We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“View, View, View”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Malahat Mountain Inn - CLOSED

Malahat Mountain Inn
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Duncan
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“View, View, View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

This great little property has views to die for. Sit in the big soaker tub and relax while staring out at the ocean. Beds were very comfy and the little kitchenette was handy for snacks and drinks. Spend the money and stay here, its a very special treat!

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    34
    10
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Doug”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Very rude and hostile server. She seemed to be at "management level". My wife even said to her "you make me feel unwelcome". I have never been treated so badly. We complained to the "boss".The location is great with a view from the outside deck overlooking the sea.

Helpful?
1 Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Upscale Dining in a Quaint Log Building.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our meal here with the view of Finlayson Arm. I would suggest if you take in the Salmon Run at Goldstream Park, after you are finished with the walk, get in your car and just up the hill from there you can stop in and enjoy a great meal overlooking where you were. I realize there are better food establishments out there but this is such a quick trip from Victoria after visiting the park and a quiet place to sit back and relax. The food is good.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank FCFireConsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripletoes
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing west coast food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Best food we have had in a long time - kale beet salad, lamb, salmon - all amazing. Can't wait to eat here again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tripletoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Fourteen of us enjoyed a fantastic lunch lat Saturday; our waitress was amazing, from topping up our water or coffee’s to clearing the plates soon after we finished. Everyone ordered something different, which was nice to see all the different items on the menu (except the pulled pork sandwich) the portions were a good size, no one had any complaints, the prices were what I’d pay at my local pub at home, without that view. I ordered the Roasted garlic & Brie appetizer (amazing) accompenied by a cup of the daily soup which was Currie and leech (very yummy). I would definably go again for lunch ~ This place was fast casual dining at its best with a spectacular view of the Saanich inlet. Oh, is burger and fries not a kid friendly item?? Maybe David went for dinner there ~

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whitesands13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malahat Mountain Inn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing