We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slow service could do better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn-Lake on the Mountain Restaurant

Inn-Lake on the Mountain Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 72 Restaurants in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Slow service could do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

The inn is in very nice surroundings well worth the drive. lovely views and great photo shoots.
The service at the inn was very slow and the drinks a tad overpriced. if you go over the road to the other café its owned by the same people so never tried it. if your eating here be prepared for a long wait

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    105
    48
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had eaten at the restaurant on at least three prior occasions, so were expecting the same excellent service and food. We were both disappointed. My wife had the pork tenderloin and was very impressed with the meal. We shared the three dip appetizer. She liked it, I was not so impressed. I had the grouper which was served with polenta and corn. I might be mistaken but they seem to have done a good job of imitating the flavour of canned corn. (fresh corn was still in season) I have had polenta before and enjoyed it, but was very disappointed with lack of both flavour and consistency. The fish was quite tasty. We decided to pass on dessert. Our main complaint was with the service. The appetizer came in a reasonable time, and while still eating it, our server came to the table and said "Oh I see you are still enjoying the dips". To me that was a sign that our meals were not far off. She returned and took away the empty plate and then we waited for what seemed like 15 minutes or more for the meal. I don't like to give bad review, but this was our anniversary dinner and we were hoping it would be as special as it has been in the past.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GasBayBye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
175 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Late Lunch after Wine Tasting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Good spot for a late lunch and food is okay. We were all hungry/tired from wine tasting. Dining room didn't have view of the lake but it was a grey day anways. Steak sandwiches good but it was really more like pub food. Staff were freindly and didnt seem slow like in other reviews but did seem to hang out amongst themselves (but it wasnt busy). On a sunny day, probably a great spot to sit and enjoy the scenery.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank smallhanded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Pleasant spot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stopped for a light bite and it was nice that there was no pressure for each of us to order a full meal. Although this is beside the Lake on the Mountain, you don't get much view when seated indoors.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average, all so average, and slow too”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Average food, slow service. The only thing that is outstanding is the view, and you can only enjoy that if you get a seat on their small terrace.

Word of caution: during my previous visit, the amount of my tip was adjusted upward on my credit card transaction. Kinda sleazy, as who going to go through the hassle of challenging a difference of 1 or 2 dollars?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MtlBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inn-Lake on the Mountain Restaurant also viewed

Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 
Picton, Prince Edward County
 
Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 

Been to Inn-Lake on the Mountain Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing