We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BIG disappointment”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake on the Mountain Resort
Ranked #11 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Be forewarned, don't stay here. The staff are rude and the prices are too high for this type of accommodation. The county is quite lovely, however, just find somewhere else to stay. As for their restaurant, avoid it at all costs too. It is certainly not up to urban standards.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Rose7172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for Lake on the Mountain Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 39 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

I was absolutely amazed by this location, the view overlooking Bay of Quinte and also of Lake on the Mountain. The room was extremely clean (home clean) and they were able to keep the charm and history of the inn.

The staff were very friendly and you had the feeling they really liked where they worked and were just genuine nice people.

I highly recommend this location and will definitely return myself.

Room Tip: All units/rooms and cottages seem to be well situated. I think any room/cottage would be equally as...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Outstanding view from the patio, fabulous charcuterie platters, their own brewery beer, charming wait staff, great restoration of historic house…a great way to spend an afternoon. Walk around the resort on the Lake of the Mountains, minutes from Picton.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

My partner and I booked a four day trip to get out of the city and spend some relaxing time in a beautiful setting. We chose the Treehouse because it was just outside of our budget, and we were celebrating our anniversary, so we thought it would be a special treat. One of the main reasons we decided to splurge was that the view from the Treehouse was beautiful, and you have your own screen covered porch off the front looking out onto the lake. The area and the lakes are beautiful, as well as the resort is definitely in a great location.

When we arrived, the first thing we noticed was a bobcat tractor parked in front of our screen covered porch. Once inside the porch, the bobcat obstructed the view greatly, there was no way to avoid looking at it. On our first day, we asked if it could be removed but were told that it was holding in place a new dock. It would be moved on our second day. We thought that would be the end of it, but by the end of our second day the bobcat was still in the same spot. I went to speak to the owner, and when we discussed the issue, the woman was very rude to us. She commented that she "didn't know where we were from, but in the country we have these things called tractors". And refused to budge on the issue, repeatedly rolled her eyes and talked down to us. When we asked if we could be discounted, as we were not coming all this way to spend $110/night to stare at a tractor (when where we "come from" had plenty of tractors in plain sight), she was very standoffish.

Since we drove four hours to get there, and since it was our anniversary, we decided to stay as we didn't want to shuffle around and find someplace new. They made it clear that if we were to change cottages that we would have to pay the full price, and we would not get any sort of deal. It became a very uncomfortable environment to be in. We regret staying the whole weekend now. The way they dealt with us was terrible, they never apologized or expressed any sort of customer service. If this is what people are to expect when they come to Lake on the Mountain resort, they should include some pictures of tractors in front of their cottages on their website.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Frank79B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Went to restaurant only. Go on regular basis. Food is great, well prepared and presented. Hostess and staff are very pleasant. New bistro great place to take friends for a drink, good selection of on site crafted beers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I booked the Lake on the Mountain for my fiance and I for our anniversary, we stayed in log cabin #2. Upon arrival we were asked to pay upfront as they were closing for the season. I was not informed that they would be closing half way through our stay, not impressed!! We also found out the restaurant we were really looking forward to eating at would be closing as well and we only got to enjoy the restaurant for one dinner. Again, not being properly informed, we were disappointed.
Also, there was no fire wood provided for the fireplace in the log cabin, something we were not told about. I've never stayed in an inn that has fireplaces but does not provide wood.
The lack of communication from the owners was highly disappointing!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CLU77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I were raised in Prince Edward County and are always surprised how it has changed when we visit. The restaurant, in the resort, was a nice surprise. It was nicely decorated and quite for a Saturday afternoon in the fall. Our appetizers were very good and plentiful as were our meals. My husband thought his smoked salmon was good enough to want more! The entrees were a little slow in being served but they were fresh and hot.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Helper_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
6.8 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
434 reviews
4.5 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
144 reviews
12.6 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
5.5 mi away
Mapiya Retreat
Mapiya Retreat
#2 of 13 in Picton
12 reviews
15.1 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#3 of 13 in Wellington
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake on the Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake on the Mountain Resort

Address: 268 County Road 7, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Lake On The Mountain Resort Picton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing