We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Setting”
Review of The Cafe At Hope Bay - CLOSED

The Cafe At Hope Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $18
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Canadian, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Thank you everyone for 5 fantastic years! In fall of 2016 we sold the restaurant so we can focus our efforts on our food truck The Cafe At Large. We can be found during the summer season at Sea Star Estates Winery here on Pender Island. It has been such a privilege getting to know our regulars and meeting new people everyday. We look forward to hosting you at the winery shortly. We wish the new owners Phil and Sabrina the best of luck at our old location.
Port Coquitlam
Level Contributor
304 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The food here is excellent. The only small complaint I had was it took too long to get the meals.. However, in their defence,, it was extremely busy, and the poor servers were run off their feet. I'd go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Goldwingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    44
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Love the Cafe at Hope Bay”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

It's a small restaurant on the Bay, quite remote and quaint. It is built right over the water, on the boat dock at the bay. Service was great and the salmon and salad we had were great too. It is quite remote and I understand it has struggled with the ups and downs of business: I wish it loads of success: they deserve it!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GulfIslandsExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Still a great experience”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I wrote a glowing review for the Café at Hope Bay last year. Since that time, I've been back a few times (most recent visit last month) and I'm pleased to say that it is still an excellent restaurant in terms of food, service and ambience.

Last two times I've ordered the lamb shank with the port sauce, simply because it was so good the first time that I had to order it again. The meat is so tender that it just falls off the bone. It's difficult not to sit there and moan out loud, it's that good :) The roasted potatoes that accompany it are extremely good, but you can have quinoa instead, and it's very good too.

We finished with the chocolate mousse. Wow. The serving size is just right (it's a very rich dessert, after all) but yes, it leaves you wanting more-- but that wouldn't be good for me!

Almost all of the tables overlook the water, which is ever-changing and really beautiful and serene.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annette060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
“Your Taste Buds Will Salivate Before The 1st Bite!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is an awesome small restaurant right on the ocean. If you get in without a reservation, count yourself super lucky. The food is absolutely delicious. The water views are not too shabby, either!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank results99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Pender Island gem!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Make sure you include this great little cafe in your eating adventures on Pender Island! The food is creative and delicious and you get lots on your plate. Try the calamari!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank folkgirl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cafe At Hope Bay also viewed

Pender Island, British Columbia
Pender Island, British Columbia
 
Pender Island, British Columbia
Pender Island, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing