We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Margaree Harbour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whale Cove Summer Village
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

These cabins are on the rustic side (have power and water) and could use some updating of fixtures and furniture, but they are very clean and comfortable. Every cabin is situated on a grassy hill with a lovely view of the grasslands and the ocean. The beach is pleasant, but would be safer if a road didn't have to be crossed. Our cabin was a 2 bedroom and it had ample room, privacy and storage for 4 adults. The screened in porch was very nice. The staff was friendly and helpful and We enjoyed our stay at the summer village and would certainly stay again. This would be an ideal location for a family reunion!

Room Tip: Ask for a front row cabin as it is closer to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WesRox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    9
    3
    8
See reviews for
19
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We love Whale Cove summer village, mostly for the awesome little beach right across the street that is pretty much private. It's a great swim and we ran down to it every day, sometimes more than once. Great for kids too.The units have everything you need, nice to be able to cook and save a few bucks. As others have mentioned, this is not the ritz, it hasn't been updated in years, but if you're like us you don't care about that. It's clean (other than the carpet is iffy but just wear your flip flops), the bed is comfortable and the view is wonderful. It's cozy and charming and we'll be coming back next year for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Maritimer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Don't succumb to first impressions. This place is completely charming. The office and housekeeping staff were fantastic. So friendly, fun and helpful. When I expressed some chagrin that there was no oven in my cottage I was invited to bake my brownies in the oven in the back room! Yes it is a bit run down but that's part of it's charm. The kitchen area of the cottage was pristine though and the place was clean. It was surprisingly quiet at night and of course the sunsets are spectacular on a clear night. The beach was delightful and the walks on the bluff spectacular. On the last day I was following small lobster in the crystal clear water. What's better than that??My daughter and I had a marvellous time there and would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zisster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kralendijk, Bonaire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We recently stayed in one of the 2 bedroom units.
We made Whale Cove our overnight spot while traveling the Cabot Trail.
The view was excellent and the sunset fabulous. After dark the screened in porch was perfect.
The cabin was clean and the beds were comfortable.
We self catered for dinner and breakfast the following morning...best to shop in either Cheticamp or Inverness prior to arriving. I will recommend this property again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoH2O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is my first review ever but I was compelled to warn others about how horrible this place is. We booked the Whale Cove Summer Village through a visitor center because they have an easy centralized booking system in Canada. Sadly, we had not done our homework and read previous reviews. The only positive is that the view is beautiful. Other than that, stay away from this place. The carpet was damaged, stained and smelled terribly. The sofa (one of the only places to sit) was ripped and looked as if it had come off the street. The bathroom was not clean at all with hair on the floor and in the drain. It looked as if there had been no housekeeping service at all. They claimed they had wifi but when we got there it was not working. The laundry room also had broken machines. We were not expecting a luxury accommodation but this was one of the worst experiences ever. You are better off sleeping on the side of the road.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 123grace123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed in a cabin in June of 2008, so this review is long overdue.

I was surprised at how critical some of the reviews were, and wanted
to contribute some thoughts.

I loved the cabins....they are hysterical...perfectly furnished with interiors
from the 1970s...they looked like a film set.

Our cabin was clean and tidy when we arrived, and we had everything we needed.
The accomadations are very dated, rustic and simple, but for us the location and
price were perfect. I'm not really sure what people expect, it is very inexpensive to
stay here, so I think the accomadations reflect the price.

It was abandoned when we were here, we basically were alone for the majority of our stay, and
liked it this way, very peaceful and calm.

The beach is amazing, and we spent our nights having campfires, all alone on the beach....in the mornings, the amazing view greeted us.

The staff answered our emails punctually before arrival, and answered any questions that we had, they were casual and kind in person....pretty much just left us to ourselves, which was fine.

I don't think I'd come back as there are private cottages available on the Island for approx. the same cost, or slightly more, which is what we've done since our visit.

Enjoy the ocean, and relax....it's a journey!

Room Tip: Some cottages only have neighbours on one side....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventure S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Diamond, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I don't write reviews, but i have to warn people away from this place! They should pay you to stay here! The owners obviously don't care at all about their property. Porch had no screen in one window so it was over run with bugs. The green carpet was filthy, and littered with black cricket carcasses after we left. Didn't want to sit on the couch. Spent the first night listening to bugs crawl on the bedroom wall and then fall. The bathtub liner was ripped. The laundromat had water all over the floor and towels left on the floor to try to sop up the water. I did a load of wash and then found out that none of the dryers worked. Had to hang my clothes all over that terrible little cabin. Paid way too much money for this place. We did however enjoy the beach and the sunsets, but I'm sure you can find better accommodations to do those things. Stay away!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Marion1526392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margaree Harbour
6.8 mi away
Margaree Riverview Inn
Margaree Riverview Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Forks
152 reviews
41.0 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
1.8 mi away
Duck Cove Inn
Duck Cove Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Harbour
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Margaree Harbour View Inn
Margaree Harbour View Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Harbour
13 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Yellow Sidecar B & B
The Yellow Sidecar B & B
#1 of 1 in Cap Le Moine
66 reviews
3.6 mi away
Salmon Pool Inn
Salmon Pool Inn
#2 of 5 in Margaree Harbour
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale Cove Summer Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale Cove Summer Village

Property: Whale Cove Summer Village
Address: 3166 Shore Rd, Margaree Harbour, Nova Scotia B0E 2B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Margaree Harbour
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Margaree Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where the coastal Ceilidh Trail meets the world famous Cabot Trail, this seaside village offers family cottages with a swimming beach and views of migrating whales and local lobster fishing boats off the rugged coastline. Stunning and affordable, Cape Breton is safe and perfect for the active no pretentious traveler. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whale Cove Summer Village Margaree Harbour, Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing