We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ackroyd House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ackroyd House
Ranked #2 of 3 Thurstonland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bishop Auckland, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Just got back from our visit to Ackroyd House - Couldn't recommend it more! STUNNING location - views from the excellent room were phenomenal - very friendly - beautiful breakfast - very peaceful and relaxing!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
102
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed at Ackroyd House recently and found it to be the best B & B that we have ever stayed in. We booked the 'Valley View' room - an absolutely beautiful view of the valley and beyond and then had an additional night in the 'Stable' room which also had a lovely view of the garden and surrounds. Both rooms were first class with all necessary facilities. The breakfast menu was amazing - such a variety was available. Fresh local produce, Andrew's home made bread and Jayne's cooking were unbeatable. We sincerely recommend Ackroyd House to anyone looking for friendly perfection. Ackroyd House is absolutely first class in accommodation, location and hospitality.

Room Tip: Both rooms excellent but 'Valley View' room has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

We have stayed in many bed and breakfasts across the UK and this is surely the best. Comfortable accomodation, amazing breakfasts and customer service so good you quickly feel like one of the family. They should run courses for other proprietors!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

We have now stayed at this B&B 5 times as we just love it. We had the Stable Suit and our friends the Valley View Suit. Both rooms were immaculate and extremely comfortable. Each room has two armchairs and Memory foam beds, which are amazingly comfortable. The bed in the Stable Suit is also adjustable which was great for reading in bed.

Andrew and Jayne seem to have thought of everything including sherry in the rooms. We had great weather this time so were able to sit in the garden, which guests have full use of, and enjoy the stunning views. Jayne is flexible with breakfast times, so were able to say a time which suited us rather than fit into a timed slot which we have had to do when staying elsewhere. Breakfast is amazing with such a selection and cooked beautifully. Andrew’s homemade bread was also delicious.

The hospitality received from the hosts, Jayne and Andrew, is second to none as they cannot do enough for you and nothing is too much trouble. No wonder they have won so many awards for this B&B.

We will defiantly be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLA31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

We have stayed twice at this wonderful B & B and are hoping to book again soon to share this lovely place with some friends. Great hosts-friendly but not intrusive. It felt like home the first time and even better the second. Both rooms immaculate and the breakfast is great!! The location is amazing and nothing is too much trouble for Andrew & Jayne.

Tony & Jo Nottinghamshire

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebecca367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

We ended up staying here accidentally because where we were supposed to be staying for a wedding was full-so glad we did. Beautiful setting, fantastic hosts and gorgeous breakfast! Jayne and Andrew could not do enough for us, very enjoyable stay. Thank you

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

An exceptional location, great views, spacious rooms and a wonderful breakfast experience. Jayne (and house dog Snoops) were so welcoming. Such great value for money and we'd definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yellowwoollenarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurstonland
1.8 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
The Rose and Crown
The Rose and Crown
#1 of 3 in Thurstonland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton
1.8 mi away
The Woodman Inn
The Woodman Inn
#2 of 25 in Huddersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cliffe House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ackroyd House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ackroyd House

Property: Ackroyd House
Address: 13 Top of the Bank, Thurstonland HD4 6XZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Thurstonland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Thurstonland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Ackroyd House 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ackroyd House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing