We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Portabella

Portabella
Ranked #2 of 72 Restaurants in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $23
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: portabella is a CASUAL restaurant in Picton. portabella offers everything from burgers to pickerel and pasta, portabella is not a fine dining restaurant but somewhere to get a good lunch or dinner at a reasonable price.
Picton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Always a high standard, and not very expensive. A consistently good selection.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    129
    31
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great find in Picton”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

This is a popular spot and deservedly so. Nice menu (so hard to decide because it all looked good). Very welcoming, attentive staff. I would like to go back to Picton for dinner at this restaurant. Very nice decor and welcoming feel as soon as you walk in. My husband and I were both very pleased with our lunch. Everything was very fresh.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank geegeeOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Spot”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I've been to Portabella in Picton twice now for lunch, and it has never failed to impress. Today, I had the daily omelette, which happened to be smoked salmon and spinach, along with a bowl of their daily soup. My friend had the market salad, and we shared a bottle of Sandbanks wine. Total bill about $85 with tip. The soup was a bit of a disappointment - creamed cabbage and split pea. I thought it needed something like a curry flavour to perk it up. My omelette was great, though too much (3 eggs), served with a nice salad. My friend had a lovely salad with fresh greens, lots of fruit and chicken. Service was wonderful and the ambience is great. Get a table by the window so you can see the world go by. I'll be back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoloCanadianGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

There is no place like Portabella for great food at good prices. We go often

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillsonburg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous ambiance ok food”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We loved the ambiance in the restaurant and the staff was very prompt, polite and helpful. I ordered the special of strip loin, they asked me how I would like it done and whether I wanted potato or rice. I ordered medium with potato. Got no potato and it was well done, almost burned. My husbands pasta dish was very good. I did not complain as we are on vacation and it just changes the tone of everything. The restaurant was recommended to us, so yes we were disappointed. i would not have even given a review except that the steak was almost burned and they served it anyway.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portabella also viewed

Picton, Prince Edward County
Wellington, Prince Edward County
 
Picton, Prince Edward County
 

Been to Portabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing