We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place for a Weekend Getaway.....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Claramount Inn & Spa
Ranked #21 of 41 Picton B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 16, 2007

My husband surprised me for our anniversary with a weekend getaway, we stayed 2 nights at the Claramount Inn and we loved it. The Inn is beautiful and the room we stayed in (Suite 4) was spacious and nicely decorated. Included in our stay was dinner at the Inn's restaurant 2 breakfasts and a $25.00 gift certificate toward dinner at their sister property The Waring House. Dinner and breakfast at the Inn was very good. Usually when Inns include meals in their packages the selection is limited but at The Claramount the menu was extensive and at par with any fine dinning 5 star restaurant. The Waring House was also very good although my husband and I both preferred our dinner at the Claramount.
My only MINOR complaints about The Claramount Inn is on our last day we had to checkout early and miss breakfast my husband asked if we could get some sort of discount since we did pay for it as part of our package, the lady at the front desk said they could not discount us. The first night we were there I asked for an additional package of instant coffee for our in room coffee machine they failed to tell me I would be charged for it but when we went to checkout they added a $2.00 charge onto our bill. Considering they wouldn't credit us for our missed breakfast I think charging us for instant coffee was a bit petty.

Other than that our stay at The Claramount Inn was lovely and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chihuahuamamaof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
There are newer reviews for Claramount Inn & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 298 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2007

My husband and I recently celebrated his birthday and our wedding anniversary at the Claramount. It was divine!! We started our getaway with some spa treatments then spent two days eating very well and enjoying the plush comforts of our elegant suite. We stayed in suite #1 and enjoyed having access to our room from the veranda versus entering through the main doors.

In general, the Inn is fantastic but there are some quirks. The veranda is not private outside room #1 so other guests may, mistakenly, sit in your space. One evening, we found a couple of men smoking pipes on our veranda. this was a bit irksome for two reasons. First, they have their own private veranda if they are guests - why can't they use theirs? Second, the Inn has an extremely strict policy regarding smoking on the grounds and I was astonished that no one intervened as these two puffed away. The night previous, when we asked the manager for matches (for my husband to enjoy a birthday post-prandial cigar) we were told he would have to exit the grounds to smoke.

Other quirks - signs in the room state, "Yes, you *may* purchase a robe...." In other Inns, similar signs say something like, "Robes are available for purcahse..." A bit odd. Also, the pool remained covered the entire time we were there, despite the extremely high temperatures and making the pool area a bit stuffy.

The spa treatments were okay, not great. The staff are very friendly and sweet but were not experienced. Consequently, the prices seemed quite high. St. Anne's charges about the same amounts and the quality is far far better.

We had breakfast at the Inn and it was okay. The selection is standard and well-exectued but portions are a bit scanty. We dined at Harvest (across the street) and the Carriage House (Bloomfield) and highly recommend both.

We would definitely return but would opt not to stay in suite #1 and would probably forgo the spa treatments.

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank Chaosgirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2006

We spent this past weekend at the Claramount Inn & Spa and had a great time (despite the terrible weather). The staff were very friendly and helpful and the Inn is beautiful. We stayed in the Carriage House, which was quite nice. We had a very spacious sitting area and kitchen in the suite. We also enjoyed the many attractions in Prince Edward County such as the Sandbanks Provincial Park, wineries and many very good restaurants (including Claras at the Inn). We will definitely return to Picton and the Claramount!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JennieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2006

The Claramount continues to be a favorite for my girlfriend and I. The new pool is amazing and open year-round. The food was great at the restaurant. The rooms are among the nicest we've stayed in. There's absolutely no reason not to endorse staying at the Claramount.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jdotwdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2005

I visited the Claramount Inn & Spa with my partner in August 2005 and it was truly lovely. The decor is impeccable - a mixture of Bombay Company and antiques. The bathroom was to die for with a huge soaker tub, stand up shower, and separate lavatory.

We relaxed in luxury in our room, but we were very disappointed that the staff failed to inform us when we made our booking that the spa would be closed during our Sunday through Tuesday stay.

Dinner at the Claramount and the Waring House was lovely with very friendly servers (somewhat more experienced and professional at the Waring House).

The staff and atmosphere were very LGBT positive, although the concierge/desk staff were generally less attentive to clients than I would have wished.

Overall, I would highly recommend the Claramount - just be sure to enquire about the availability of spa services. Picton also leaves something to be desired if you are looking for quaint shops or cafes. It's a bit rough around the edges still.

7  Thank LesleyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gioggiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vincent69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.6 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
144 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Edwardian House Bed and Breakfast
5.4 mi away
Jackson's Falls Country Inn
8.6 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claramount Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claramount Inn & Spa

Address: 97 Bridge St, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range: $175 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claramount is a colonial revival mansion surrounded by lush gardens and lawn, on Picton Bay. Claramount Inn offers 7 suites in the main house, 3 suites in the Carriage House, Bayview Cottage and Harbourview Cabin (Seasonal Cabin). Clara's restaurant is located in the main mansion on the first floor with a stunning view of the Picton Bay. In the summer with seating on our patio overlooking the grounds and the bay. The spa features a variety of treatments from manicures, pedicures, facials, massage and a variety of water treatments in the vichy room. The Claramount Inn and spa also features an infrared sauna, outdoor hot tub and an indoor/outdoor heated salt-water pool with a retractable roof for the hot summer days. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Claramount Inn And Spa
Claramount Hotel Picton
Claramount Inn & Spa Picton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing