We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home away from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 43 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We spent a couple of days with friends from Toronto at this modern and charming B&B. The view from the deck of the house overlooking Picton Bay is beautiful. The first day in the late afternoon I caught sight of an osprey gliding over the water. The hosts Bill and Irene were gracious and very accomodating. Breakfasts were excellent served in a beautiful dinning room overlooking the bay.
We highly recommended to those who want a tranquil, clean and beautiful place in the County.
Stayed October 16 & 17 2013, travelled with friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGUSTIN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
137
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Duck & Loon more than 6 times in the last 12 years and have always thoroughly enjoyed it (the latest stay was Aug 5-13,2013). We usually stay 8 to 10 nights, the longest being 12 nights. Irene and Bill are just wonderful hosts and are so friendly, the rooms are very comfortable and spotless and the breakfasts are hearty, delicious and suitably varied from day to day. Irene will help you plan your trips to the many points of interset in Picton and the county and can also provide good advice on dining in and around town, to the point of making reservations. The deck at the rear of the house is a great place to admire Picton Bay from the elevated view there and there is a comfortable sitting room inside to relax before bed. We wouldn't stay anywhere else!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Bill and Irene are excellent hosts at the Duck and Loon. Lovely rooms, friendly chat, helpful information, wonderful breakfasts and absolutely fabulous views over the bay from their garden or decking. What else do you want in a B&B guest house? Well worth their Tripadvisor high score. You cannot fail to have a wonderful stay at the Duck and Loon.

Room Tip: Ask in advance for a dinner booking at Blumens across the road (see also on Tripadvisor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Valley, ON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Duck and Loon B&B in Picton Ontario. It was worth every cent to stay in this lovely home, extremely clean and fresh and welcoming. A lovely quiet deck overlooking the beautiful bay was a lovely place to sit after our long trip with a glass of cool lemonade. The breakfasts were hearty on an impeccable table, most of it homemade by Irene. We enjoyed the conversations with the other guests, as well as with Bill and Irene who answered every question about the area we needed to know. Would highly recommend if you want to be in a home away from home. Thank you Irene and Bill for making our stay so enjoyable! Paulette and Bill

Room Tip: King size bedroom with own ensuite bath and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Delicious breakfast (homemade french toast one day and an omelet another day, muffins, jams, fruit salad for example).

The couple was very nice, and helpful while we planned our visit around the county. We attempted to do a lot of winery tours, and Irene was more than helpful in drawing us a root around the county.

The location is great, right beside the water and a small distance from one of the best restaurants (The Blumen). We stayed in the bayview room and we had a very nice stay, enjoyed the showers and the view of the

Great stay, I'm sure we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMurray123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We spent two nights, and had a wonderful stay. From the lovely breakfast, made even nicer by the great conversation, with the other guests, to the gorgeous deck overlooking Picton Bay, to the exceptionally clean home, to the most gracious hosts/travel consultants. It was our first experience at a B&B, and because it was such a great experience, will definitely go that route again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

we recently stayed overnight at the Duck and Loon B&B and would highly recommend it to others travelling Prince Edward County. Our hosts Irene and Bill were wonderful - great hospitality and knowledge of the area - what to see and do while in the area. Irene suggested and made dinner reservations for us on the Sat. evening at Portabella- excellent food and very nice ambience. We were so pleased that we had reservations because easily 6 -7 couples were turned away while we were having our dinner so thanks again to Irene! We enjoyed sitting on the deck later that evening and enjoyed a most delicious breakfast the next morning and great conversation with the other 2 couples who had stayed at the B&B. We will highly recommend the Duck and Loon to our Family and Friends and will stay there again when travelling in Prince Edward County.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kent e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
3.1 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.2 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#2 of 12 in Wellington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
6.4 mi away
Jackson's Falls Country Inn
4.6 mi away
Bells and Whistles Family Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast

Property: Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast
Address: 630 Highway 49, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Duck And Loon Bed And Breakfast Picton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing