We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal for us”
Review of The Waring House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Waring House
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed there December 18 and 19 on a internet deal. and it was a GRRRRRREAT deal!!!! $299 for 2 night accommodation in the best room available, breakfast for 2 people 2 mornings and a cooking class for 2 people including dinner. It was an amazing deal!!!!!!!!! The cooking class alone was $200.

So we ended up staying in 2 different rooms. We could have stayed in the new buildings in upgraded rooms (which we have stayed in before and they are really nice!) But we elected to stay in the "house next door" on the first night as we wanted the "country charm". We stayed in room 11 which was a very nice room - true to the country charm. It had a gas fireplace and beautiful deck.

One big drawback - at least from our perspective - there is no shower. Although it is kind of romantic - a Jacuzzi tub right in the room with hot red curtain dividing the areas.

So then we switched to the Stone Cottage - room 18 the next night. Really cool little place all to our selves. Beautiful stone and a fireplace. Very romantic. Hot tub outside your door with French doors opening to the stone patio. Really nice! A little cold outside to use the patio - but in the summer - that would be amazing! Bed really comfortable. comforter was amazing. And a Jacuzzi tub in the room, as well, but no shower again. For us that was a drawback. The staff were very helpful and we were able to take a shower in another room.

The only real criticism was that the room smelled.

In general - the whole resort is getting tired and needs and update. The newer buildings are that, but lack the charm that most people are seeking when you go to Prince Edward County.

We knew what we were getting into, so no big deal.

And the food was very good. Our turkey that we made was really good! the Caesar salad we had the next evening was good and breakfasts were very good as well.

Room Tip: Like I said - the cottage smelled mouldy - maybe worse in the winter? The newer building lack charm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YOURFUNNYGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norah R, Innkeeper at The Waring House, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear " yourfunnyguy" from Toronto..

thank you very much for staying with us and writing about your experience. Your feedback is important to us and it is being shared with all here at the Inn. We are glad you enjoyed it and we noticed all your comments about the shower and the odour in the cottage..
We will hopefully address the shower opportunity sometimes soon and also improve on the odour.
We do hope you will return again soon.

Thank you very much,

Wolfgang Stichnothe
Innkeeper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 457 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

Have been there many times before but stop coming as frequently due to the rising costs and less and less food. Yesterday came back again but won't be back
The cost for wine $49.00 a bottle (and not a high end bottle of wine) at least a 200% Mark up !!! GOUGE GOUGE GOUGE
2 florets of broccoli and 3 small potatoes and a piece of salmon half the size of my fist.. pasta was tomato sauce with 5 thin slices of chicken
Dont mind paying for quality but won't go places that are just greedy !!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norah R, Innkeeper at The Waring House, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Hello Cathy P from Shannonville.
Let me please apologize to you for responding to your post today. Your feedback is very important to us and it is shared with all here at the Inn. I am sorry you did not enjoy your meal, usually our guests love our restaurant and pub and return again and again.
As for the pricing for wine... I think you are going to find that we are using the same kind of mark up as similar restaurants. I am sorry you feel the we are gouging... I would not agree with that statement, again, you will find that most restaurants have the same pricing policy.
We hope that you try us again...

wishing you all the best for 2014

Wolfgang Stichnothe
Innkeeper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

After a rushed trip from Australia up to Sudbury back to Haliburton then down to Picton, it was WONDERFUL to stay at The Waring House. Classy, private, secure, beautiful. The extra king size bed was hard to leave, and the food along with customer service was top class. LOVE the live entertainment in the Barley Room. It had all the ambiance of an English Pub, friendly yet with stunning food and service all enjoyed while overlooking the live music. Definitely looking forward to heading back in Dec/Jan for NYE!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are fine, it's like staying in a big country manor house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norah R, Innkeeper at The Waring House, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

hello to KIckpix from Australia,

thank you very much for staying with us and for writing about your experience.. that is very much appreciated.. I hope you did make it back and visited us again... I do apologize for responding only today..

thank you very much and please pass the word.

Wolfgang Stichnothe
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had a very pleasant first experience at the Waring House Inn during a recent 2-night stay. We found the service and reception to be very warm and homey. The room we stayed in was very modern and spacious; the quality of the rooms was a pleasant surprise. We had one dinner in the dining room (accompanied by live piano music) and one in the attached pub on the second night. Dinner in the dining room was good...rack of lamb; we paired it with a local Merlot that was excellent quality. The second night we had dinner in the attached Barley pub; the food was very good and again we enjoyed excellent local wine from Karlo Estates Winery. It was especially surprising to meet and chat with the friendy owners; Chris and Dr. Nora Rogers, who were enjoying a meal next to us at the pub Saturday night. The live music in the Barley pub was local. Chris Murphy was an excellent celtic/folk musician, pitch perfect, his show is not to be missed when available. This is an excellent central location for winery visits in Prince Edward County (Karlo Estates was our favourite of the three we visited) and beer tasting and tour at Barley Days Brewery within walking distance of the Inn. We sampled some unique beers and wines and have added to our cold cellar stock. Looking forward to a return visit next year when more of the much anticipated 2012 wines start appearing!

Room Tip: We stayed in the modern Heritage Lodge. Back rooms are south east facing with morning sun, more pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norah R, Innkeeper at The Waring House, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Hello Robert from Richmond Hill,

thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience here on Trip Advisor.
Feedback is shared with all here at the Waring House.. and we are glad, that you met the owners.. yes, they like to stay in touch with their guests.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, please do visit again soon, even this time of year the County is worth a trip.. if you like to stay in touch, please like us on Facebook or sign up for our e-blast on our website.. We try to keep all of our friends up to date with special offerings here at the Inn and about happenings in the County.

thank you again,

Wolfgang Stichnothe
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I truly enjoyed our stay at the Waring House. It was our first time stay, and probably won't be the last. All the staff were very pleasant and beyond helpful, and the food was delicious. Their Countylicious package was fantastic. Thank you for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norah R, Innkeeper at The Waring House, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Hello C L from Kingston,

thank you very much for staying with us and writing about your experience on Trip Advisor.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your " countylicious" outing.. At this time of year, you will see us offering many specials, if you like to stay in touch, like us on Facebook or sign up on our website for our e-blast.. we are posting and sending out information on a regular basis about special offers at the Inn or any activities in the area.

hoping to see you again soon,

Wolfgang Stichnothe
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I would like to thank all the staff for making me welcome and contributing to what was a difficult (for me personally) weekend and making it one I will never forget. Great welcome - wonderful room and overall a great experience

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sparkymarky21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norah R, Innkeeper at The Waring House, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Hello Sparky Marky,
thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to share this on Trip Advisor.
Trip Advisor comments are shared with all here at the Waring House..Feedback is very important for us.. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we do hope you will visit us again.
If you like to stay in touch with us, you can sign up on our website for our e-blasts or like us on Facebook, we try to keep all of our friends and guests informed on a regular basis about specials at the Inn and in the area.

thank you again,

Wolfgang Stichnothe
Innkeeper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Spent an enjoyable weekend with my love at the Waring House. I'm going to combine all their facilities into this one review. If it's helpful you can pick what you'd be looking for in a stay:

Barley Room Pub: Excellent... I love this type of place, close quarters, darkish bar, friendly service. They had a band Sat the place was packed and it's onsite you can walk back to your room. We ate there one day and the main restaurant another I enjoyed the food in both. An old english style pub with womderful atmosphere.

The Room: Average ... Very large ... people have complained here about the noise and rightly so. If you have noisy people above you hope they go to bed early and sleep in. They put in air purifiers for white noise and you can turn on the heating/cooling fan which I found more helpful. The bathroom was poorly misdesigned entirely. It's huge ... with a soaker tub, but the smallest almost cruise ship sized shower you can imagine. If they ever do a refit with a much needed large stand up tile shower and I'd stay there all the time. We had a room with the outdoor hottub but the quality of the tub itself was a bit cheap it's a two person tub that couldn't stay warm it would lose it's temp right away with the lid off. I can't see it being very hot come the winter months. The king bed was very comfy.

Amelia's Garden Restaurant: Very Good ... breakfast was included in our stay and one dinner. The first morning breakfast was forgettable the waitress was kind've put off by us coming at 10 I guess they close breakfast at 10 on Sundays but the front desk had told us 10:30. Anyway she was mildly rude about it and breakfast was lukewarm which I dislike. Had sausage and eggs and it wasn't anything a diner couldn't do better. So why did I say it's very good LOL ... the next two meals were excellent. We had a nice romantic dinner Sunday evening, the waiter was friendly and chatty. I'd only change it up by having real candles in the dining room instead of fake lanterns. Breakfast the next day was excellent as well with the friendliest young man as a waiter we'd encountered. We both ordered buttermilk pancakes served piping hot. The home fries the day before were not so good so he brought us a side of fruit instead, a nice touch.

Overall this would be an excellent place with some room improvements

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank opuscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norah R, Innkeeper at The Waring House, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Opuscat from Ottawa,
thank you very much for staying with us.. and for writing about your experience.
Reviews are being shared with all here at the Inn and will help us to improve on our services and product. I have read your comments with great interest, and yes, we do have some issues in the newer building (noise) which we will take care off during the next few month.. but still most of our guests love the rooms in these 2 buildings, yes.. I wish the showers were bigger!!
as for the Hot Tubs, I am a surprised about your comments about the temperature, I have had a spa berry for the last 5 years and enjoy it all winter long.. in the Georgian Bay area..!! ( a lot colder than in the County).. and my temperature always stays up at around 104.. I will check into your hot tub.
again, thank you very much and I do hope you will visit us again

Wolfgang Stichnothe
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.3 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
159 reviews
17.3 mi away
Best Western Belleville
Best Western Belleville
#1 of 8 in Belleville
536 reviews
16.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
485 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
81 reviews
9 mi away
Cribs on the Creek
Cribs on the Creek
#5 of 13 in Wellington
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waring House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waring House

Address: 395 Sandy Hook Road, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Price Range: $149 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waring House 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rural hospitality meets modern convenience in the heart of Ontario's newest wine and culinary hotspot, Prince Edward County. Choose from 49 rooms and suites in our historical buildings or our new luxurious lodges. Fine dining in Amelia's Garden, casual fare and live music in the Barley Room Pub. Recreational hands-on cooking classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Waring House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waring House Hotel Picton
The Waring House Picton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing