We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Portions But Nothing Special”

Gus's Family Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 71 Restaurants in Picton
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
toronto
Level Contributor
175 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good Portions But Nothing Special”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We love small family owned diners and prefer them over fancier places, especially for bfast. Having said that, there was nothing special here eventhough we had high hopes seeing all the family pictures on the wall etc. Ordered ham and eggs and hash browns-they were all ok. Service however was not great-in fact somewhat rude given we asked for mil for the coffee (vs cream) and needed water for some vitamin pills etc (we got a big sigh like we were bothering staff). Given food was just ok, won't return.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank smallhanded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    25
    29
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
474 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Only OK”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

While staying at The Queen's Inn in Picton, we went here for breakfast. There wasn't anything wrong with the food, but there wasn't anything really good about it either. I thought the prices were about $3.00 higher than other similar places I've eaten. My eggs were good and portions fine, but we sat in the dining room facing a day-glow sign telling us not to pay the waitress, and to make comments only to the kitchen. I was just left with a feeling that this place was named "Gus's" because ruled the place. When asked about substitutions for food sensitivities, we were told that our server would have to check. Our server was polite, and did a good job, but it was obvious she was not able to make any decisions.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Art H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great home cooking”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Had the turkey open face and the double chicken. Both were excellent.
There was a little mixup in the order due to a shift change but recovered from it.
Food was hot, fresh and abundant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveTravelandSports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Avoid, will not be returning”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Chicken on salad was undercooked and was bland. Salad portion was large but with iceberg lettuce served on a small bowl/plate so it was difficult to eat. Anything deep fried was good though. Service was ok, price was a bit high for what we had.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pricey”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I think that the prices are extremely high for the amount of food that you get. There hours are not very extensive and we have made arrangements to meet there a few times, to find out that it is not open. I think it may even be closed for a while in the winter as the doors were locked the last time we went.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vallartaparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gus's Family Restaurant also viewed

Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 
Picton, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 

Been to Gus's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing