We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming but run-down and less than professional service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Claramount Inn & Spa
Ranked #19 of 42 Picton B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming but run-down and less than professional service”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is a place of extremes. It is a gorgeous property; the rooms themselves are lovely with amazing period furniture, and the breakfast was extremely well prepared and tasty with a lovely dining room, but the building itself is in a horrendous state of disrepair. The front door handle at the main entrance to the Inn kept falling off. My foot almost went through the flooring on the porch of suite 4; the yellow paint is flaking off the house; the whirlpool was covered, and the person who worked at the front desk and also managed the dining room spoke hurriedly, was abrupt, interrupted her staff in mid-sentence, and almost barked several instructions to us throughout our stay. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, but were left with the impression that the owners were barely hanging on an aging property that maybe should be turned into a museum sometime soon?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BEAT2TRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    96
    45
    32
    14
See reviews for
35
193
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We enjoyed staying at the Inn where we had a large comfortable room, good dinner, with good service.

However when we wanted to go for a swim the following morning we discovered that there were aquafit classes from 9 to 11, preventing us from using the pool. There were no notices posted anywhere. When we complained to the receptionist we were told that the pool and spa were separately owned from the hotel. We thought that this was a ludicrous explanation and left us with a bad taste. What a shame that we were not forewarned about the limited use of the pool -
which would have been very nice on a very hot day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank financial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Yes, the facility is old. Yes, it is a 10 minute walk from downtown. Yes, it's pricey. Ok, get over it. Great, I mean great, facility. We were on the third floor - not for the weak of knees. New chef from a good, failed restaurant in town has done an excellent job. Lunch on the verandah - Thai chicken salad, no less. In Picton. I'm just sayin'. Yoga on the lawn in the afternoon - ask for Julie! Salt warm swimming pool. Nice hot tub. Wonderful suite. Great omelette, with modern efficient service. Superb dinner of venison and Muscovy duck. This is still Picton, really. Server hugged us as we left. Don't get THAT service in Toronto. Left your key in the room? No worries, mate. After hours? No sweat.

We will return. yay!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great getaway and charming ambiance. Salt water pool and spa make this historic house a wonderful place to get away from it all. The spa is down below and
The rooms are well appointed and the dining room cheerily decorated.
The dinner menu is limited but with enough variety for choice. Breakfast is simple, and breakfast plating could use a rethink.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamPowered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Spent a lovely two days at this Inn with my best friend. The room was spacious and comfortable and the grounds and pool were pleasant. The included meals were very good as well. What stood out for me however was how friendly and charming the staff are! From the front desk to the waitstaff and spa technicians, everyone was friendly and welcomimg. I also had one of the best pedicures ever from Erin who was a true gem! She really had a great combination of professionalism and healing touch that made me feel pampered and comfortable - so much so that I asked to be fit into her busy schedule the next morning for a massage. Although she has not yet completed her massage therapy training, once again her technique was exceptional. You know how healing and relaxing a treatment can be when someone really puts themselves into their work - half hour relaxation massage did wonders! Thanks Erin and good luck in your massage therapy course this fall - you will get all A's, I'm sure!!

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the main floor - you have access to the wrap around porch which is lovely for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoMiddleAgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic two day stay at the Claramount Inn and Spa in Picton , Ontario. We had a beautiful suite on the first floor with a private balcony overlooking the pool and gardens.The meals were excellent and the service was first class. Prime location near Picton Bay and local wineries. Suggest Picton Golf and Country Club which is nearby for reasonable and enjoyable golf. We look forward to returning to Claramount soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 85Don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed in 'suite one' at this awesome bed & breakfast while in town visiting with family. The room was absolutely incredible. Suite One is a large room with a queen sized bed, plenty of storage, and a sitting area. It was quite comfortable for two people.

The bathtub is this room is also huge! We both easily fit in the deep tub with room to spare. We had breakfast in the dining room both mornings. The menu is a bit limited and a little repetitive, but we had good meals both days.

The only negative is that the bed in this room faces east. This is unfortunate because there are beautiful windows all across the front (also east) of the house. As a result, the bed gets real bright real early. The upper decorative window is the culprit, and there is no shade. So, get your mind right with it, 'cause you are getting up with the chickens.

Overall, a wonderful stay. We will stay here again the next time we are in town. Look forward to trying some the other suites. Bring your swim trunks year round, they have an indoor saltwater pool that is a must try.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherLvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.7 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
404 reviews
0.4 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
104 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#2 of 12 in Wellington
101 reviews
8.6 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
437 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claramount Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claramount Inn & Spa

Property: Claramount Inn & Spa
Address: 97 Bridge St, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claramount is a colonial revival mansion surrounded by lush gardens and lawn, on Picton Bay. Claramount Inn offers 7 suites in the main house, 3 suites in the Carriage House, Bayview Cottage and Harbourview Cabin (Seasonal Cabin). Clara's restaurant is located in the main mansion on the first floor with a stunning view of the Picton Bay. In the summer with seating on our patio overlooking the grounds and the bay. The spa features a variety of treatments from manicures, pedicures, facials, massage and a variety of water treatments in the vichy room. The Claramount Inn and spa also features an infrared sauna, outdoor hot tub and an indoor/outdoor heated salt-water pool with a retractable roof for the hot summer days. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Claramount Hotel Picton
Claramount Inn And Spa
Claramount Inn & Spa Picton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing