We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice layover”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Claramount Inn & Spa
Ranked #22 of 41 Picton B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I spent the first night of our honeymoon here, while we were travelling through. The staff were courteous in the evening, during the day they were a little stiff.
We enjoyed a three course dinner that was delicious. The spa staff was incredibly nice,
Our room was huge (#4) which included a huge soak tub! Which was lucky for us since the pool heater was broken when we visited. The room was equipped with a towel heater, a gas fireplace, a verandah and a king size bed. Very cozy atmosphere and an incredibly comfy bed.
We went in the early winter (Nov), I would come back to be able to see what this place is like in the summer.
The hallways are equipped with little games/decks of cards and a ton of books. a lovely seating area to enjoy these things as well.

Room Tip: ask for a top room (#4) is in the middle and we could hear the people upstairs the whole night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sassy2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 300 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Inn. Everyone was courteous and welcoming. We had a beautiful room, a lovely dinner and a good breakfast. The spa staff were very friendly. We also appreciated the decor and furnishings of the Inn. We would love to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Where to start...we stayed in the main building, the room was extremely spacious, comfy bed, however the decor needs some serious updating...feels very 80's and lacks attention to details, curtains and slipcovers were obviously washed and shrunk, lacks some basic maintenance in the bathroom, overall rather tired, but has potential if some thought and $$ were invested.
Restaurant - completely inconsistent, while the staff tried really hard to provide good service, some basic things were left unattended, empty water glassed, over 6 glasses (mostly empty,not needed) were left on the table even after our waitress went by several times, clearing of plates was also really slow. For our meals we had appetizers, mains, & dessert...appetizer were tasty enough and average, housemade bread was wonderful, my main was lack-luster, and my husbands (mushroom ravioli) was OUTSTANDING, dessert was frankly inedible (couldn't take more than two bites), and expresso machine was broken down. At breakfast, egg benny with bacon was the best I have ever had, really incredible, the rest of the meal average. Overall Claramont needs some serious management/ownership attention to really live up to it's potential. It feels neglected and sub-par. Would go back for eggs benny, but nothing else.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sgc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately, the Claramount has a dirty secret... quite literally dirty. The Carriage House rooms, which go for only $25 less a night than the nicer main house suites which are prominently featured on the website, are not at all up to an Ontario's Finest Inns standard. The carpets are stained and filthy, and the room so unimpressive that it is aggravating to have paid $175 a night for the experience. While the grounds of the inn are beautiful, sadly the owner doesn't appear to care about guests having a positive experience; giving feedback is met with silence - never a good sign. Combine that with a lackluster restaurant and a complete lack of upkeep as far as their supposedly 'luxurious' image goes, and it is clear why there are many other smaller Picton accommodations that receive consistently better reviews. We realize now we should have checked TripAdvisor first. So sad, had such high expectations for this property.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank NorthernStarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norah R, Public Relations Manager at Claramount Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

We’re sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy yourself during your recent stay at Claramount Inn. We understand that you were about the condition of the carpet during your stay. We had, it seems, a breakdown in communication in which the management wasn’t informed of the state of the carpet and guests were given the room when it was in no proper shape to be rented. We don’t offer this as an excuse, but as an explanation of what happened. When we become aware of a shortcoming, we always seek to do better. We’ve put procedures in place to make sure this sort of thing doesn’t happen again. The carpets were cleaned as soon as we became aware of the extent of the problem.
We go to great lengths to make sure our customers who book rooms in the Carriage House are aware that these rooms are not as elegant as the rooms in the main house. We do believe that these rooms still offer a great value, particularly because they offer guests more seclusion while still giving them access to the facilities on the grounds, like our spa, pool, sauna and Clara’s dining room.
You may also be interested to know what we’ve refurbished the suites in the Carriage House to fit more in line with the quality one can expect from a suite in the main house. We’ve posted photos of the suite in question, suite 8, on our website at http://claramountinn.com/suite--photo-p18.php
Thank you for your feedback. We hope our response will insure a better experience for our customers in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just back from a weekend stay at this wonderfull Inn, What can i say about the Claramount apart from it being a solid 5 !!! From the first view outside of this magnificant turn of the century building ..... it simply looks so inviting !!! As we walked into the hotel, I felt both welcomed at a sense of being at home. The staff was very inviting and friendly. We were shown to our suite (#5) and it was simply amazing. Furnished with Victorain style and taste, the suite was everything I expected ... and my wife was immediately taken in !! We had dinner in the formal dining room and it did not dissappoint. Accompanied by a good winelist, the food was oustanding ! The service was very good and friendly, the food presentation was worthy of a 5* rating ... I had beef served up medium rare .... and it was simply exquisite ! All in all, if you are travelling in PEC and want to spend a romantic evening / weekend with your spouse, I would highly recommend this location. Our weekend stay was a surprise for my wife and she was thoroughly charmed by the entire visit. Thank you Claramaount Inn staff for making our weekend a special one !

Room Tip: Suite #5 has a seperate staircase and is simply lovely. It takes up the complete back side of the I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Denys_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed here with my wife in Aug 2012 for our anniversary.
We stayed in lodge 10 which from what I gather is the lower end room(only vacant room at the time). The room is big, basic and very cozy. It was actually perfect for what we needed.
The staff was very pleasant and helpful. My wife is celiac(allergic to gluten) and the hotel restaurant was extremely attentive to her needs for every meal! They even brought out a gluten free bread basket at dinner! The food was excellent too! Breakfast and dinner.

We used the spa facility for a massage. While the masseuse were very good, the ambiance was horrible! You could hear everything happening outside the room and they don't play any relaxing music to create a relaxing atmosphere or to even drown out the outside noise. I'm not sure why.

Other things we did around town:
Main street - 15min walk away from the hotel. Very nice street and some good stores to pick up local goods.

Waupoos winery - beautiful estate. Worth the visit!

Lake on the Mountain - definitely worth the drive to. I'm not sure what's more impressive. The actual lake on the mountain or the scenery overlooking Lake Ontario! We stopped by the lake on the mountain inn restaurant patio for lunch. Worth the visit as well!

And of course, what drew as to Picton to begin with, the sandy beach!
For the 2 hrs of nice weather we had, the beach was awesome! Nice white sand. Verrryyyy expansive beach. Plenty of room! The water stays shalow for so long! Very kid friendly.

There seems to be so much more to do in this town, we can't wait to go back. Highly recommended for a weekend getaway!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Spent the last part of Thanksgiving weekend at the Claramount. It is a beautiful property and I look forward to staying in the summer. I boat in the area and you pass it while coming into the marina. Great history and the rooms have been kept with the original respect for the property in mind. The service...not so great...but it was Thanksgiving and as I'm use to larger places, therefore I don't know if that's normal or not.

I'll stay there again if only for the love of the spa and restaurant. The place has it all when the weather isn't all that wonderful and you don't want to venture out. The food is fabulous and the spa is relaxing. Wish there were mini fridges in the rooms as we had to put our refreshments on the balcony to keep cool. For the price to stay that was bizarre...this is rather expensive for the area.

Because of the hot and cold thoughts I can only rate it average. Some parts were fabulous and others not. However, I will stay there again and see if it was just an off time to stay or not...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loveboats2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.6 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
156 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
483 reviews
5.4 mi away
Jackson's Falls Country Inn
0.3 mi away
The Edwardian House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claramount Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claramount Inn & Spa

Address: 97 Bridge St, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range: $175 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claramount is a colonial revival mansion surrounded by lush gardens and lawn, on Picton Bay. Claramount Inn offers 7 suites in the main house, 3 suites in the Carriage House, Bayview Cottage and Harbourview Cabin (Seasonal Cabin). Clara's restaurant is located in the main mansion on the first floor with a stunning view of the Picton Bay. In the summer with seating on our patio overlooking the grounds and the bay. The spa features a variety of treatments from manicures, pedicures, facials, massage and a variety of water treatments in the vichy room. The Claramount Inn and spa also features an infrared sauna, outdoor hot tub and an indoor/outdoor heated salt-water pool with a retractable roof for the hot summer days. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Claramount Inn And Spa
Claramount Hotel Picton
Claramount Inn & Spa Picton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing