We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Poets Cove Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel(Sidney)(Great Value!)
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cedarwood Inn and Suites(Sidney)(Great Value!)
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seabreeze Inne(Salt Spring Island)
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roche Harbor Resort(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
$356
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$234
$227
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
480 results
Traveler rating
202
107
63
67
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
202
107
63
67
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubsteam cavepoets cove resortthe cottageshot tubthe main lodgewedding weekendoff seasonbedroom cottageget awaycoffee shopbeautiful settinglower pooltennis courtswasher dryeramazing viewsfull kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
335 - 340 of 480 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Poets Cove is a beautiful hotel and marina venue but thats where the beauty stops....We are boaters and use to spend a great deal of time at Poets as their dock service at one time was very good. Of late the service has become mediocre to poor both in the pub restaurant and dock service

Coming from Sidney Bc , we realize it takes the same amount of time to boat to Roche Harbour The service at Roche harbour marina and hotel etc is 110% Whether its meeting you at the dock to answering questions to the pub and resraurant food... Roche is perfection !! I encourage the management of Poets to spend time at Roche to experience the first class service they provide happily spend our time and money at Poets if you pull up your socks!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank letsgoboating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

My husband and I got married at Poets Cove at the end of June, 2011, and could not have been happier with the location we chose for our wedding. Poets Cove is a stunning and modern resort tucked away amidst trees on South Pender Island, BC, and every room provides a beautiful ocean view. If you are looking for a destination wedding in BC, I highly recommend this resort.

Our group was about 100 people strong, and most of our guests chose to stay at the resort in either a cottage, villa or lodge room. Everyone we have spoken to since the wedding has complimented us on our choice of venue, and particularly the excellent staff and service they received during their stay. From Bea, the resort’s amazing wedding coordinator, to all of the bellman, front desk staff and reception serving staff, we could not have asked for anything more for our wedding.

Everything was taken care of from the moment we arrived. The bellmen were charismatic and efficient, and everything we had described to Bea in advance about our vision for the weekend just seemed to fall into place. We didn’t have to do any coordinating or planning upon arrival, as all of our wishes had been passed along to the staff, and the things we had requested in advance seemed to happen seamlessly around us.

Poets Cove, and particularly Bea, also went the extra mile to make sure our wedding was as stress-free as possible. This included an unexpected emergency trip to a dry cleaner’s in Victoria when my wedding dress accidentally got covered in soot from a curtain rod in one of the cottages the day before the wedding. Bea went above and beyond to fix my dress, and personally escorted it to Victoria to be cleaned. I didn’t even know there had been a problem until after the weekend was over!

Although it would have been helpful to know about the soot problem in advance (don’t hang your dress from the curtain rods!) the point was that Poets Cove did everything in their power to make things right, and the result was that this incident did not impact our wedding day whatsoever. I feel confident saying that if you decide to get married at Poets Cove, the staff there will do everything they can to make sure your day goes as planned. Things are always going to come up unexpectedly, but it provides great peace of mind knowing that you will be taken care of regardless of what happens. Thank you so much, Bea!

We chose to have our ceremony at the resort’s “Executive Cottage” versus on the terrace, and we were really happy with this decision. This made the wedding ceremony feel private and casual (as it was on the grass), and we then moved to the terrace and Seaglass Ballroom for canapés, dinner and dancing. This worked out great for us, but I’m sure a wedding on the terrace would also be beautiful! You really can’t go wrong with a setting like this.

All in all, our wedding weekend at Poets Cove exceeded our expectations. My husband and I knew we would have a good time regardless, but it was the rave reviews from our guests that really drove home how terrific this resort is. They weren’t just giving us special treatment because we were the bride and groom- they made all of our guests feel welcome and well taken care of, which in my view is the mark of a truly world class resort. Thank you, Poets Cove, for everything! We have wonderful memories of our wedding that will last a lifetime. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeffy_1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We got married at Poets Cove in the first weekend in July, 2011. I cannot say enough about the resort, staff, amenities, location, and food. We began to plan our wedding in May of 2010, and have stayed at the location 4 times in total in the past year. Right from the beginning we were impressed by the great customer service, high food quality, and gorgeous accommodations at the resort.

We had approximately 65 people attend our wedding and our guests stayed at the marina, and in the villas, lodge rooms, and cottages. I have stayed in both the lodge rooms and the cottages, and have loved both. The staff at the resort were extremely helpful, from bringing up propane for the BBQ's, getting ice for our drinks, bringing laundry detergent, and driving us around on the golf carts. The staff also delivered welcome baskets to all of our guests. It was clear that the staff would do anything to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

Pedro was especially helpful during our stays. When I was there in November he actually gave us another tour of the resort and showed us around more villas and cottages. I was so pleased to see Pedro again and relieved that he would be around for the weekend of our wedding. I knew that if he was there, that our guests would have incredible service.

We were planning the wedding from our home in Vancouver, and were a bit concerned at the idea of planning a destination wedding from a few hours away. Our concerns quickly subsided working with Bea from the events team at Poets Cove. Bea was excellent, she returned phone calls and emails quickly and executed our wedding flawlessly.

Bea was so helpful, organized, and spent hours with us planning the weekend. I felt like Bea organized our wedding with as much thought and care as if she was planning her own wedding. Bea was extremely flexible and worked hard to do exactly what we wanted. She was somehow able to convince the kitchen to create food for our Friday night welcome reception that was not on any of their menus. This food served fit our vision for the friday night event and was excellent.

In dealing with vendors throughout the island, everyone said how fabulous Bea was, and that she would make our wedding amazing. Looking back I am so grateful that we had such a caring and dedicated individual helping us make our day incredible. In the days leading up to the wedding Bea worked extremely hard, she was always around to answer my last minutes questions.

We have eaten at least a dozen meals between Aurora and Syrens, and have always enjoyed the food. In addition, the resort catered both Friday and Saturday night meals for our guests and everyone loved the food. Our wedding photographer said that the food was excellent (he eats at many buffets) and said that the lighter meals from the Moorings Cafe were also great.

I had a massage and got my makeup done in the Spa and both were excellent.

We have spent many hours in the pool and hot tub. The resort, although breathtaking in the summer, is also lovely in the wintertime. The rooms have fireplaces in them, and we spent hours relaxing in the hot tub when it was raining one night during our November trip.

We are still hearing the raves from our guests about Poets Cove. We have a number of friends planning weddings and they wished that they had chosen Poets Cove as their venue. Other guests have told us that they will plan vacations there in the future and cannot wait to go back. People have continuously told us how beautiful the resort and accommodations are, and how excellent the food was. I cannot describe the high level of customer service at the resort, you must experience it to truly believe it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceh10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We just returned from a 2 night stay at Poets Cove. We had never been to the resort, but living close by in Victoria, we knew that it was considered a 'go to' place for rest and relaxation. Considering the time and effort to book ferries and organize our busy lives, we were both really looking forward to some time to recharge.

We booked with the 'Making It Poets Cove' package during Canada Day weekend. Even though it was a holiday weekend, the resort didn't seem full and we were able to book last minute spa treatments without problem. Our first day/night was lovely with spa treatments, walks, and warmer weather. The spa staff were great and very professional. We had dinner in the lower restaurant which had pub type food. Our server was sweet, but the food was average [no vegetarian options]. Most of the staff throughout the resort seemed seasonal and young.

It was this server who gave us the heads up on our second night. As we were eating out on the patio, a truck backed up in front of our table and instruments were pulled out. Our server informed us that not one, but two live bands would be playing on Saturday night. One at the restaurant and the other at the wedding that was being set up throughout the day. She then mentioned that the bar band would end at 11:00 [as per the rules], but she had heard that the wedding band would be playing until midnight or 1 in the morning! We couldn't believe it, but decided to give the resort the benefit of the doubt. Weddings are wonderful, but this one took up most of the grounds during the afternoon. Photographers, guests, chairs, trellises etc. blocked most of the lower grounds making it uncomfortable to feel that one could just wander around. The evening was fairly quiet but then the band STARTED playing at 10 The lower hotel is only 3 stories so imagine what it sounded like after 2 hours of loud music. We could feel the bass music throughout our room. Finally, we called at midnight and were told that the music would be shut down in 15 minutes.... it took another hour. Needless to say, we had a horrible sleep. When we arrived at the restaurant at 9:30 to have breakfast, we asked if we could sit out on the patio. We were told we could if we 'were out by 11 as it was reserved for a large party'. Even though we had no intention of being at breakfast for 2 hours, we felt hurried and that the server wasn't really focused on her job. When I asked how the breakfast parfait was, she answered that it was 'bitter' because it was just plain yoghurt. I ordered it anyways and it wasn't bad at all. The buffet on the other hand was awful. Very apparent that it was leftovers from the night before. When an omelet was requested for the chef to prepare, the chef yelled at another employee and asked him if he wanted to try making one. Everything was bland and status quo. Nothing on the menu celebrated our spectrum of BC flavours... especially considering all of the travellers arriving by boat/yacht from American waters.

We couldn't leave fast enough. When we went to check out, the front desk had already taken the night's stay from our bill. They had had many complaints. They apologized and said that the wedding party didn't care when they were repeatedly asked to shut the noise down. Apparently the event manager [who had planned it with the party] even asked them. We find it hard to believe that no one on staff knew that this was going to happen when a live band was booked. The facilities are NOT conducive to a late night party... unless the wedding party is willing to book all of the rooms.

If booking here during the summer, inquire about whether a wedding is happening during your stay. Ask if there will be a live band. Complain if there is noise. The resort should be responsible for this. Considering the time and expense for a quiet get-away to Pender Island, we could have chosen many more locales. If we had wanted to listen to loud music late into the night, we would have booked elsewhere.

ps... the hot tub was out of service and the only one useable was the spa hot tub [right in front of the wedding... obviously not an option for most of Saturday]

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank beachglass4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We spent 3 days at the resort and the time went by way to fast. It was a perfect getaway for relaxing and enjoying the beauty of British Columbia. Each room is an eloquent suite with a wonderful deck and view of the water. The spa was phenomenal from the perfect massage to a steam room built in a cave ending the experience with champagne and a Jacuzzi overlooking the marina. We had our meals at the resort as well, and I highly recommend it. The pasta, fish and meat dishes are all excellent with a fine wine list.

For the active person, the resort has a wonderful gym with 2 heated pools for swimming.

The service was the absolute best and added to the perfect experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonnaSchenck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews