We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waring House "Countylicious"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Waring House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Waring House
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Waring House "Countylicious"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a wonderful time at this lovely inn. One of the nicest rooms we've ever stayed in. The washroom was huge. We had a suite with a separate sitting room with a TV and fireplace. The bedroom was beautifully decorated and it also had a TV and fireplace. The bed was very comfortable and we slept like babies. The 3 course dinner was delicious and not too large. Breakfast was delicious as well. I loved their toiletries ... the scent was heavenly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    119
    60
    48
    26
See reviews for
54
245
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lovey hotel great pub and restaurant very friendly staff all in all we had a super time. The location was perfect for us to sight see and we had a lot of help from the bartenders and waiters in guiding us to various interesting places. a very big thank you to them all

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank norma b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We have just returned from the Waring house from a weekend getaway. We arrived at night, which proved to be very confusing. We ended up going to three buildings, looking for check-in. They really could use some signage.
The package,(cooking class), was expensive, but I cannot find any reason not to return, short of the cost. The room was a little small, but expected. Dinner was nice, although we felt a little bit left alone after dinner, awaiting desert. Probably about 20 minutes to place our desert order.
the highlight of the trip was the cooking school. Jordan was great, very personable, and at no time did we feel rushed, or afraid to ask questions of him.
In short, I would return, but probably just for the classes. My wife loved it, and we managed to make more friends, which is always a good thing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Spent the first half of Thanksgiving at the Waring House and was in one of the new buildings. The rooms were large and comfortable and the bathrooms were spacious and well laid out. I would stay there again (and most likely will) as I enjoyed eating at the restaurant and bar. Breakfast was included in the stay and I highly recommend it! The place is very large and you have to walk from one building to another. The grounds are beautiful and worth talking a walk in the country on a nice day.
The only complaint is that you can hear others talking quite clearly in the hallways and even when they are in their rooms. So remember your earplugs as it may help if they're busy :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loveboats2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnprior, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have arrived home from a stay at Waring House. Our reservation was at the Stone Cottage with a Hot Tub for two nights. The first night was great...the hot tub was HOT. We went to the Pub for snacks....waited for at least half an hour before anyone served us...in fact my husband asked the waiter if we were invisible...he apologized and eventually got around to serving us. On the other hand, breakfast was a joy with Heather as our waitresses....she is a gem. Then off we went on the wine tasting tour...back to the Cottage to find a stone cold hot tub and no hope of using it for the next two days. Mike said we would have to speak to Liz who would not be in until Wednesday morning at 8. When I spoke to Liz, she said I would have to speak to Norah...who was not in, of course. This is the second time the hot tub has been taken out of service on us while were occupantants of the cottage. This will be the last time and unfortunately we had hoped to visit again and refer this resort to our friends...that will not happen. We hope you will consider a partial rebate for the loss of facilities that we have paid for. Looking forward to hearing from very shortly, Ken and Helen Black

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We attended the Barley Days Jazz concert with Guido Basso and Russ Little.
Local wine and beer tasting before we enjoyed buffet style dinner at the Waring House in Picton, Ontario Canada.
We stayed over night at the Hotel, the food was delicious and great service.
Loved the beautiful garden and flowers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaximusToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We just had our wedding here and we have no complaints! All of our guests were thrilled with the facility and the food was incredible. It turned out to be pouring rain, so instead of having the ceremony in the garden, we had it in the hall, which turned out just fine. Henriette, and the staff were great and very helpful, and always had answers to all of our questions. We would recommend this place to anybody thinking about having a wedding!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.3 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
17.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
6.0 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
8.4 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#2 of 12 in Wellington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waring House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waring House

Property: The Waring House
Address: 395 Sandy Hook Road, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waring House 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rural hospitality meets modern convenience in the heart of Ontario's newest wine and culinary hotspot, Prince Edward County. Choose from 49 rooms and suites in our historical buildings or our new luxurious lodges. Fine dining in Amelia's Garden, casual fare and live music in the Barley Room Pub. Recreational hands-on cooking classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waring House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waring House Hotel Picton
The Waring House Picton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing