We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views, fantastic hosts.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 41 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2011

This was a wonderful four-day stay for us. Both the view and the hospitality were beyond compare. Irene and Bill made us feel very welcome in their home, and helped us explore and discover the byways of Prince Edward County, made recommendations for dinner, and called in reservations for us. The dining room, deck and the Bayview room take best advantage of the view. Four delightful and varied breakfasts set the tone for the day. Bill likes to bake, and if you are fortunate, you will get to taste some of his baking. The Dobinsons are set up for WiFi, and there is a sitting room for the guests, although if the weather is good, that deck overlooking the bay is very appealing. Both the rooms and the living areas are pristine and well-appointed; you will not find fault with any of it.

The golf course is just up the street, as well as is one of the better dining rooms across the street (the Blumen Garden Bistro). The B&B is about two kms. from the centre of Picton and as Picton is near the centre of the peninsula, is very convenient to all locations in the county. We had a great time there, and I am sure you will too.

Room Tip: If it is available, the Bayview room has the view over the bay.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Montreal-Mathman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 239 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2011

We just completed a 4 day visit to the Duck and Loon, where everything about the home was pleasant and enjoyable. Irene and Bill were hospitable hosts who made you feel extremely welcome in their home. Although the home is modern, it is as lovely as any of the older homes in which we have stayed. Cleanliness is excellent, the rooms are comfortable, the areas for the guests to gather are larrge and accessible. The grounds are well maintained, with a tremendous deck overlooking the Picton Bay. Fabulous scenery, fall colours were enjoyable from the deck as well as a great place to relax, meet other guests and soak in your surroundings. A key was provided so we could come and go as we pleased, whenever.
Irene provided useful info on where to shop, eat, and explore. She was accomodating in her help by making reservations at various local restuarants, after providing us with excellent information on them.
We enjoyed each of the breakfasts she provided, as they all differed. There was an excellent variety, as well we were given the opportunity to eat at an earlier time if we requested. In fact she did accomodate other guests for an earlier breakfast as they had a golf game planned. She also advised us of what she proposed for breakfast,and in what quantity, so we had the opportunity to vary a dish or the amount without any difficulty. It was an enjoyable stay in a pleasant and welcoming atmosphere. Gary and Valerie Logan ,Port Rowan Ont.

Room Tip: If available the room with a view of the Bay of Picton would be my first choice, but other two rooms...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed at the Duck and Loon for 2 nights in the Bayview room. Irene and Bob were excellent hosts sharing their knowledge of the area and even plotting out a tour for us to take to make sure we saw all the sights. The breakfasts were fantastic.. it was nice to have a set time for the meal as we got to meet and talk to the others staying there at the same time. Would recommend this place with no hesitation to friends and others.

Room Tip: Bayview is largest room and has a great view of Piction Bay.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We loved the clean, well kept home and property, and the quiet, serene and spectacular view from the deck. The hospitality from Irene and Bill are beyond compare, with exceptional breakfasts, tasty, varied, mouth watering and tummy filling. You accommodated our individual tastes without exception. You went out of your way to welcome family members who were too early to check in at their b&b. We recommend Duck and Loon B&B without reservation and will definitely return again soon ourselves. I understand that the Fall colours are not to be missed.

Room Tip: We loved the spaciousness of the larger room overlooking the water with ensuite bathroom.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

As with locations there is someone that is not happy. I must say that i have no idea why Roy3007 was not. The proprietor was extremely helpful and you can see proud of what she has built.

The breakfasts were wonderful, to rooms cozy and well appointed and Irene laid out a fabulous route to tour the area.

The deck has a lovely view of the lake and when we were sample some of the local wines she brought out glasses on a tray for us.

Most definitely and excellent location to relax.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Travelcritic-ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We felt at home the moment we walked through the front door. The hosts truly opened their home to us and took care of our every need, from glasses for coctails to a map and brochures of the area. The room was comfortable and everything we needed was in it. The breakfast was scrumptious.The house is located well in off the road which creates a quiet and peaceful setting. The lawns and gardens are neat and well maintained. Lovely veiw of the bay from the deck. This is a very clean, neat & tidy B & B which we would not hesitate to recommend to friends and family and should our travels take us this way again we would not hesitate to stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnetteO202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I feel that I have known Bill and Irene all my life. I always felt comfortable talking with them.The food and the accomodations are superb. Like my grandma, Irene wanted to make sure we started our day with a full belly and was offering me more to eat.It was the start of a beautiful day here as you take your coffe out onto the rear deck and and overlook the peaceful and picturesque Trent river system. Not only did we enjoy the hearty breakfast but we had a great conversations with other visitors. WE WILL BE BACK IRENE!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymond73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
3.1 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
434 reviews
1.2 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
144 reviews
16.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
9.1 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
473 reviews
11.2 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#3 of 13 in Wellington
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duck and Loon Bed and Breakfast

Address: 630 Highway 49, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Duck And Loon Bed And Breakfast Picton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing