We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of AWAY in the County

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AWAY in the County
Ranked #2 of 43 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“A must stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Away is a work of art. Hosts Susan and Glen, who themselves did the extensive renovations that made Away what it is, enthusiastically describe it as a "labour of love". Their care and attention shows in every detail but, importantly, the place reflects their strong senses of style and solid aesthetic. The place is beautiful.

We were fortunate enough to be treated to a full tour on our arrival so can say that every room is lovely. Away is a warm blend of wood, cream and concreate - set off by enormous windows throughout. The building is located up some distance from the shore of East Lake and set on an agle that affords spectacular views over the lake and adjoining properties.

Susan and Glen were themselves warm, welcoming and extremely helpful with advice on what to do and see in the County. Their love of the County is infectious!

I couldn't recommend Away any more highly.

Room Tip: All the rooms are charming. We stayed in the Gardener's Room - which had the largest windows an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 143LynnL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We are so very happy that you enjoyed your stay at AWAY! We have put alot of effort into making AWAY the perfect get-away and hope to see you again the next time you visit beautiful Prince Edward County. All the best till then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
136
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Away in the County is a very special way to experience the region. In a lovely peaceful setting overlooking a lake, this a a perfect place to relax or to get on bikes and tour the county. The hosts Susan and Glen are very knowledgable, have lots of great tips to help with your touring around the county. Most importantly the rooms are beautiful, impeccable clean, comfortable beds, thoughtful amenities and Glen serves a delicious breakfast featuring lots of local delicacies. The bonus is Susan's studio: she is an accomplished encaustic painter (google it) and if time allows you may get a demo! We will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leapn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review. We are very pleased that all the hard work and effort we put into making AWAY a relaxing and enjoyable experience is working. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almonte, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is an amazing new B&B . The rooms are very clean and comfortable and Susan and Glen make you feel like you're at home. The rooms are tastefully decorated and overlook the gardens and the lake. The food is excellent and the owners were very considerate and kind with respect to my dietary needs. The hospitality and kindness exceeded our expectations by far. We will no doubt return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for the great review. We look forward to hosting you again in the Spring and thank you for your repeat booking. Thank you for contacting me and advising me that you had meant to rate sleep quality as excellent and had difficulty changing it after you posted. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

The rooms, location and view are stunning, something new and stylish in the County! The breakfast was fantastic, homemade by Glen &/or sourced from the County! I will definitley recommend this place to my friends and family.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HeatherF781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We at AWAY are happy to hear that our breakfasts using fresh local ingredients are enjoyed by our guests. We find offering a menu choice between a savory and sweet each day satisfies our guests. We look forward hopefully to your next visit and appreciate you recommending us to family and friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Owners Susan and Glen are two of the nicest people we came across on our 4 day trip to
Prince Edward County. Even before arriving, they emailed a full document on different places, restaurants and attractions to visit while we were there. They greeted us as soon as we arrived, and explained everything about the B&B, along with a tour of the whole place. Hot coffee and muffins were waiting each morning at 8:30AM, and the homemade jams were delicious. Glen's homemade hollandaise sauce was also out of this world! Susan showed us her studio, and gave as a demo of her incredible encaustic painting technique - very talented people! Even Oscar the dog couldn't be more friendly (though they will put him in another room if you don't like dogs). Would definitely recommend this B&B to others, and hope to return some day.

Room Tip: The Gardner room has one of the most comfortable king size beds I've ever slept in. Cozy duvet a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your positive review. At AWAY we do our best to ensure that your visit to the County is a pleasurable one. We find that by sending information on restaurants, events, wineries etc to our guests beforehand assists them greatly in planning their trip and making the most out of their precious time away, We look forward to seeing you again soon as does our dog Oscar who never forgets a guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

My bridesmaids knew how much I actually wanted a relaxing bachelorette party before the big day. So they whisked me to Away in the County. Sue & Glen are fantastic hosts. From the moment we walked in they welcomed us with open arms! The location itself is gorgeous and you can see how much love and attention they put into it. From Glen's carpentry work introducing large and bright windows and magnificent mix of wood, stone & glass, to Sue's studio and her amazing taste in art throughout each space. Their love of Canada & Ontario also shines through with the foods and products they use. Both Glen & Sue's spirits are high and friendly! Both of them are amazing cooks and I could rave for hours about the breakfast they serve. YUM! You will love Away in the County!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very happy that we were able to make your stay with your bridesmaids a positive one. We wish all the best with your upcoming wedding and hope you and your husband might consider staying at AWAY in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our stay was perfect! and we were delighted to be some of the first guests to stay in this wonderful mix of new and old (Glen is a talented carpenter and built onto an old farmhouse), interesting in that Susan's art studio is part of the house and her lovely images are throughout, fantastic breakfasts, attention to detail, loved the comfy king bed and view over East Lake out the picture window in the Garden Room and particularly loved the company of their Bassett hound Oliver!
We would definitely go back and are already recommending it to our friends! Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanWallis, Owner at AWAY in the County, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review. The making of AWAY has literally been a labour of love and we are glad our guests are appreciating our relaxed environment and wonderful views. And yes the Gardener's room is a gem of a room for that perfect get-AWAY.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
4.4 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
5.5 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#2 of 12 in Wellington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
4.9 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
9.4 mi away
Drake Devonshire Inn
Drake Devonshire Inn
#1 of 12 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AWAY in the County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AWAY in the County

Property: AWAY in the County
Address: 166 County Rd 18 | Cherry Valley, Picton, Ontario K0K 1P0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Away Bed and Breakfast is situated on the tranquil shores of East Lake in the village of Cherry Valley. This unique retreat has been creatively renovated by its owners, Susan and Glen Wallis to accommodate guests who want to get "away" from it all. With a decor of elegant simplicity, the spacious guest rooms have well-appointed private baths and stunning views of East Lake and the B&B's gardens. Mornings are a "field to fork" affair with Glen cooking up scrumptious breakfasts using only fresh ingredients from the Away gardens, local farms, bakeries and jam makers before guests depart to explore the charm of Prince Edward County.Away is the perfect destination for those who want to spend time in a gentle environment, exploring the countryside at their leisure. Isn't it time you got AWAY? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
AWAY In The County Picton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing