We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing with a view”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 41 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Duck and Loon was very relaxing, great view and good company. The operator was so friendly and gave great advice for dinner. Rooms are very clean and you have everything you need.....great breakfast....and would stay again if in Picton...thanks guys

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 248 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had an excellent stay at the Duck and Loon. It is a beautiful location. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The couple had a great sense of humor. Irene went out of her way to make our vacation an enjoyable one.

Chris and Rosemary

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank RosemaryP25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed with Irene and Bill while on a 3 day tour of the county. Irene goes above and beyond to assist you with suggestions of tours and places to visit. Bills love of the county goes back to his youth.
We truly enjoyed our visit. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was delightful and the view from the deck superb. Bill and Irene bend over backwards to help you feel comfortable in their home.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed in the Bayview Room, which was private and quiet and had a very comfortable bed.
Irene went out of her way with suggestions on sites to see and places to go in the area (this included wine tasting passes at different local wineries). As this was our time visiting, the information was appreciated, as were her directions and the accommodation of our plans by making our dining reservations.

Standouts at this B&B: The view from the deck overlooking the lake is beautiful, relaxing and the most amazing part of this B&B. Also: It’s across the street from one of the best restaurants in the area, Blumen.

Try not to miss the basic breakfast - the host will not wait for late guests.

Room Tip: Bayview room is quiet and private - great for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carla_and_Jaime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
67Bill1010, Owner at Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Carla and Jaime

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our bed and breakfast. Your kind words were very much appreciated. However, we were surprised with regard to your comment, “Try not to miss the basic breakfast – the host will not wait for late guests”.

Firstly, our guests continually praise the wonderful breakfasts that we serve and often ask for the recipes. Our breakfasts include homemade muffins, homemade jams, fresh fruit plates, fruit salad, yogurt and fruit, a variety of beverages, i.e., tea, coffee, herbal teas, green tea, decaf coffee, and orange juice. Each day is a different hot entrée, such as Oven-baked Cinnamon-Raisin French Toast, Hash Brown Frittata, Oven Denver Omelette, a variety of single Omelettes, etc. We do not consider our breakfasts to be “basic”.

Secondly, guests are informed in advance that breakfast will be served at 8:45 a.m. Those who will not be present for breakfast can let us know at that time. When guests appear at 10:30 a.m., the table has been cleared and we are in the process of getting on with our very busy day and preparing the rooms for our new guests. Of course, the majority of the breakfasts are prepared in the oven and by that time, the entrees are no longer fresh and tasty.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our Bayview Room with “a very comfortable bed” and enjoyed the beautiful view from our deck, however, are sorry that you had expectations of eating a late breakfast at 10:30 a.m.

Once again, thank you for posting a review on the Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast.

Irene and Bill Dobinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Irene and Bill's delightful B&B will not disappoint. Their 14 years experience running this B&B shows. Details matter to both of them. Cleanliness: immaculate. Comfort: cozy. View from deck: spectacular. Sights & travel tips: generous. An additional plus is the Blumen restaurant just across the road. Absolutely fabulous lunch and dinner menus. A one-night stay left us looking forward to many future returns.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

An absolutely wonderful experience. The view from the deck is priceless. The tranquility of the environment- the Bay and adults only- make for a very restful mini vacation.
Bill and Irene keep their home and gardens in immaculate condition. They are very friendly and make you feel right at home starting with the offer of a glass of lemonade when you arrive. We will be returning and highly recommend.

Room Tip: The Bayview Room is the one that we stayed in and is down the hall from the other two rooms. It fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onttravelbunny56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

It was our first time traveling to Prince Edward county. We had the good luck to find the Duck and Loon B&B. The accommodations were lovely. It was clean and quiet and we were encouraged to take our drinks or coffee out on the deck overlooking the water. Breakfast were wonderful. Irene was great with maps and ideas to find our way around.
Saturday night the power went off in the Picton area and many restaurants could not serve meals. Irene was very helpful finding us another place to eat. She was quick to solve the problem.
Linda and Russ

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank russellr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
3.2 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
448 reviews
1.2 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
156 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#3 of 13 in Wellington
118 reviews
6.4 mi away
Jackson's Falls Country Inn
9.2 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast

Address: 630 Highway 49, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Duck And Loon Bed And Breakfast Picton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing