We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Supper at the pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waring House Restaurant & Inn

Waring House Restaurant & Inn
Ranked #16 of 72 Restaurants in Picton
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Canadian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Supper at the pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

The Waringhouse food was excellent and the price was very reasonable. We enjoyed the Shepard's pie.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank LETABA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    97
    48
    33
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
154 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Two restaurants, two ratings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

We visited both the Barley Room Pub and Amelia's Garden on separate nights.

First, the Barley Room Pub is a small restaurant with a public house atmosphere - live music and with a large bar to sit around. Pleasant and not exceptionally expensive. You can get pub food like shepherd's pie, but I opted for the intriguing "Daily Comfort Pie". It was only steak and kidney pie, but it was good. It was Friday night and the place was full. Service was not particularly fast, but that seems to be the norm in Picton.

Two nights later, we dined at the adjoining restaurant. Amelia's Garden's atmosphere is much more refined. Space for privacy and cozy tables for two tucked against the large windows facing the garden - probably very nice in the summer daytime. The menu was more upscale than the Barley Room, with matching prices, but it was a bit of a letdown. Our dinner was good, but unremarkable.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Montreal-Mathman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Our new place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

Our family of 5 ( including children) ate at the Inn's pub on Thanksgiving Sunday. We had never been here but very much enjoyed the atmosphere, selection, and pricing.
The food was good; not too memorable, but it is hard to critique as we mostly ordered pub style food and children's items.
I see that someone had a bad experience on this same date, but we never felt this - perhaps b/c we were early (5pm) before any rush?
We walked outside later and enjoyed seeing their gardens;
Now that we have discovered this Inn, my husband and I plan on booking a night away here in the future.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yesimallpacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing Dining Experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

We have been going to the Waring House over the last 10 years for special occasions, as we live close by. We have even recommended the establishment to others.
This past weekend we made reservations to stay overnight on 9 Oct 2011. We made these reservations on the Friday and at the same time made dinner reservations for 7:30p.m. on the Sunday night. We were looking forward to dinner and expected great things for a dining experience falling on the Thanksgiving Weekend. Just as a note, when we made the reservations we were told that ours was the last room and that was around noon on Friday.
So, when we arrived for dinner at 7:30 Sunday night(on time) it was complete chaos. The hostess for starters seemed to be really rattled and said she had just given our table to someone else. I think they were standing right there and had not been seated as yet so she proceeded to take us to our table which was on the upper level. The room was very,very warm (no A/C) and we asked if there was a cooler table below. She went away and left us standing by the table. When she returned and she said there would be another but it would be a few minutes. We asked what a few minutes was and she finally said probably about 20. So we said we would take the first table.
Then things even got worse. The server quickly rushed by with a basket of rolls but we had not been given a menu or asked what drinks we might want. We waited and waited and then finally about 20 minutes or more she came back and we said we did not have menus. She was frustrated and said the hostess should have given them to us when we were seated. She proceeded to give us menus but did not tell us the specials. Then after another wait she came back to get our drink orders and she told us then what the specials were. So to speed things up we ordered the Turkey dinner special at the same time. We assumed our drinks would come and we could just relax and get over this disaster. But it got worse. Our dinners arrived quite quickly, before our drinks. We spoke to the server and said this is all backwards. Where are our drinks? She said there was only one bartender on that evening for the whole Inn and Bar and further there were only 2 helpers/bus persons for the whole restaurant and there were very few servers. She was the only one in our whole room. It was getting worse. Our dinner was cold. So we asked to speak to the manager. He did not show but our plates were taken away and new plates arrived. By then we were not in the mood but we were very hungry so we proceeded to eat. It was not that good. I would have thought the kitchen staff/chef would have been ashamed to serve such mediocre food at a fine dining establishment. I even tried a roll at this point and the rolls were dry.
We ate a bit more and finally we asked why the manager had not come to see us as were told he would come and speak to us. He finally showed after this second prompting. My husband asked that they speak privately in the hall so not to disrupt the other diners. I believe that others in the room were not happy either given body language and the obvious long waits they had to endure.
My husband kept his cool when speaking to the Restaurant Manager as he went through our items of discontent . His response was that they did not expect so many people and had cut back staff. My thoughts were that it was known that the accommodation was full on Friday at noon for the Sunday night (a good sign that the restaurant would be busy), it was a holiday weekend, people also come to the restaurant from around the area and why not call extra staff in to work overtime or turn people away if the dining room was over capacity for the staff to handle. There were some slight modifications to our bill (not a lot). We have tried to contact the general manager/owner since coming home but have had no reply. It may be a very long time before we visit the Waring House again. They really let their guests down that night, not something we ever imagined for this place and its reputation. Shame on the Waring House! Something went terribly wrong that night and the Manager/owner needs to know so not to let guests down again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LHandJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best experience in years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Hard to believe but when I think about it this is the best resto exp I've had in years. The place rated five stars in many depts.Waitress was friendly, knowledgeable and caring. Menu was creative. Service was fast without scrimping on quality. Food itself had beautiful presentation, was piping hot, flavourful without being greasy & heavy. Even little things made a difference like staff telling customers how much they "really appreciated" them choosing Waring House as if this was a small obscure restaurant when in fact it was hugely experienced and had it all.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RestoRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waring House Restaurant & Inn also viewed

Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 
Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 

Been to Waring House Restaurant & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing