We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place but needs improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Poets Cove Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pender Island
Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A beautiful place but needs improvement”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was not the first time I have been to Poets Cove but my experience this time was remarkably similar as my last visit. I'd like to have given this place a 5 star review since I like to support my local BC businesses, but it needs improvement in all aspects related to guest services. The resort facility itself is really nice and we had no complaints about our two bedroom villa. It was clean and comfortable and spacious. Where this hotel is really lacking is service. To begin, we arrived off of a boat and had numerous bags with us. We noticed two golf carts and two employees waiting near the bottom of the resort and expected they would offer us a lift. Instead they turned away from us and so we struggled up the hill with all of our luggage only to have them both drive past us up the hill where they parked at guest services. At check in nobody offers any information about the facilities the hotel has to offer or anything about Pender Island in general. It is just not the service level you expect at a nice hotel. In addition, the pool in the upper area was really dirty and in my opinion should not have been open for use. The hot tub in the spa area was similarly dirty and required attention.The resort also needs to try and address the smell of what we assumed was the septic field which was prevalent the last time we visited last year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizzyJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoetsCove, General Manager at Poets Cove Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
I appreciate your continued support of our local resort. We’ve built our reputation on warm and genuine service; thus the issues raised are bit painful but will be looked in to. An explanation about the cloudy upper pool may help. The island experienced a power outage which affected the ph balance in the pool and rendered it cloudy against the grotto-colored pool floors. Unfortunately the septic system was affected by the same power outage and resulted in the odor. In the mean time the resort returned to blue skies, fresh sea air and wonderful guest experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    88
    47
    61
    39
See reviews for
98
178
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I surprised my husband for his 30th by bringing him here, and we loved it. It was the most perfect getaway, booked through BC Ferries Vacations. We were given a secluded lodge room, which all have private, ocean-viewing balconies and the staff all treated us well. We rented kayaks for a few hours, which was easy to do and the resort was very flexible with timing ("bring them back whenever you like and we'll just tally up the hours at that point"). We also reserved a couples massage in the spa, although the steam cave was a little too much - we couldn't see anything because of the steam, and it made breathing very difficult. We ate at Syrens Bistro one night, and the patio was packed, and a little light on the staff. It felt like our waitress was all over the place and trying her best - but in the end our food took a long time to come out, and at that, it was dry and seemed over-cooked (perhaps because it was sitting waiting to come while our waitress tended to all her other tables?). Nevertheless, when we asked for a new chicken burger, it was no problem and a new one was brought out within a few minutes. It was a gorgeous setting and having the sun set behind us was just beautiful. The resort is well kept and looks amazing. As I've read on other reviews, there are a lot of young staff working there in the summer, but I didn't notice anything wrong with that - they were all polite and respectful to us. There is no room service per say, but if you called down to one of the restaurants to order something, I was told that they'd bring it to your room. Didn't get a chance to try any of the pools or hot tubs. It really is a secluded getaway that's perfect for couples to escape - and I would love to try the cottages one day too - those looked amazing!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room at the very end (310) - very nice, private and quiet with a gentle waterfall r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoetsCove, General Manager at Poets Cove Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about our ocean view rooms and activities. The hot steam cave experience can be a bit much for some on a hot summer day, were as in fall and winter it’s appreciated by all. I agree that pub service was a bit overwhelmed during Canada Day holidays which can result in service delays as you experienced. I hope our services will enhance your experience during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have been to this resort 3times now and we love it. It's like stepping back in time.
We always rent a cottage and the view is spectacular . The cottage was clean and completely up to date , as we had a 2year old with us we cooked on the grill each night. There was plenty of utensils and every thing we needed. We will return.

Room Tip: Rent a cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoetsCove, General Manager at Poets Cove Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
How wonderful, you just made our day! I will share your comments with our employees and pray for a sunny Canada day weekend on Pender Island so that others can enjoy outdoor patio barbeques as well!

Regards,
Walter Kohli
GM, Poets Cove Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Booked last minute. Peaceful and lovely view from lodge room. Comfy chairs on the balcony. I really liked the room well laid out- nice to have real tea cups, tea and a kettle. Can walk to some nearby hikes, separate adult pool appreciated. A hilight for us was we happened to be there for the faculty concert of the Pender Island Flute Retreat that Poets Cove hosts. What a great idea, such a treat. Bravo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jano12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Went for two days and was ready for a fantastic day in a secluded paradise, but that suddenly changed when we arrived. The previous post was spot on as the staff looked as if they had no idea about Pender Island and was uninterested in the guests. We arrived on the island at around noon and wanted to ask if we can check in early. Allie the front desk girl was kind enough radio housekeeping and one of the supervisors named Kelly came down to talk to her. This was when we felt uncomfortable, Kelly seemed to be upset that we wanted to change rooms. We felt we were causing trouble. Many people tend to changed rooms or get moved around, I hope they don't feel the same way we felt, or never witness what we saw.

We checked in 30 minutes later, the room was nice and cozy with an amazing view of the ocean, unfortunately not many amenities. For more than $300 a night we expected something more to do in the resort, but there was nothing much. There were two swimming pools, kayaks to rent, and a tennis court. We asked one of the bell staff what we could do (I forget his name). He seemed quite shy and new, but told us about disc golf, and that we could rent discs at the activities centre. Walking around Poets Cove I realize the staff are quite young, like the previous post said. Most of them seemed to be chatting among each other, I expected most of them just came for a summer job and to have fun, so the hotel lacked a professional and experienced atmosphere No one stopped and asked us how we were doing and introduce us to anything about the resort.

Other things at the resort were just alright. Dinner at Aurora was expensive, plates were super small. I wanted to feel full after dinner, but I needed more food. Unfortunately the resorts had no room service either, so we had to wait for breakfast to grab more food.

Poets cove is advertised as a 4.5 star resort, with 2 star service. It is beautiful on the outside, but damaged on the inside. I probably will not go back again, unless the service changes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prisicilla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoetsCove, General Manager at Poets Cove Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest
Although, your comments are very humbling, they are truly appreciated. I read your message to our entire management team and we will use your experience to escalate our resort’s staff training. Our employees are young, but keen to learn. Please be assured our service is getting ready for your next visit! Warm regards, Walter Kohli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
287 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Got off the BC Ferries boat and headed to Poets Cove immediately. On route there was one sign indicating Poets Cove and even when going along the water front to the entrance of the Resort its hidden to the right and one could easily drive by with out even noticing. Once we arrived there was signage as to where to park. We walked down a hill which felt like for a while and ended up where it said reception but looked like a back of a building.

When we got to reception we looked as though we were interrupting a personal conversation seeing as there were 2 girls sitting and 4 guys around them. When we asked to see a suite or room, we seemed to be asking for something abnormal and the one of two females radioed someone to show us a room, wouldn't the front desk person? The person taking us said it was his 1st day and he knew nothing, is this really the person you want showing to a room to help in the aid of a sale?

No explanation of the Resort or it's amenities were explained without myself having to ask. We were open to staying but for $199-$309 a night to start in a standard room and the service being such, we passed. Ironic thing too is when we were leaving a couple was asking us many questions also and said that they were given no info also and that it was a shame. We used the public restroom and it was clean and the decor nice, the rooms bedding was light pink which, I found odd? And the bathroom sink was beside the very small bath tub which you can clearly see from the bedroom and then the shower was in the same encloser as the toilet - ewww! The patio was very roomy and offered a great view.

We walked down to the public pool and it was over congested with kids, the hot tub and spa/adult pool had large pipes draining or cleaning items. We went in to the activities area/kids pool area because there was a sign that said activities and after waiting a good 7 minutes with no one there, we left. Walking back up the hill to our vehicle was torture seeing as everything is on a hill and I don't understand how the more expensive Villas are farthest away from the Resort? The view from the beach of the Resort and the round about at the bottom of the hill is quite lovely.

It's unfortunate that your Resort has a lot of potential but the staff are completely unknowledgeable and lack the care and concern for their guests or potential guests. Would I return, no. There are too many beautiful Resorts to go to that offer what this one lacks. A Resorts a Resort it's the care that is put into things that makes you want to stay or return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mahalia1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoetsCove, General Manager at Poets Cove Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Visitor

You are correct, directional signage on Pender Island are lacking. All highway signage is under the jurisdiction of Ministry Of Transport; thus the resort is not at liberty to add more visible directional signs from the ferry to Bedwell Harbour.

Poets Cove Resort is built on a horseshoe shaped hillside with strategically placed facilities to provide a stunning, unobstructed harbour view. For our guests’ convenience all levels, including the marina, ocean view spa and conference rooms are accessible by car or our complimentary resort golf cart service.

Our recent intakes of students on summer leave are enrolled in on-the-job training by experienced staff members. We apologize for lack of information you may have experienced during their first week on the job; I assure you that now they are fully knowledgeable and ready to provide outstanding guest experiences.
Our lodge rooms provide an ‘open concept bath’ experience with a romantic ocean view, and with off-white bedding. Families and children are much appreciated and welcome to our larger pool, whereas resort guests desiring a more private setting enjoy the upper pool and gym. I’m very happy that you enjoyed the stunning view and wish you a fun and wonderful holiday season.

Walter Kholi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a remarkable place! We came in by boat and were welcomed and given a beautiful room with a fireplace, wonderful deck and tremendous bath. You could sit in the bath and look at the ocean, and still be totally private. We had breakfast the next morning - food was good and I believe reasonably priced, particularly given the isolated location. I can't wait to return!

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pender Island
22.9 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,175 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Hastings House Country House Hot...
#1 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
234 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Mayne Island Resort
Mayne Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Mayne Island
317 reviews
16.0 mi away
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Central Saanich
698 reviews
9.9 mi away
Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
#1 of 11 in Galiano Island
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poets Cove Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poets Cove Resort & Spa

Property: Poets Cove Resort & Spa
Address: 9801 Spalding Rd, British Columbia V0N 2M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Pender Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pender Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Poets Cove Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poets Cove Resort & Spa is the Gulf Islands' premier luxury resort. Tucked away in Bedwell Harbour on Pender Island, there is a luxurious combination of 22 Lodge Rooms, 9 Villas and 15 Cottages. We offer a full-service 110-slip deep-moorage marina and a Canadian point of entry customs office for CanPass users. Our stunning Aurora Restaurant and casual Syrens Lounge serves the best local fresh ingredients and our activities range from exciting kayaking adventures to rejuvenating spa treatments in our award winning 'Susurrus' Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Poets Cove Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poets Cove Hotel Pender Island
Poets Cove Resort And Spa
Poets Cove Pender Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing