We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, but food not up to par”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Poets Cove Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pender Island
Bellingham, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Relaxing, but food not up to par”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Poets cove is a very nice little place, quiet and relaxing. The spa was very nice. The rooms and moorage were great. The restaurants were not very good. When a menu says Prime Rib Burger I would expect something better than you standard, but it wasn't. Menu was limited to Buffet at breafast due to wedding and Sea Ray Rondezvous and it was one of the worst $20 breakfasts ever. Great kayaking and some good hiking. Staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: The cottages either come with or without a hot tub, get one with. The views are partially blocked f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raarstol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    92
    47
    62
    39
See reviews for
100
182
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Poets Cove is the perfect get-away for a relaxing time. Situated on Bedwell Harbour, the views are spectacular and the scenery always changes. Amazing sunsets, nature in motion. Adventure lives here in natural surroundings. Inspiring and empowering. Friendly staff, our room was wonderful, clean, with a balcony that offered those beautiful vista's. Food is excellent as are the staff. If you come with your vehicle, one can drive around this Island, Pender Island, and discover amazing views around every corner, at view points. Highly recommend this Resort and Spa, depending on what you are looking for. What ever one is looking for, you will find it here. Rent a kayak, go on an adventure, swim in the pools, relax in hot tub.

Room Tip: Room # 307 is excellent. Great views and quiet. I am sure all rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Second time back and certainly won't be the last. An amazing place to just sit On your balcony and read and watch the Harbour. Very peaceful and secluded. Worst part is trying to figure out the ferry schedule to get back home.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arif_a786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This place is everything you expect for the $$$$ you will be paying and more! Lets see, two swimming pools ... one for kids and one for adults, two hot tubs, choice of three types of accomodations from stand-alone cottages, to condo-style lodges to hotel style suites, three restaurants (one small cafe, one pub style, one fancy eat). During low tide, you can walk along the beach to a little private beach and watch the boat show as the boats sail through and check in with the Canada Customs dock.

Now for the other side of the coin ... we pulled in on our boat and stayed a couple of nights on the dock in the boat. The dock is not really part of the resort but everyone thinks it is. The dock is in NICE condition. Very well kept, 30-50 amp power ... huge slips, tidy and well kept. Although if you are a small boat, it looks really hard to get into the dock esp. in low tide. That said, there are a lot of dock hands to help you. Anyways, we decided to leave the dock and spend a few nights in the resort just to spoil ourselves a bit. In a nutshell, the dock and lower swimming pool is BUSY and crowded. Although the dock is nice and wide there is a lot of people traffic. There are lots transient boaters like me with their families and dogs to resort guests taking on the boat show. The lower swimming pool quite large ... but there are locals using it, resort guests using it, and everyone on the dock with their kids using that lower pool. Its BUSY and CROWDED.

To end on a positive note, the staff were outstanding. I'm guessing Pender Island is mostly retired people as it seems most of the staff are young men and women in their 20's from Vancouver and abroad. There were people from Montreal, Toronto and even US working there. What a cool summer job for a young person! They are eager to please, exceptionally professional and courteous ... and very nice to talk to!

Despite a few drawbacks, I am definately coming back to this place. KICK [--]!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickey4264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Very romantic place! Everything closes at 9pm so be ready! Apart from that, the spa was sweeet and the location was perfect! The rooms are spacious with a private balcony. Everything looks new, too bad the bathrobes aren't for sale anymore, they were just so comfortable! I felt like Hugh Heffner!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RahKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My sister and I booked massages. The spa is lovely altho the hot tub wasn't working and the overall aspect was less than great. My massage was really nice. There aren't enough staff on the desk however and a lot of time is wasted waiting to be attended to. Need more staff at the counter.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dexter1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We have been flying in and out of this resort with customers for years, and every time we do a pick or drop off, the guests come out and you can tell they have enjoyed themselves. Only living a short hop away on Salt Spring Island, I had never stayed over on Poets until earlier this year.
Now I can review it properly, the setting (I already knew) is amazing, the restaurants are top notch, we stayed in one of the very well appointed lodge rooms with a very nice walk out deck, the staff are all very helpful and an interesting bunch as most of them are from far flung places. The pool is a little smaller than it looks from above, but we had fun in the water both days and if the trip had allowed more time I would have tried one of the kayak trips.

Room Tip: I only tried the room in the lodge, but the view is so amazing I know I would ask for a water view e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaltSpringSeaplanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pender Island
22.9 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,197 reviews
17.5 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
144 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Hastings House Country House Hot...
#1 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Mayne Island Resort
Mayne Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Mayne Island
319 reviews
16.0 mi away
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Central Saanich
707 reviews
10.2 mi away
Roche Harbor Resort
Roche Harbor Resort
#1 of 9 in Friday Harbor
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poets Cove Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poets Cove Resort & Spa

Property: Poets Cove Resort & Spa
Address: 9801 Spalding Rd, British Columbia V0N 2M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Pender Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pender Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Poets Cove Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poets Cove Resort & Spa is the Gulf Islands' premier luxury resort. Tucked away in Bedwell Harbour on Pender Island, there is a luxurious combination of 22 Lodge Rooms, 9 Villas and 15 Cottages. We offer a full-service 110-slip deep-moorage marina and a Canadian point of entry customs office for CanPass users. Our stunning Aurora Restaurant and casual Syrens Lounge serves the best local fresh ingredients and our activities range from exciting kayaking adventures to rejuvenating spa treatments in our award winning 'Susurrus' Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Poets Cove Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poets Cove Resort And Spa
Poets Cove Hotel Pender Island
Poets Cove Pender Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing