We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Luxury”
Review of The Old Co-Op

The Old Co-Op
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thurstonland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Co-Op
Ranked #3 of 3 Thurstonland B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 8, 2013

In a small village just outside Holmfirth - ("Last of the Summer Wine" country) you will find a 5 * hidden gem. A beautifully kept immaculate B&B run by 2 professional, warm and welcoming owners. Everything has been thought of ,the rooms are warm and inviting and the setting is quiet and relaxing. I can't recommend this residence highly enough. Breakfast was delicious, home made using local produce, fresh fruit adn even smoothies to order! It's worth a visit and as the country side is so challenging a walk after such a tasty breakfast sets you up for the day! I'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebecca b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 23 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

In the last 5 years I stayed at The Old Co-Op many times.
Absolutely fabulous B&B. First class hospitality. Valda& Chris make you feel very welcome. The breakfast great every time - Chris makes the best scrambled eggs!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ETP2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

This is on of the best places I have ever stayed, it is absolutely perfect and Chris and Valda are fabulous people. Thank you so much for looking after us.

Paul and Sara, Normandy, France

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Would rate The Old Co-op as the best B&B we have ever stayed in. Chris and Valda are the perfect hosts. Attention to detail second to none. The room was delightful. Very comfortable bed. Lots of thoughtful extras. Even a torch in case of power cuts. Breakfast was a treat. Unforgettable. Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed here for a wedding and cannot fault it one bit, stunning views, perfect rooms, wonderful breakfast Chris and Valda are the perfect hosts, cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hookwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Chris and Valda were wonderful hosts, very helpful in suggesting places to visit and their recommendation for dinner was spot on.

We stayed in the en-suite room which was immaculate, with tastefully and unfussy decoration with lots of little extras, such as fresh fruit, touch lighting and crisp bedlinen.

Breakfast was a real feast, nothing was too much trouble and we would be happy to recommend The Old Coop to any of our friends who are looking for a luxury weekend away.

Room Tip: The en-suite room has lovely views from the back of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clancym123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We stayed at the Old Co-op when visiting Huddersfield for a local wedding. The hospitality, rooms and in particular the choice at breakfast were all first class.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onthecruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Co-Op? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Co-Op

Address: 96 The Village, Thurstonland HD4 6XF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Thurstonland
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Thurstonland
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing