We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful spot, beautiful food and beautiful people”
Review of AWAY in the County

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
AWAY in the County
Ranked #2 of 42 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Prince Edward County, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A beautiful spot, beautiful food and beautiful people”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I had the occasion to stay at AWAY Bed and Breakfast in Prince Edward County. Susan and Glen Wallis have done an amazing job of renovating a century farm house in a very upscale way that still retains the heritage feeling. The Gardener's Room where we stayed is large, comfortable with two seating areas and wonderful picture windows that afford a view to the lake and the surrounding countryside. They have thought of everything from carafes of cold water in the guest fridge to a rubber ducky on the shelf of the fabulous soaker tub. A walk in shower with a rainhead completes the picture. Susan's beautiful encaustic art is present in many places as are so many other interesting pieces. A little library area is available for guests on the guest floor as is a deck overlooking the lake. Summer time would beckon guests to sit out on the amazing marble patio in the back yard, again overlooking East Lake and perhaps take a liesurely stroll down the path through the garden to the deck on the water..

We were treated to a fabulous breakfast by Glen. His Eggs Benedict are nothing short of fabulous and he makes it look so effortless to prepare. Homemade hollandaise sauce tops off local eggs with yokes of radiant orange.

Susan, Glen and Oscar the Bassett Hound are all wonderful hosts.

My husband and I heartily recommend AWAY to singles and couples who truly want the experience of getting AWAY.

Room Tip: While the Gardener's Room is the largest, the other two rooms, The Carpenter's Room and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPRTraveler48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you Kathy for the wonderful review, We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience at AWAY. We try our very best to make each guest's stay a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
145
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Picton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Glenn and Susan invited local friends to attend a breakfast at their newly opened B&B but with a twist. All proceeds from this breakfast and others held this week went to the local Picton Food Bank.

We were treated to a top-notch breakfast with two "entree" choices, both of which were declared by all in attendance to be delicious! No detail was left to chance. The table was beautifully and elegantly set, the food was scrumptious, and the ambiance was perfect!

We were treated to a tour of the B&B after breakfast. All 3 rooms are very tastefully appointed with beautifully calming colour schemes and many heritage touches. Special attention has been paid to giving guests common areas to enjoy when not in their bedrooms.

If I were not a "local", I would stay at this gorgeous location in a heartbeat and may consider it the next time my grown children and their families come to stay - not for them - but for me and my husband - the kids can have the run of our place!

Room Tip: The Gardeners Room was a favourite of mine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Karen:

So glad you enjoyed yor breakfast at AWAY! We strive in everyway possible to make our breakfasts a wonderful start to our guest's day. And thank you for coming out and supporting our local food bank.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I have travelled extensively and we can honestly say that with our first visit here this past weekend, we fell in love with this B&B. I am almost reluctant to rave to much about it because when people start to read how good this place really is and how giving the hosts really are, we may not be able to get back in. That said, Susan and Glen have clearly put a lot of thought into this warm and welcoming B&B. The accommodations are top rate and very well appointed. We stayed in the Garden room and really had a great view out over the water. The breakfasts were superb ( eggs benedict- "supreme" and muffins " par excellence". We even came home with a new painting of Susan's that we fell in love with and bought. We found Susan and Glen to be very hospitable and excellent with their recommendations for places to visit and places to eat. All in all, it was a great get " Away".

Room Tip: Go for the Gardener's room if you can get it. Come prepared to go hiking in the Sandbanks as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We so very pleased that you found your stay a pleasurable one. We try our utmost to make each of our guest's experience a special one. It was our pleasure to host you and we hope that you will visit AWAy again one day.
All the best Susan & Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Away is a work of art. Hosts Susan and Glen, who themselves did the extensive renovations that made Away what it is, enthusiastically describe it as a "labour of love". Their care and attention shows in every detail but, importantly, the place reflects their strong senses of style and solid aesthetic. The place is beautiful.

We were fortunate enough to be treated to a full tour on our arrival so can say that every room is lovely. Away is a warm blend of wood, cream and concreate - set off by enormous windows throughout. The building is located up some distance from the shore of East Lake and set on an agle that affords spectacular views over the lake and adjoining properties.

Susan and Glen were themselves warm, welcoming and extremely helpful with advice on what to do and see in the County. Their love of the County is infectious!

I couldn't recommend Away any more highly.

Room Tip: All the rooms are charming. We stayed in the Gardener's Room - which had the largest windows an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 143LynnL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We are so very happy that you enjoyed your stay at AWAY! We have put alot of effort into making AWAY the perfect get-away and hope to see you again the next time you visit beautiful Prince Edward County. All the best till then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Away in the County is a very special way to experience the region. In a lovely peaceful setting overlooking a lake, this a a perfect place to relax or to get on bikes and tour the county. The hosts Susan and Glen are very knowledgable, have lots of great tips to help with your touring around the county. Most importantly the rooms are beautiful, impeccable clean, comfortable beds, thoughtful amenities and Glen serves a delicious breakfast featuring lots of local delicacies. The bonus is Susan's studio: she is an accomplished encaustic painter (google it) and if time allows you may get a demo! We will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leapn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review. We are very pleased that all the hard work and effort we put into making AWAY a relaxing and enjoyable experience is working. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almonte, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is an amazing new B&B . The rooms are very clean and comfortable and Susan and Glen make you feel like you're at home. The rooms are tastefully decorated and overlook the gardens and the lake. The food is excellent and the owners were very considerate and kind with respect to my dietary needs. The hospitality and kindness exceeded our expectations by far. We will no doubt return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for the great review. We look forward to hosting you again in the Spring and thank you for your repeat booking. Thank you for contacting me and advising me that you had meant to rate sleep quality as excellent and had difficulty changing it after you posted. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The rooms, location and view are stunning, something new and stylish in the County! The breakfast was fantastic, homemade by Glen &/or sourced from the County! I will definitley recommend this place to my friends and family.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HeatherF781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We at AWAY are happy to hear that our breakfasts using fresh local ingredients are enjoyed by our guests. We find offering a menu choice between a savory and sweet each day satisfies our guests. We look forward hopefully to your next visit and appreciate you recommending us to family and friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
4.4 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
410 reviews
5.5 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
121 reviews
20.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
8.8 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#3 of 12 in Wellington
105 reviews
4.9 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AWAY in the County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AWAY in the County

Property: AWAY in the County
Address: 166 County Rd 18 | Cherry Valley, Picton, Ontario K0K 1P0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Away Bed and Breakfast is situated on the tranquil shores of East Lake in the village of Cherry Valley. This unique retreat has been creatively renovated by its owners, Susan and Glen Wallis to accommodate guests who want to get "away" from it all. With a decor of elegant simplicity, the spacious guest rooms have well-appointed private baths and stunning views of East Lake and the B&B's gardens. Mornings are a "field to fork" affair with Glen cooking up scrumptious breakfasts using only fresh ingredients from the Away gardens, local farms, bakeries and jam makers before guests depart to explore the charm of Prince Edward County.Away is the perfect destination for those who want to spend time in a gentle environment, exploring the countryside at their leisure. Isn't it time you got AWAY? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
AWAY In The County Picton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing