views from the cottage were lovely, although it appeared that you really can't go wrong with any of the main lodge rooms, cabins or villas as they all face the harbour's beautiful view. I am including a picture of the resort map (given to us at check-in) as I would have found this information useful when I was originally making the booking at Poets Cove. The resort has done a particularly terrific job of keeping the very noisy children's pool away from the rooms/cabins/villas (it is located beside the Moorings Market) while having a second, quiet adults-only pool area (with a hot tub and fitness centre) near to the cabins and villas. The entire resort is well maintained, beautiful, quiet and peaceful.

We were impressed with the cleanliness, finishings and size of the cabin. We had two large bedrooms, two bathrooms, a kitchen, dining area and living area - and a wonderful patio to sip evening drinks on.

We dined at the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast; the patio was a terrific place to dine with gorgeous views over the harbour, the food was good and the staff were friendly and helpful. Indeed, we found all of the resort staff to be friendly and helpful - from the check-in staff to any staff that we passed on the resort grounds (we were always greeted with a cheerful "good morning!" or "good afternoon!"). Even the resort's contracted gardening staff were happy to chat with us. The resort's resident deers weren't so chatty (I joke) but they did pop by for a visit each evening, which was lovely.

We didn't make use of any of the resort's amenities or planned activities, but we found it a great place from which to explore both north and south Pender Island. One of the restaurant staff went out of his way to indicate points of particular interest on a map of the Island and we explored every corner. Both Poet's Cove and Pender Island are beautiful places to spend a few days - save some energy for the hike up to the top of Mount Norman as the breath-taking views will make the seemingly endless slog more than worthwhile.

We thoroughly enjoyed our two days and nights at Poets Cove and I whole-heartedly recommend it.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong - all of the lodge rooms, cabins and villas face the harbour. The cabins seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KEP55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    84
    46
    61
    39
See reviews for
97
174
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a review of the Poet's Cove restaurant only.

Despite this being a beautiful building, with amazing views, our experience at the Poet's Cove Restaurant was beyond abysmal. We came here for a family lunch and were shocked at the length wait for our food (well over an hour), seemingly incompetent staff (who appeared to be new and untrained) and very poor quality food. Furthermore, our orders were mixed up and we received the incorrect meals, but were so hungry by the time we received them, we ate them anyway! The presence of these factors were even more shocking when you consider the restaurant was virtually empty, with only two or three other tables eating. They too appeared to be having similar difficulties obtaining their meals. Admittedly, the manager of the restaurant was extremely apologetic, but a restaurant of this apparent high standard should never have a lunch service of this poor quality.

We own a cabin on Pender Island and will not be returning to this restaurant ever again, instead opting to attend many of the other lovely restaurants on this island.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank April B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

After a cold rainy day on the water, what could be better than a shower, massage, hot tub & eucalyptus steam at the Spa? Answer? Nothing! We have stayed at Poets Cove many times, both at the resort & at the Marina and love how the resort has 'come into its own' on the Island. Poets Cove is magical and is one of our favorite places on the Westcoast!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zoeyryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
246 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed in a two-bedroom cottage with my daughter for a couple of nights. We were very impressed with the quality of the accomodation and fittings. The cottage was about 840 sq. ft. in area plus a spacious deck with a wonderful view and even a barbecue. Inside we had everything we could possibly need from a washer/dryer, a kitchen that was equipped well enough to cook for a family, to books, televisions and audio equipment.

The restaurant had a limited menu but the food was good and we were able to eat outside every evening while watching the sunset. The staff were charming, helpful and a delight to talk to and this was true of everybody including the room staff, the shop keepers and the gardeners.

In spite of it being high season, the entire resort was blessedly peaceful at night and the grounds are well designed to keep noisy activities, such as the childrens' pool, away from the guest rooms.

Our criticisms that make Poets Cove a "Very Good" instead of "Excellent" are really quite trivial.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DandDToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoetsCove, General Manager at Poets Cove Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you. I appreciate your well-measured comments very much.
Kind Regards,
Walter Kohli, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Fantastic location on the beautiful Pender Island. Watching the sun set from the room balcony is just beautiful. The building was in good condition, the room spacious, staff are helpful - the downside is the music played all day (from 7a.m.-10p.m. I think) in the public areas including the corridors outside the rooms - gets a bit grinding. Other than that, the restaurant food was really tasty if a little pricey, breakfasts were great (not included in the room rate) and cooked to order in the week - buffet at the weekend.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeannieG59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We caught the 2:00 Ferry to Pender Island and arrived around 4:00 and drove about 15 minutes to Poet's Cove. I used to come years ago when we owned a boat so it was interesting seeing Pender Island from the road.

From the minute we checked in we were greeted by friendly helpful staff. We were in Room 308 in the main building and had the most wonderful view of the harbour and all the going's on. Very pleased with the room and all the amenities, in fact we were reluctant to leave our room, it was so quiet and peaceful. Something we both crave coming from very busy jobs always surrounded by people.

We ventured out to talk to the Concierge (Quinn I believe) about kayaking. Neither of us were experienced in any way shape or form with kayaking and he quickly reassured us that the harbour would be a great place to have a guide and learn a bit of the basics. We booked for the next day and returned to our room to enjoy some appetizers we had brought with us and looked forward to watching the boats and people in the resort. We were lucky enough to have a wedding going on that added to the people watching. Wonderful sleep that night on a beautiful bed, we had the sounds of the waterfall outside our window -- certainly not loud, and I love the sound of water nearby.

Next morning we had brunch on the balcony of the restaurant. The staff was just wonderful, very friendly and prompt with their service. The food was excellent, such a treat to go to an omelette station and order your personal omelette and then have the server bring it to you piping hot. Our kayak guide was booked for 10:30 and we met in the lobby, the Concierge was kind enough to come down to the water with us and using our camera took some excellent pictures of us on our rookie voyage. I will say there is something serene about paddling around this beautiful harbour. We were only out about 90 minutes ( I have a serious shoulder injury that prevented us from being out longer) and enjoyed every single second, we booked the sit on kayaks and while not comfortable on the back they are extremely stable and perfect for first timers.

Back to our wondeful room to enjoy the rest of our day.

Next day we got up and had breakfast again on the deck of the restaurant. We were booked on the 4:15 ferry out of Pender back to Vancouver. This was the only mistake we made on the trip. I thought we could poke around Pender Island for a few hours before getting on to the ferry. Turns out doesn't take more than two hours to really see the island - not interested in hiking so some of the view points were not easy to access. We were given the opportunity to stay around the resort and use the amenities - -we should have done that rather than leave that beautiful place so early. Live and learn.

I am not sure why anyone would have a negative review of Poet's Cove but as the old adage goes you can't please everyone and I have learned in life you get what you receive and we received top notch stellar treatment from every staff member. We do hope to return and will highly recommend Poet's Cove to anyone looking for a get away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanneandGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoetsCove, General Manager at Poets Cove Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
I’ve read your wonderful comments first thing at 7.00 AM this Saturday morning. For some mysterious reason my coffee tastes now more fragrant and the yachts in Bedwell Harbour look even more serene. I will share your truly inspirational posting with our team as we’re heading in to a very busy weekend. Thank you from all of us at Poets Cove!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam
Level Contributor
277 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Although a bit of an adventure to get to Pender Island via BC Ferries, which included 2 stops over, once arrived, we were absolutely thrilled with the premises. Our greeting was great, and we had several in our party as we attended a wedding at the resort. Unfortunately, our room wasn't ready, and after travelling the distance from the mainland,,, with the two stops, we were a bit disappointed we couldn't get in right away. Promptly at 4 though we were called and moved in to our 2 bedroom cottage. The place was very well decked out,, lots of utensils, cupboard space, and nice bedrooms,, comfy beds as well. Topping it off, our own personal hot tub.. Unfortunately we sacrificed a view for the tub. The location is excellent, the bar was great with super nibblies. It's pricey, but it's well laid out. We'll go back.

Room Tip: I'd make sure to go for the view rooms. The harbour is beautiful, and sunsets superb. Nothing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldwingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoetsCove, General Manager at Poets Cove Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
I’m very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us on Pender Island; and yes, the hot tubs are great after a day of traveling! Although four o’clock is our regular check-in time, during the shoulder season we usually manage to assign rooms by noon or one o’clock. I hope we can do so during your next visit.
Thank you,
Walter Kohli GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pender Island
22.9 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Hastings House Country House Hot...
#1 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
6.9 mi away
Mayne Island Resort
Mayne Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Mayne Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
15.9 mi away
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Central Saanich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poets Cove Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poets Cove Resort & Spa

Property: Poets Cove Resort & Spa
Address: 9801 Spalding Rd, British Columbia V0N 2M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Pender Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pender Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Poets Cove Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poets Cove Resort & Spa is the Gulf Islands' premier luxury resort. Tucked away in Bedwell Harbour on Pender Island, there is a luxurious combination of 22 Lodge Rooms, 9 Villas and 15 Cottages. We offer a full-service 110-slip deep-moorage marina and a Canadian point of entry customs office for CanPass users. Our stunning Aurora Restaurant and casual Syrens Lounge serves the best local fresh ingredients and our activities range from exciting kayaking adventures to rejuvenating spa treatments in our award winning 'Susurrus' Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Poets Cove Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poets Cove Hotel Pender Island
Poets Cove Resort And Spa
Poets Cove Pender Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing