We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food, View, and Hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 44 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food, View, and Hospitality”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I used the Duck and Loon as a base from which to explore Prince Edward County. The breakfasts we had were excellent. Bill and Irene were very good about introducing all the guests to one another; which facilitated enjoyable morning conversations.

We slept exceptionally well during our stay here, and I really enjoyed playing my guitar on the swing that overlooked the bay before breakfast in the morning.

We have added the Duck and Loon to our address list as we are sure to stay there again the next time we return to this part of Ontario

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
137
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Irene and Bill Dobinson welcomed my Sister and I for 3 enjoyable days and nights from Sept 2 - 5, 2012. Our visit was special from beginning to end, everything was more than we expected. We were served Great breakfast meals that included juice, tea, coffee (milk for me), yogurt, homemade muffins (different everyday), homemade jams, french toast, omelets and even a frittata the last morning.

Irene is very well informed, she supplied us with binders containing local restaurants and their menus, wine tasting vouchers, maps, guide books and even mapped out our route for our first day of adventures.

The rooms are quiet, clean & spotless, and plenty of closet and dresser space and even his and hers house coats :) . The best part was the deck, sitting in very comfortable chairs you had a view of the water, birds flying over and boats sailing by . . . very tranquil.

Nothing was too much trouble for our Hosts. We will definitely recommend the Duck & Loon to all our friends. We will be back next year durung the summer.

Thank-you Irene and Bill Linda C. and Ann M.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grimsby
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Bill and Irene treated us like family. The Bayview Room was lovely with its view over Picton Bay - we enjoyed watching the morning sun rise and the reflection over the water. The deck was a definite plus with its comfortable furniture. The house was spotless and the breakfasts delicious. Would definitely return and highly recommend. diana and bob W

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diana w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2012

D & L was recommended by the local C of C, We arrived in early afternoon but were still welcomed by Irene with a glass of her "famous" lemonade. The hosts could not have been more accommodating, helping us plan our "tour" and arranging reservations for dinner at a local restaurant. The room we choose was small but comfortable and as the other reviews have said. The breakfasts were well above par. I feel the best reccommendation is that we would definitely go back again. John& Marie

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John- Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Other reviews have talked, justifiably, about the excellent home-cooked breakfasts and the views from the deck over Picton Bay, but in a sense, the success of the Duck and Loon is based quite simply on the fact that you feel comfortable in the house. There is no sense of constraint and people conversed easily in the living room and dining room. The quality of the guests was notable as well: there was a lot of really engaging conversation over breakfast. As for the service, it is also exceptional. All the details are looked after quietly and efficiently by the Dobinsons. We were down for a family wedding and it was the perfect place to stay. If you visit Prince Edward County (and it you haven't you should) and you like bed and breakfasts, this is an ideal place to stay. .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This did not disappoint. The B&B was more than we expected. We stayed in the Bayview Room, which was spacious, comfortable, and also had a great harbor view. In addition, there was a large deck overlooking the bay, where the guests could relax whenever we wanted.
Our hosts, Irene and Bill, were wonderful - extremely friendly and helpful. With dinner reservations, helpful hints and itemized maps for touring, free wine tasting vouchers, and delicious home cooked breakfasts - we were certainly very well looked after.
Would definitely return to this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gravenhurst
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Wonderful experience, great breakfasts ( home cooked, frenchtoast, omelette, muffins) Irene and Bill are gracious hosts and provide helpful information with complementry winetasting vouchers and dining possibilities. Beautiful views of Picton Bay from their deck with morning coffee and happy hour. We will be back

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
3.1 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
392 reviews
1.2 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
95 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#2 of 12 in Wellington
96 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bells and Whistles Family Inn
9.1 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast

Property: Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast
Address: 630 Highway 49, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Duck And Loon Bed And Breakfast Picton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing