We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing trip with great food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Claramount Inn & Spa
Ranked #19 of 42 Picton B&B and Inns
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing trip with great food”
Reviewed November 23, 2009

Don't be fooled by the website photos - despite the old-lady furniture, this inn is a perfect mix of relaxing country and modern elegance. We stayed in Room 6, which is HUGE! The bathroom is wonderfully updated (hello towel warmer and soaker tub!) and it's very quiet.

Dinner was delicious. We came for the Countylicious package, and we were both impressed with the quality of the food and service (thanks for the great wine suggestions, Erin).

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slradcli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    96
    45
    32
    14
See reviews for
35
193
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

We had a very odd, and hopefully atypical stay at the Claramount. We have two small children and wanted them to have a separate room so we were told, on booking, that the neighboring cottage would meet our needs. It would appear that the Claramount has purchased the neighboring bungalow and is renting it out as hotel accomodation. It was like staying in an elderly aunt's home, complete with ancient old floral couches and Royal Doulton figurines. The place smelled stale and clearly had not been rennovated. There were broken blinds on the windows and mildew around the ancient tiles in the bathroom. For what we paid it certainly lacked glamour. The service also fell flat. No one bothered to ask when we checked out whether we had a pleasant stay or how the room was--I would have had some comments for them had they asked.

I continue to love Harvest restaurant, which is just a short walk from the Inn. Its proximity is probably the best thing the Claramount has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Torontotraveller39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2009

When our car pulled up outside the Claramount Inn, my jaw dropped. It looks even more beautiful and elegant in real life than it does in the website photos. I would have happily taken our room (Suite 1) home with us if I could! It was simply stunning.

The Claramount isn't a slick, modern hotel/spa. It retains a great deal of the charm of its bygone days. Staying there feels almost like staying in a stately home. In fact, our suite was probably a little larger than the downstairs of our own house! The furnishings were antique, and very much in keeping with the ambiance of the place.

As befits a spa establishment, there was a sense of tranquility and peacefulness. In fact, I don't think I've ever felt so relaxed as I did, sitting on our large wrap-around veranda after experiencing an hour of blissful massage.

I would recommend that you book any treatments well in advance, especially on a weekend. I was lucky enough to be able to fit in a full body massage. The masseur was wonderful - very knowledgeable (even about my reasonably uncommon type of spinal arthritis). She greatly eased the tension in my neck and shoulders, and gave me advice on how to help my spine retain its natural position.

There is also a covered heated saltwater pool, which we could see from our veranda, but we didn't have time to try this out, unfortunately.

We didn't eat at the restaurant - although we've heard very good things about it. Picton is a fabulous place for foodies. We had some wonderful meals at the Waring House, Milford Bistro and Harvest Restaurant (which is just across the road from the Claramount). If you want to take a picnic, then definitely try Pinch on Main Street - with friendly staff, great food and the most fabulous chocolate cake you can possibly imagine.

A wonderful place to stay for a romantic weekend or a pampering experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tasmanian-wolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONTREAL
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2009

WE really enjoyed our room no. 7. The bed was first class and the plumbing and bathroom are of exceptional quality.Our candlelight supper was great together with excellant local wines.
A top quality, and a prime example of a great achievement in a restoration of a historical building.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MBMTRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2009

My husband and I like peace and quiet when we're on vacation. From the Claramount's website, we thought that's what we were signing up for. We even called the inn prior to booking to ask whether the walls/floors were thick enough to keep each room quiet. We were assured that we wouldn't hear anything, so we went ahead and booked.

As soon as we stepped into our room (which was nicely furnished), we could clearly -- and loudly -- hear footsteps from the people in the room above us. They weren't running or stomping; the building was just old and every footstep was very audible. I'm surprised and disappointed that the innkeeper wasn't upfront with us about this, especially since we specifically asked about it before booking.

We asked to switch rooms and were told that nothing was available at the main house, but we could pay extra to stay at a cottage on the property. Even though the cottage was tiny (much smaller than our original room and not as nicely furnished), at least it was off by itself and therefore quiet -- so we went for it. But we felt we should not have been asked to pay extra for the convenience of having peace and quiet on our vacation.

In all, we were disappointed by our experience because we felt misled. Then we had to pay extra for alternate accommodations that were not up to par. Based on this, I would not recommend the Claramount to others.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank NewYorkLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

The outside of this venue is gorgeous. The inside room was very well done (though because of the antique furniture not so comfortable to relax). The beds were very comfortable though and the baths were very spacious. There is a salt water pool, but they teach water classes there every morning, so we did not get to use it. We had to check out after only one night because of a family emergency and they were very understanding about the fact that we had to leave early and cancel our spa appointments.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwall1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north bay
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2009

I took my wife on a 2 day get away during the week. This is the first time we stayed at the Claramount but it wil not be our last. We are very familair with Picton and area and always enjoying coming back. We stayed in the Carriage House, our room was wonderful and the bed was to die for.

If I have one suggestion, the outside of the Carraige House and its decks could use some paint and cleaned up.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrbugman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.7 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
404 reviews
0.4 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
104 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#2 of 12 in Wellington
101 reviews
8.6 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
437 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claramount Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claramount Inn & Spa

Property: Claramount Inn & Spa
Address: 97 Bridge St, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claramount is a colonial revival mansion surrounded by lush gardens and lawn, on Picton Bay. Claramount Inn offers 7 suites in the main house, 3 suites in the Carriage House, Bayview Cottage and Harbourview Cabin (Seasonal Cabin). Clara's restaurant is located in the main mansion on the first floor with a stunning view of the Picton Bay. In the summer with seating on our patio overlooking the grounds and the bay. The spa features a variety of treatments from manicures, pedicures, facials, massage and a variety of water treatments in the vichy room. The Claramount Inn and spa also features an infrared sauna, outdoor hot tub and an indoor/outdoor heated salt-water pool with a retractable roof for the hot summer days. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Claramount Hotel Picton
Claramount Inn And Spa
Claramount Inn & Spa Picton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing