We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant Disappointing in every way”
Review of April Point Resort

April Point Resort
Reserve with OpenTable
April Point Resort is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
vancouver, bc
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Restaurant Disappointing in every way”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Came to this place for dining as described on the website..but the appetizers (2) and main we wanted were no longer offered. Waitress asked manager to come to our table..apparently they have been meaning to update the site but no one has done it yet....he would see what he could do for us and our request... but he never returned to our table. Clam chowder insipid and watery with 1 clam. Halibut well cooked but presented only with the same chopped veggies (frozen packaged?) as were thrown in the soup. Really a substandard meal in all ways. Too many corners cut, and a real chef is needed. Management should have some pride about what is served- someone should be responsible for the quality of food and presentation. Food was pricey as well... carpeted floor needed cleaning...sure won't be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chardonnaywine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine F, General Manager at April Point Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
I’m so disappointed and embarrassed to hear about your experience at April Point. I will speak to my staff immediately to get to the bottom of your complaints. Thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    43
    16
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canmore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice view but food not so great”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

the sushi was acceptable but some of the other food was less than par & over priced. There could be more on the menu too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Livia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine F, General Manager at April Point Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
I’m so sorry you didn’t enjoy your meal at April Point. We are constantly tweaking our menu and food to deliver the best experience possible to our guests and I hope you give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mixed business and pleasure”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Wonderful views. Worth the Ferry trip across from Campbell River. We had a cabin. O.K. but expected larger. Very quiet, peaceful.

Staff very pleasant and helpful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine F, General Manager at April Point Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thanks for visiting us. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed your time here and I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is so disappointing. The most beautiful setting such a lovely venue. Year after year we give this resort another try and every year it just gets worse. The service was horrid. Twenty people running around not knowing what the other is doing. Food arriving in all manner of disarray.
The manager did not have a clue. The sushi was mediocre. Really if Oak Bay Marine Group just paid a good wage and had some good management this could be an amazing place. We are done with April Point and Painter's Lodge! So embarrassing to have this in our beautiful back yard and be such a let down.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SandiHengel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine F, General Manager at April Point Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Your concerns have been addressed. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Service was sooooooo slow.”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

But the manager made it up to us with a full round of drinks and other extras! Gorgeous spot and decent food. Take advantage of their free 10 min. water shuttle over to their other resort, Painter's Lodge in Campbell River. We went and had a drink there first then back to April Point for dinner.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cathpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine F, General Manager at April Point Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
I’m sorry the service was not up to our standards. Your concerns have been addressed and I’m so glad we were able to make it up to you. Please come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed April Point Resort also viewed

Quadra Island, British Columbia
Quathiaski Cove, Quadra Island
 
Quadra Island, British Columbia
Quadra Island, British Columbia
 
Quathiaski Cove, Quadra Island
Quathiaski Cove, Quadra Island
 

Been to April Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing