We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St Patricks' Day at the Waring House”
Review of The Waring House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Waring House
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We spent St. Patricks' weekend at the Waring House,March 16th and 17th. Arrived the Satuday with a welcomed check in. Dinner at the Pub that evening. This not your normal pub fare. Much better than I have ever had. Saturday night there was live Irish music. Breakfast was good as well. On Sunday morning we had a wonderful cooking lesson with Chef Jordon, who was a real delight and full of great cooking tips. Then we ate fantasic the 3 course meal for lunch that was made by us and the 10 other guest at the cooking school .Thank you Jordon and Andrea!
After lunch we walked 10 minutes up the road to the Barley Days Brewery, where we sampled their several selections of beers after being given a tour by Chris(the owner).

Sunday Dinner was in the Amelia Dining Room and both the service and food were very good.The Pub was the place to be, for St Paddys' Day. It was really hopping! Everyone having a great time.

Our suite was in the" Quaker" building and was extremely clean, beautifully decorated , the bed very comfy. A Small Fridge, coffee maker, soaker bath and a seperate shower, Robes, LED HD Tv's in Bedroom and in the living room, and a fireplace complimented the room. All the staff we met or had dealings with were very friendly and helpful.

Prince Edward county in a wonderful place for all season vacationing.. Amazing Parks, Beaches, Wineries, and shopping, cheese factories, fishing, etc etc. Lots to do and see.!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 457 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

We booked one night at the inn because we wanted to see the band, Crooked Wood, which was playing at the Barley Room pub that night. It was a great time, and so convenient to walk from our room into the pub and enjoy the fantastic live music. The pub itself was charming and historic, food was ok, but not fantastic (given that the Waring house has cooking classes-maybe the food in the restaurant is better for dinner. We didn't eat there). The room itself was charming, and clean with local antiques. Breakfast was delicious and free with the room. If you're looking for a boutique inn, this is not the place for you, but if you're looking for a place with atmosphere and charm, and enjoy live music on site, the Waring House is a great little getaway.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the rustic standard room in the historic part of the inn, but if you're looking for m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbperegrines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel is described on their website a lot better than what you get. We had an old tv with a VCR and no fireplace which there was supposed to be. The room was very old and cluttered with furniture. Bathroom was very dated. There are newer areas to this resort that may be nicer...not sure. If there are, I am not sure why they stuck us in this old dated room when we could have had something nicer. They were fairly vacant in February. It would have been no skin off their teeth to upgrade us.
The food in the restaurant was good and the nightly band was fun. Thankfully we only stayed one night.
Won't be back and would not recommend staying in the Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We booked a two day package which included a three hour cooking class with Chef Jordon.
This was a great experience and very informative.
The accommodation in the Premier Suite "108" was spacious and just a short walk to the hotels Barley Room Pub and Amelia's Garden Restaurant.
The food was excellent and the pub atmosphere was the closest we have been to true English Pub.
The King size bed was extremely comfortable and the bedroom was overly spacious with a second TV. and second fireplace.
The bathroom had a soaker tub, shower and sink with plenty of surrounding space for personal items.
The only reason we gave the Waring House a four and not a five was we would have liked to have seen better seating in the suite i.e. more comfortable couch. But that would not put us off booking there again and recommend it to anyone that wants a relaxing weekend with good food, entertainment and pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wingers2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We went with a group of 49 people and booked rooms in the new lodges. The rooms were absolutely beautiful. Each one was decorated differently and the furnishings were lovely. The king bed in our suite was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was huge. The buffet dinner that evening was superb and the breakfast the next morning was delicious. The staff went out of their way to make our stay perfect and everyone had nothing but good things to stay. I would recommend a weekend for any group to book here. You won't be dissappointed!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here feb 2 one nite in the awesome vineyard view cottage .
What a beautiful plc to stay very private , gas fireplc , big tub , outdoor hot tub and a excellent view. The room could use a keurig coffee mc , the king size bed headbrd should be changed so you can sit up in bed and look outside very uncomfortable as is, also the matress needs to be replaced .The Amelia room where we had our 3 coarse dinner was excellent food , setting and service top notch. The Barley pub witch we spent the evening listing to Carl Dixon play , is a very relaxed atmosphere with antiques surronding us , the staff working in the pub and bar area are very friendly people . They seem to enjoy working together . Carl was excellent all nite . There is a cooking school here also , didnt have time for a class .The Waring house grounds are really beautiful , we will come back in the summer or fall for sure . I recommend this great place for one nite or a weeknd getaway , very reasonable priced .

Room Tip: Vineyard View Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Beautiful location. Excellent friendly staff. Rooms big, very comfy and clean. We had lunch in the pub and dinner and breakfast in the restaurant all were very good. The pub had a great atmosphere in the evening with great entertainment.

Would not hesitate to recommend it to any one in fact we hope to go with some friends in a couple of weeks

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.3 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
159 reviews
17.3 mi away
Best Western Belleville
Best Western Belleville
#1 of 8 in Belleville
536 reviews
16.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
485 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
81 reviews
9 mi away
Cribs on the Creek
Cribs on the Creek
#5 of 13 in Wellington
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waring House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waring House

Address: 395 Sandy Hook Road, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Price Range: $149 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waring House 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rural hospitality meets modern convenience in the heart of Ontario's newest wine and culinary hotspot, Prince Edward County. Choose from 49 rooms and suites in our historical buildings or our new luxurious lodges. Fine dining in Amelia's Garden, casual fare and live music in the Barley Room Pub. Recreational hands-on cooking classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Waring House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waring House Hotel Picton
The Waring House Picton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing