We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Overnight stay”
Review of The Rose and Crown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rose and Crown
Ranked #1 of 3 Thurstonland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

We arrived early but was shown to our room! We were made very welcome. The landlady phoned for us a taxi to our trip we had planned.
When we got back we were again welcomed and asked all about our trip.
The rooms are very comfortable with shampoo, shower gel and tea and coffee making facilities.
The pub has loads of real ales on, which I like to see in pubs. It was a nice quiet friendly/family pub.
The food here is the best thing. We both had scampi and chips, the chips are beautiful. I had a full English the next morning which again was made to perfection, not a bit of grease on it, and the sausage and bacon was quality.

Great stay all in all.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Gazhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 157 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

Warm welcome, wonderful food, comfy bed... What more can you ask for. Would definitely recommend this place and would definitely stay again. The friendliest place I've ever stayed. I had fish and chips for dinner... Beautiful. Was disappointed that I didn't have time for pudding.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We only had an evernight stay at the Rose and Crown but wished we had booked in for longer. Our room was all we could have hoped for. It was clean, well equipped and comfortable. The landlord, Richard was welcoming, friendly and accomodating. My wife and I spent an enjoyable couple of hours in the bar chatting to other travellers and the locals who were particularly friendly.
Sadly we did not have our dog with us as we had been to the Rugby League match at Huddersield but dogs are allowed in the bar and in the rooms. A hearty breakfast was enjoyed and we resolved to visit this little gem again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petermet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

quiet night away nice village pub good selection of cask ales great food best chips we have ever had great bar staff cosy room would we come back yes they even helped us start the car flat battery so thank you hope to come back soon

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3,573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We, literally stumbled into The Rose during a Yorkshire Post Walk and instantly adopted it as our "local" even though 12 miles or so from our own village! Roaring fire, real ales for every taste, great home cooked grub, friendly welcome from all staff, really comfy rooms, everything you want in a great eat, booze and snooze overnight! This, together with views and walks in outstanding Yorkshire countryside on the doorstep, make it a stop-over not to be missed!

Room Tip: No 2 overlooking front garden is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 99Philmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We spent one night here as a stopover between Cheshire and Yorkshire. We arrived about 7pm on Sunday night and shown our room by a very pleasant member of the bar staff. We were feeling very tired after a long day and were crestfallen to discover that the food service had finished at 6pm. We asked for a reccomendation of where to go at which the young lady said "I'll ask Richard, he may be able to make you a sandwich." The reply came back very promptly that he could make us either fish and chips or scampi and chips. This very kind offer was gratefully taken up and we had a delicious supper. We were so impressed that Richard was prepared to go to that trouble for us.
The pub itself has a friendly atmosphere and most of the customers were locals. The room was very quiet and although a little worn it was clean. The carpet could do with a shampoo and the bath sealant would benefit from some attention, but I am being a bit picky. I also had not noticed that there was a hairdryer in the corridor until we were leaving, as there was none in the room I did not wash my hair, but would have liked to.
Breakfast was well cooked, plentidul and served with a smile, the coffee was only instant as the machine was not working. This was excellent value for money and I would be more than happy to return and reccomend to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanChippenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Called into the Rose & Crown for lunch after reading a review published in a local magazine. This place is a little off the beaten track so it’s not really somewhere you’ll stumble across it’s more a place you’ve got to look for…
We arrived early so the place was quiet. It’s a typical English country pub with window boxes and hanging baskets galore. As you’d imagine the bar was well stocked and offered a large selection of cask beers, wines and spirits. The food was the typical selection of “pub grub” offering more or less something for everyone but quality and quantity were definitely above average. The only negative was cold plates… not a big deal but warm plates are always better with hot food.
The Rose & Crown also offer an over 60’s special from noon to 3:00 p.m. that includes a pint of any cask beer or medium house wine plus a main meal from the menu at a much reduced price so, if you qualify, keep an eye out for that.

Room Tip: Look for the specials boards dotted around the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Twobucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose and Crown

Address: 3 The Village, Thurstonland HD4 6XU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Thurstonland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Thurstonland
Price Range: $64 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Rose and Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing