We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where is the fish ????”

Schooners' Fish & Chips
Ranked #36 of 74 Restaurants in Picton
Restaurant details
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Where is the fish ????”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We read other reviews and decided to try it. It was supposed to be great. Yes the fish is fresh but very greasy. The fish portion is very small for the price, it's the size of a woman's palm. A pile of fries was on the dish covering this small piece of fish. Cole slaw is not included. t
The clam chowder is very good, should of had 2 bowls of that instead of the pile of fries. For 2 people much to expensive for what you get. To top all it felt we bothered the waitress because she didn't bother giving us menus, it was another woman that came out of the kitchen and saw us sitting there that went to get menus for us. No smiles there, that's for sure. It could be because the AC was not working.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lafontaine1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    20
    7
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Picton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

If fish and chips are your thing, then this is as good as you get. I'm just not a big fan, but would go there again.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great place for fish & chips”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I really like Schooners. Their halibut & chips are delish. I love their coleslaw & the fact that you can just order a half order of fries. The servings are large so I never have room for their pie.

Helpful?
Thank luv2cruise2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“fish & chips”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

nice atmosphere and decor, great food, watching it made is nice, very friendly staff and owner

Helpful?
Thank king432002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Amazing fish and Chips”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

I travel to Picton at least once per year, and am always sure to stop here. This place has the best fish and chips I've tried in Eastern Canada, and I've tried quite a few. I usually get the Halibut and chips, but last time I had the Haddock and I think it was even better... will get that from now on.

This appears to be a family run establishment - the same person was cooking the fish as was there 3 years ago when we first visited. No doubt they've been doing it even longer than that. The table service is highly variable depending on who's working and how long they've been working - we've had fantastically attentive service twice, and the opposite of that two other times. If it's busy, you may have to wave someone down to be seated, and you pay at the cash - it's that type of casual place.

Needless to say, you don't come here for the service, but for the fantastic fish and chips. The batter is very light and crispy - almost melt in your mouth. The fish has always been very fresh and perfectly cooked - very moist. Fries to me are just old-fashioned style fries, but some of my friends have raved about them. They also make a very good "clam chowder", which is more of a seafood chowder - loaded with clumps of different kind of fish in addition to the clams.

I've tried many of the fine dining restaurants in PEC, yet this is the place I most look forward to visiting when I return the county.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JL99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooners' Fish & Chips also viewed

Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 
Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 
Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 

Been to Schooners' Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing