We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay was purrrrrfect!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 41 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2009

Hey Irene and Bill. I finally had some time to write about your lovely home, hospitality, and welcoming smiles. Everything was enjoyable and we will return. Hope all is well and have a great summer.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KitKatBrockville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 249 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2009

Like the title says, this is not a grand old Victorian home. Infact, it is a very modern home. It reminded me more of going to my aunt's house in a small town. Very beautiful views of Picton harbour.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bubbalink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

I sourced out this B&B from a Canadian B&B Website bbcanada.com and was very pleased when another Inn in Picton also recommended it. Needless to say I was not disappointed, Irene and Bill are fabulous hosts and take care of your every need, and they sure aim to please. I took the smaller and cosier Loon room with an ensuite bathroom; it was perfect for the weekend since I was travelling alone. The bed was very comfortable and the rooms are spotless, Irene takes care of the finer details by ensuring a chilled water container is filled in your room after a busy day and that you dine at the best restaurants in the area. The breakfasts were excellent with homemade muffins, french toast, fresh fruit, jams and frittatas. I highly recommend a visit to the Duck and Loon if ever in Prince Edward County, it is minutes from downtown Picton and across the street from a great bistro named Blumen.

Sherry the Newfie in Victoria, BC

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theadventurers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2007

My husband and I spent 3 nights at this lovely waterfront home. It's spotlessly clean and very well appointed. But best of all, we found the help from our hostess, Irene, invaluable in identifying opportunities we would otherwise have missed. She also made all the related reservations for us - including requesting the best restaurant table location! Highlights were a wine tour, Pebble Beach, Sandbanks Provincial Park and Lake on the Mountain. There is an excellent restaurant with a beautiful patio at the adjacent Lake on the Mountain Resort.
We would highly recommend this B&B, particularly for first time visitors to the area.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2006

Picton is a lovely, peaceful area, and we were fortunate to have stayed at the wonderful Duck & Loon B&B. Irene and Bill treated us as if we were family, and the house was clean, cozy and located right above the scenic Picton River. Breakfasts were delicious, generous and convivial. The location is within easy access to Picton's many attractions, and we had a fabulous time. I would heartily recommend this place to anyone looking to relax and enjoy the warm company and lovely surroundings of Picton. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: July 2003, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Yodelmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2006

Hosts were very good in helping us get around, with lots of info about local restaurants etc

Rooms have A/C - which was needed during our stay as it was very hot weather.

Room had good views over the water, together with a deck area for guests to use that also looked out over the water.

Breakfast was traditional Canadian - which may not be to everyone's taste.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jetmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2005

My girlfriend and I just finished a 3-day stay at the Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast in Picton and we were completely satisfied and impressed. With over 100 B&Bs in Prince Edward County to choose from, it was an overwhelming decision - but we got lucky and found the best one!

How can I describe the Duck and Loon? In “Hollywood Concept” Terms: Extreme Home Makeover meets Country Living Magazine meets Martha Stewart. Irene and Bill Dobinson have transformed their residence into a B&B straight out of the pages of a magazine with quaint country wallpapers & borders; antique style furniture; decorative knickknacks and trimmings. It is kept in immaculate, spotless condition.

We stayed in the Bayview Room. It had a large comfortable bed, an en-suite washroom (3 piece: shower, toilet and sink) and satellite TV. Our window looked out over Picton Bay. Guests also had access to the dining room and a common living room with its couches, easy chairs, satellite TV and a fireplace.

Breakfast at the Duck and Loon is a treat. The selections vary from day to day, but generally, breakfast is laid out formally on the dining room table. Breakfast included fresh fruit (bowl or plate), carafes of tea and coffee, a warm muffin and a different entree (like French Toast) each day. Our ever-attentive hostess Irene was diligent to ensure the carafes were filled and our meal was enjoyable.


We only had 2 small issues during our stay:
1. The roadside sign was very professional, but a little small – it was easy to miss.
2. The electrical switch-plates were all covered in wallpaper that matched the walls. That makes the switches unobtrusive, but it took us 2 days to find the bathroom fan switch!
These small things in no way interfere with a superior B&B breakfast experience (unless you miss the sign and end up staying somewhere else that isn’t half as nice).


-----

13  Thank andy_in_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
1.2 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
156 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
452 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#3 of 13 in Wellington
118 reviews
6.4 mi away
Jackson's Falls Country Inn
1.5 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast

Address: 630 Highway 49, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Duck And Loon Bed And Breakfast Picton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing