We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Weekend :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Waring House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Waring House
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a Weekend :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I and another couple went for the weekend and it was great! Our room was huge our balcony was really big. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was large. We found the food to be good! We ate in the fine dining and the pub. There was great entertainment in the pub both nights and I loved the history of the Waring House. We went to do the wineries and the spa at the Claremont. So it is true there isn't a pool etc but we would not have used it. We attended the cooking school on the Sunday and the Chef was so really great a teaching. His name was Jordan, he had a super personality and a knack for making sure everyone was having fun. I learned a lot of neat tricks that I won't share as you will need to go :) We met other couples at the cooking class and they brought their bikes and did the Millenium Trail and said it was great too! I would highly recommend The Waring House.

Room Tip: We were in the Heritage House the room above the entrance with a huge deck :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love_2_Travel1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    119
    60
    48
    26
See reviews for
54
245
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

The Waring House Inn in Picton, Ontario needs a lot of work. I would not return to this property. There are no amenities, the service is slow, and the food is poor. The food should be much better given that there is a cooking school on site. Breakfast was particularly bad!!! Coffee was terrrible. No newspapers anywhere. There are no amenities at this property and we were told that the owners do not want to attract young families so they are not willing to invest in activities. The property would certainly benefit from having a pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a larger shower. Our room had such a small shower, one person could hardly get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wld50Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I spent this past weekend at the Waring House in Picton ont. we took advantage of a promotion being fife red which included a superior room, two breakfasts,one dinner and a cooking class. We can't say enough about the fabulous experience we had. The room was large and comfortable. It had two fireplaces,two televisions,a balcony and huge tub. The food was fabulous and the cooking class was beyond words. We even had the pleasure of consuming the food we helped to make. All in all it was one of the best weekends ever,and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleo075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norah R, Owner at The Waring House, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thanks so much for the review you did on The Waring House. Your enthusiastic comments are greatly appreciated and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Sincerely,
Norah Rogers
Inn Keeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bancroft, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

A great getaway!! The grounds are well kept. Our room was in the Heritage Lodge. The rooms are spacious, large bathroom with shower and large tub. Bed was very comfortable and the pillows were better than at home! Had breakfast at Amelia, both times good and served hot. Had dinner at Barley Pub where we ate Wild cherry and Blue cheese Rib steak(special) was delicious and entertainment was a band of four guys playing blues, jazz and R & B, they all sang and did a great job. We spent our time during the day visiting Barley Days Brewery, Country Cider and a little bit of shopping in Picton. There are many wineries available to visit. We would definetly stay at this Inn again. Maybe we will book and do a winery tour.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norah R, Owner at The Waring House, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear L. Burn,
Thanks so much for your lovely review on your visit to the Waring House, We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves in the County. For future reference, we work with a company that does winery tours with pick up at the Waring House and a great afternoon of tasting.
Thank you again. We hope to welcome you back.
Sincerely,
Nora Rogers
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This inn is in a great location between Picton and Bloomsfield. However, some of the rooms are very tired and walls are thin. Few amenities onsite. The reason why we chose this hotel was because they advertise their cooking school and food. The pub food is average, servers were lovely. The main restaurant food was terrible and servers were less than friendly. This place has the potential to be so much better but until they improve, I would choose other hotels or inns in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lps2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norah R, Owner at The Waring House, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. We value customer feedback. Just want to let you know we have just launched a new barley room menu which is going over very well and also a new dining room menu which more than any other menu in the past will feature regionally produced foods. It doesn’t sound like you took part in our cookery school classes which are hands on, educational and fun. You also don’t mention whether or not you tried our spa, or visited our artist in residence or our store in Picton. As far as sound transmission in our new lodges I am very pleased to report that the construction company has now proceeded to correct that problem for next season. Unfortunately we could not reach an agreement on time for this season. We are however extremely grateful this problem will be fixed. In the meantime we are adding some optional white noise to the rooms in question. We’ve also just been able, for the first time, to achieve guaranteed wifi property, under no small feat in rural Ontario, and something we’ve struggled with since opening in 1995. We agree with the review that the Waring house has a better potential. In fact we think it has a great potential which we work steadily to achieve.

Sincerely,
Nora Rogers
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Unfortunately our stay at Waring House was not pleasant. We were very pleased with the service upon checking in. Michael was very helpful and friendly. Dinner was just OK and the server was less than welcoming. We were accommodated in the Quaker building - there was absolutely no sound barrier between the rooms. We could hear every word that was said by the occupants in the rooms on either side. There were a number of people having a party next door and this went on until midnight. We could not sleep in spite of having to get up early in the morning. For the price of our room we would have expected better sound insulation between rooms. We complained to the receptionist on duty upon checkout but she had a surly attitude and did not seem interested in our complaint. The next time we visit Picton we will be staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay away if you need a good night's sleep - no sound barrier between rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank BencroToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norah R, Owner at The Waring House, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Never Again
Dear Bencro Toronto
So sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay at The Waring House. We are in fact just in the process of correcting several things you pointed out. We have just launched a new dining room menu featuring regional ingredients, as we always have. But our new menu is really quite an adventurous one, a little different from menus in the past, and so far the reviews have been great. We also have launched a new menu for The barley Room pub with a range of items from nachos to some very nice dinner items. So with our own vegetable garden, market gardens and farms all around us it is going to be a great summer of dinning at The Waring House. We have some great staff coming on board too.
The sound transmission is a problem in our new lodges, a great disappointment to us but finally the construction company will be correcting this next winter. I n the meantime we space people in the buildings when possible and will shortly install some optional white noise to help. I thank you will agree however that the rooms themselves are spacious and well decorated. This week after about ten years of struggling to get it, we’ll have dependable Wifi throughout the resort.
I have to say I find our guest services staff anything but surly. Sometimes they are just human and can’t fix some things. Their demeanor sometimes is determined by the way the message is delivered.
However, I’m sorry you were disappointed and I hope some time in the future you will reconsider and give us another try. Obviously, other trip advisor reports differ quite widely with yours so we can’t be all bad.
Best Wishes
Norah Rogers
Inn Keeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
258 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Went here for 2 nights with my team and was expecting a strong culinary experience to top off days of meetings. Colleagues who`d been there before were sorely disappointed by the food. The staff are fabulous: professional, friendly and enthusiastic. The rooms are large and well appointed. BUT this place has a cooking school and the food was mediocre. We opted not to eat there after the first day. The food was bland and often overcooked. We compared notes the night we had dinner there and no one was satisfied. Even dessert was overcooked (brownie). It is hard to mess up a brownie.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EPottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.3 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
17.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
6.0 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
8.4 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#2 of 12 in Wellington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waring House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waring House

Property: The Waring House
Address: 395 Sandy Hook Road, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waring House 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rural hospitality meets modern convenience in the heart of Ontario's newest wine and culinary hotspot, Prince Edward County. Choose from 49 rooms and suites in our historical buildings or our new luxurious lodges. Fine dining in Amelia's Garden, casual fare and live music in the Barley Room Pub. Recreational hands-on cooking classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waring House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waring House Hotel Picton
The Waring House Picton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing