We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish it was'nt so”
Review of Malahat Mountain Inn - CLOSED

Malahat Mountain Inn
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“I wish it was'nt so”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

They remodeled the place last year . Moved a deli bar in the middle of the room completely ruining the ambience of the historic building.
I have dined here numourous times as it is the closest place from my home .
It use to be very good to excellent food for fairly steep prices . However it was very busy for years and we use to drop in around once a month .
Now the prices are still steep and the food has dropped many notches . It does not appear to get busy like they use to .
I doubt I will ever be tempted back until someone else takes it over and puts it straight .
It now has no identity , is this a restaurant or a take out deli?
I like the owner and staff but they should be in the city , what we want out here is a truck stop with moderate prices and large portions.
The view is great for tourists but I live here so it is not worth their prices for the third rate food .

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rockit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    34
    11
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duncan
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“View, View, View”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This great little property has views to die for. Sit in the big soaker tub and relax while staring out at the ocean. Beds were very comfy and the little kitchenette was handy for snacks and drinks. Spend the money and stay here, its a very special treat!

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Doug”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Very rude and hostile server. She seemed to be at "management level". My wife even said to her "you make me feel unwelcome". I have never been treated so badly. We complained to the "boss".The location is great with a view from the outside deck overlooking the sea.

Helpful?
1 Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Upscale Dining in a Quaint Log Building.”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our meal here with the view of Finlayson Arm. I would suggest if you take in the Salmon Run at Goldstream Park, after you are finished with the walk, get in your car and just up the hill from there you can stop in and enjoy a great meal overlooking where you were. I realize there are better food establishments out there but this is such a quick trip from Victoria after visiting the park and a quiet place to sit back and relax. The food is good.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank FCFireConsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripletoes
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing west coast food!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Best food we have had in a long time - kale beet salad, lamb, salmon - all amazing. Can't wait to eat here again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tripletoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malahat Mountain Inn also viewed

 
Malahat, Vancouver Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing